Customer Reviews for

A Painted House

Average Rating 4
( 547 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(292)

4 Star

(136)

3 Star

(56)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!!

I personally loved this book and thought that it was very well written. I couldn't put it down and I felt that it was exciting to the last page. I hope that John Grisham makes a sequal because I am very anxious to read the continuation of this story.

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

who wrote this?!?!?!

i've read all of john grisham's books and loved them all. a painted house was a total waste of time, money, paper and ink. ok, so it was not the usual grisham book but the story was just too boring with too many loose ends. i should've believed those 1- and 2-star re...
i've read all of john grisham's books and loved them all. a painted house was a total waste of time, money, paper and ink. ok, so it was not the usual grisham book but the story was just too boring with too many loose ends. i should've believed those 1- and 2-star reviews.

posted by Anonymous on September 11, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 547 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Kevin

    Walks in

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Julia

    Waits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Boring.

    Too much ttalking and too manyy faeming issues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Awesome book

    Great book. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Awesome

    Read it. You'll be glad you did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Sucked

    Boring and pointless with no plot. I would give it negative 1000000 stars but it won't even let me do zero... so yeah.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Best Grisham Novel

    The pleasure of this book comes more from the nuances of the characters. It's not a read which will place you at the edge of your seat awaiting the resolution of some dangerous scene - it's more of a book that will subtly make you smile as you relate to the character. Many of Grisham's books make the mystery/thrill the focus...this one's a little different - it's more cerebral and emotional. Guys who've grown-up playing neighborhood baseball games - or spent hours tossing pebbles in the air and swinging at them...memorized ERAs, RBIs, tuned into crackly AM radio broadcasts, late at night with the radio held close to a pipe so that the reception was better...all in homage to idolized favorite players/teams. You will understand this book.
    Grisham's best. And nary a lawyer to be found.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Wonderfully different

    My friend and I are both John Grisham fans. She's read all his books whereas I have not. She recommended "A Painted House" for me to read, as I enjoy period pieces. It was so different from his other books because it wasn't about the law; it was a fictional story of a young boy growing up on a cotton farm in the 1950's, and it was a book I got through quickly because it's most definitely a page turner, a great read as is typical John Grisham.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    A Painted House has characters I cared about.  Unlike many other

    A Painted House has characters I cared about.  Unlike many other Grisham books in which the plot and suspense are the most important elements, this book focuses on the characters.  It is a well-written book with interesting characters; I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    This story is fascinating and so different than what Grisham usu

    This story is fascinating and so different than what Grisham usually does. I loved it, and I hope he writes more like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    The best Grisham book!

    This, by far, has been the best Grisham book I have read - and I have read them all! Live the change in pace from crime, law, lawyers, etc. This is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    THIS BOOK DESERVES A SEQUEL...

    BOB B

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Excellant Book!

    I was pleasantly surprised on how good this book was. Enjoyed ever minute of reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    Love it!

    Love it! I've read it at least five times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Loved it!

    Read this book 3 times! I ended up choosing it for book club a few months ago. Absolutely loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    highly recommended

    an excellent book. made you feel as if you were there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Simply a great story

    You feel the hot sun with the characters, you feel the hard work and strife of the family. This book has emotion and heart. I loved this book. I highly reccomend this book for its good writing its good descriptive nature and all the unexpected bits and love of family and keeping what you love together thru the hard times

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great book, you must check it out!

    I truly enjoyed this book and am looking forward to reading more of John Grisham's books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2012

    It's OK

    You can imagine what life was back in the time setting of the book. Kind of predictable and the ending was abrupt, it fell off a cliff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Dissapointed....:(

    John Grisham gets such high accolades from many of my fellow readers, I just had to read one of his novels. Since "A Painted House" is historical fiction, my favorite genre, it was choice #1. Well fellow readers, I was so dissapointed. The book is so slow that it was like watching molasses drip from a jar. There were tidbits of sweetness, the only reason I continued on, but for the most part a slow, boring story. I will give Grisham another chance but not for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 547 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 28