Customer Reviews for

A Painted House

Average Rating 4
( 541 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(290)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!!

I personally loved this book and thought that it was very well written. I couldn't put it down and I felt that it was exciting to the last page. I hope that John Grisham makes a sequal because I am very anxious to read the continuation of this story.

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

very very draggy

love john grisham but could not handle this book was always waiting for the story to pick up but never did.....

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 541 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2007

    Amazing!!!

    I personally loved this book and thought that it was very well written. I couldn't put it down and I felt that it was exciting to the last page. I hope that John Grisham makes a sequal because I am very anxious to read the continuation of this story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2007

    6th grade

    When I borrowed this book during a free period in sixth grade from a friend, I never thought it would soon become one of my favorite books. It held my eleven year old attention through to the end, and now a junior, I reread it regularly.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Great Book

    i had to read this for required reading but it turned out to be a good book! I enjoyed it alot and i found it hard to put down.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2014

    Not as good as his legal mysteries. The story was well told, but

    Not as good as his legal mysteries. The story was well told, but I could not get into this book as much as I did his others. I look forward to his legal mysteries.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Great story!

    I loved this book!.. I wish John Grisham would write another story to continue the story on!.. Overall it is a very good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great read!

    I always enjoy a Grifsham book. This was a great book to get away from the lawyer like stuff he normally writes. I wasnt able to put this one down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    I loved Little Luke!

    At first I didn't think that I wanted to read this, but Luke is a great charater. One favorite parts is where his cousins new wife Stacy in the outhouse...and another is where Luke, his parents and the secret baby are running (driving) through town ducking Mrs. Pearl...I litterallly laughed out loud at these and a lot of other parts. This is a great story of a little boy tryin' to be good. If you have sons,, grandsons, nephews, you will love this little seven year old boy! I do and will recommend it to all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Recommended

    good book... it was left a little open though at the end.... there wasn't much closure... oh and the back of the book is REALLY off topic...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2007

    A reviewer

    I did like a Painted House. It had a good storyline to it that always kept you interested. Taking place in the 1950's it told a lot about rural life in Arkansas and how people lived. Also the use of hired workers was very interesting. They used migrant workers either from Mexico or the 'Hills' and tried treating them as good as possible. I would recommend the book for others to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2006

    A really good one

    I selected 'A painted House' from among the novels my friend had, a few days back when I had some free time, just after looking at the author's name. And I should say John Grisham in no way disappointed me. I liked the characters, the way in which the farmers' life and the rural environment at that time are depicted and the elegancy with which the story was told. I could not put the book aside till the end. But, I strongly feel that the climax could have been better, rather I should say complete. What happened to Ricky, Luke's grand parents and Latchers, who were left behind by Luke and his Parents. Just as Luke steps into the outside world, the story abruptly ends leaving the readers' imagination block. Certainly, with a little emotional depth, a slower pace and more details at the end -- all these needing a bit more work and requiring a few more pages by the author, the book would have been complete... Mr. John Grisham....I am such a big fan of yours and you leave me in the bus speeding along, going north...where's my destination? Awaiting a sequel....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    A Good Book For You

    The book was amazing. The book really gives you a good look on what people went through during those time. The book made me think about how good I have it compared to the migrant worker and the kids at the time. The kid didn¿t have a choice but to have farm work before school. I recommend this book for all ages because people really should take the time stop and think about how good the have it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2004

    very very draggy

    love john grisham but could not handle this book was always waiting for the story to pick up but never did.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2003

    who wrote this?!?!?!

    i've read all of john grisham's books and loved them all. a painted house was a total waste of time, money, paper and ink. ok, so it was not the usual grisham book but the story was just too boring with too many loose ends. i should've believed those 1- and 2-star reviews.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2003

    Looking for a good book?

    Have you been looking for a good book to read, and have has the time. But not sure what to read? Check out ¿A Painted House¿ by John Grisham. This book takes place in the early 1950¿s, where farming cotton and picking cotton was popular. It starts out really slow with Pap and Father looking for workers to pick the cotton. Once they get their workers, and start to work suspicious things start to happen. No one knows who is doing it but it is happening and they want to get to the bottom of it. They start out Saturday going to the gin in town to get there cotton weighed, so they can get paid. Everyone who wants to go to town has the choice. In town they do there shopping for the upcoming week. They get all the food and personal items that they need. Then they get to go to a matinee, which if the only way out of the house until the following Saturday. During the week all they do is pick cotton, but not Luke Chandler. He is the main character, the grandson of the owner of the cotton farm. He sometimes has the job of helping his mother in the garden, picking and canning vegetables for the winter. When he is out in the cotton field he likes to try and work as far away from everyone else as possible. That way he does not have to do as much work. He tries to avoid trouble as much as he can. Luke knows things that no one else would know. He finds things out, that he is not supposed to know and does things that he is not suppose to. He knows everything from the suspicious baby, to who murdered Hank. His life is in danger in parts of the book, and he gets threatened for what he does know. But in the end it turns out to be an American dream life, a good one for the 1950¿s. This book was awesome, it does go slow in the beginning and you may not want to finish it once you start it. That is the way that it was for me. But I had to read it for a class and a lot of my classmates that had read it recommended it. I do not regret taking the time at all. It was well worth it. I think that if you like books that when something bad is happening or about to happen and you do not want to put the book down because it is getting so good. So you just want to keep reading. Well after about the first four chapters that is how it is. Starts out slow then speeds up. I would recommend this book to anyone that like a little mystery in his or her reading. But at the same time the book sticks to its main subject. Or another works to anyone. I loved this book and would read it again at any time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2001

    A Waste of Time and Money

    I knew this book would be unlike Grisham's other works but I didn't expect it to be so boring, repetitive and elementary. Told through the eyes of a seven year old, it seemed more as if a child wrote it. Weather, baseball and puritan poverty continues page after page. With each chapter I continued to hope that some interesting would happen. What a true disappointment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2000

    Truly Worth Reading,

    I too followed this in Oxford Magazine. Month by month I could hardly wait for the next issue to reveal the latest chapters. John Grisham once again drew from his excellent ability to draw a reader into the characters and story line. Toward the end I found myself understanding the characters enough to know how they would feel about unfolding events before the story moved there. Any complaint I have would be about the ending, it seemed to abrupt when there was much more fodder to be uncovered. My top four Grisham favs are now, 'A Time to Kill', 'The Firm', 'The Pelican Brief' and now 'A Painted House'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Kris

    Anyone still on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Kevin

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Julia

    Waits

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Hey good

    Really good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 541 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 28