Customer Reviews for

A Painted House

Average Rating 4
( 541 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(290)

4 Star

(135)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!!

I personally loved this book and thought that it was very well written. I couldn't put it down and I felt that it was exciting to the last page. I hope that John Grisham makes a sequal because I am very anxious to read the continuation of this story.

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

very very draggy

love john grisham but could not handle this book was always waiting for the story to pick up but never did.....

posted by Anonymous on February 26, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Dissapointed....:(

    John Grisham gets such high accolades from many of my fellow readers, I just had to read one of his novels. Since "A Painted House" is historical fiction, my favorite genre, it was choice #1. Well fellow readers, I was so dissapointed. The book is so slow that it was like watching molasses drip from a jar. There were tidbits of sweetness, the only reason I continued on, but for the most part a slow, boring story. I will give Grisham another chance but not for a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    Not worth reading

    I have read several John Grisham books and am a huge fan but from the fields to the dinner table to the porch, church and Black Oak, it was slow-moving and bogged down with boring detail and repetition. I kept waiting for the thrill and suspense but all I got was a huge disappointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    Was I reading the same book as these other reviewers?

    My wife and I were each given a copy of this book. I kept waiting for it to get better and found it painful to finish. My wife only finished because I lied and told her it was worth finishing.

    Neither of us could believe that they made a movie out of this DULL book. So when we were able to see the movie, we both agreed that it made a much better movie than a book. We compared it to removing a band-aid. Watching the movie was much quicker and less painful than reading the book.

    Should have been titled: Watching a Painted House Dry.

    I'm a huge fan of Grisham, but this was just plain DULL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Decent Read

    John Grisham is a great storyteller and he can describe how people feel and their reactions in a way most others cannot. The story is a very easy read and has a slow start. After a while, it picks up, but I was disappointed in the ending. Very non-conclusive and boring ending. I give it a C+ for Grisham. He should stick to the legal world...Decent, but forgettable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2007

    a college student reading it for a project

    I thought that the book was not that good, it is really not exciting and it's all about cotton picking. I was disappionted, I thought it would have been way better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    not the best from grisham

    This was a really good book up until the end. It built suspense and then it just left you hanging and wondering what happen to certain people. It wasnt the type of wondering that makes you think about life, death, etc. It really makes you wonder what was the conclusion of some of the major events in the book. I dont like books that do this to you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2002

    Not a very good book

    I think that this book dragged on a lot, and there weren't that many exciting parts in the story. I also felt that Grisham kept us hanging and we have no idea what happened to Cowboy and Tally. Then, the book just ends with them going down the road. Does Ricky come back? Does Ricky and LIbby get married? What happens???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    Not very exciting!

    This was the first Grisham book I ever read in English. So maybe the German translation of his other books, like The Firm, The Client or The Rainmaker is so much better than the English ones, which I actually don't think. The Painted House is placed in Arkansas in the early 50's and it's about a seven year old boy, named Luke, who is NOT seven years old. The whole story about Luke and his secrets is not bad, but something is missing. It goes very slowly and you always wait for something big to happen, but nothing really exciting happens. And then, when the book becomes a little bit more interesting, it's over. The Painted House is for sure not a Grisham book like all his others. With not very much action and a main character with whom it's impossible to identify, it was not a very exciting book to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2002

    review of a painted house

    "A Painted House is a novel about a family that is in the cotton pickeing business. They try to find workers immigrating form mexico and other countries! All of a sudden there is a mystryous murder in their town and John grisham brings you throught the twists and turns of cracking the case of the town murder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    He's churning them out now

    I've enjoyed most of his books, and their simple, down-to-earth conversational style. This one had little to it and is difficult to accept as the reflections of a 7-year old. Forced myself to read a good part of it on and off, and then checked the ending. Nothing. Read something else to make use of your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2002

    Wrong, wrong, wrong

    The Painted House is a story about a seven year old who is NOT a seven year old. Luke is in every respect an eleven year old. How did such an oversight happen? It made evrything that Luke did, felt, or said annoying to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2002

    Horribly Boring

    Would not recommend this one. It was a snore through the whole thing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2001

    I can't believe I read it all the way through

    I usually don't rate books so negatively, especially ones by John Grisham, who I love as a writer. And I'm very open to new types of writing, especially from established authors. But Grisham should definitely stick to what he knows. This story starts out slowly and drags on until the end. It took me 2 weeks to finish and I keep hoping it'd get better. The story of Luke on a cotton farm is interesting, as he develops a crush on Tally and is witness to all sorts of crimes and secrets, a lot of pressure on a little boy. But the story wraps up with Luke leaving behind his grandparents and the cotton for a new life with his parents and a new baby on the way. The story wraps up without bringing closure on many of the characters - what ever happens to Tally and the Cowboy, to Libby and the baby? Does Ricky ever come home from the war and does he marry Libby? Do Luke's grandparents survive the flood and the debt they are in? What happens to the Letchers? Does Hank's body ever surface? Too many loose strings ... Definitely frustrating at the end, especially since I'd invested many hours and kept pushing to finish this book. I should've stopped long before ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2001

    Looking for a cure for insomnia?

    If so, this is the book for you. It starts out slow and tapers off from there. I've always been a Grisham fan and was really looking forward to a fundamentally different theme from him. Silly me! I kept reading it thinking that I was about to get to the good part and then the next thing I know, the book ends! Virtually all of the sub-plots that were even potentially interesting were left hanging at the end. It's almost as though Mr. Grisham got bored with the story himself and decided to just stop writing it half way through. I typically don't write reviews like this, however, this time I felt obligated to as I wish I would have gotten a warning like this from someone before I started reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2001

    Don't waste your time

    I am a John Grisham fan and expected this novel to be as great as his others. It was boring from the beginning to the end. There were a lot of loose ends that needed to be wrapped up and the book came to an abrupt end. The only thing that kept me going through the book was wondering if the end was going to be better than the beginning. It could have been better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2001

    Two Thumbs DOWN

    Come on... if this book doesn't have 'John Grisham' on the cover, it would not get anywhere NEAR the best seller list. The murders changed nothing in the Chandlers' lives. I don't even like Luke. And something big is missing in this book - it's called a good conclusion. Grisham used to do it so well, like in The Partner. Redneck pride is nice and all, but it doesn't make an exciting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2001

    Where is the fast forward

    I listened to this book....all 13 hours of the unabridged edition. The pace is agonizingly slow for Grissom fans. Luke is describing his life in rural Arkansas, wishing he was not there. He describes life in adult terms yet we are not made aware of Luke's adulthood. The book ended in mid-flood with rivers of unanswered questions. In away, after spending 13 hours I felt cheated; desiring a resolution to questions which include Luke's families' success 'up North', did the cotton farm go bankrupt, did his brother return from Korea among others. Grissom's novels typically end as a package with few loose ends. If you don't like this approach like these, don't read this novel. Although the prose is quite good, it is not Faulkner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    Not his best work

    Although this story was well written the subject matter just didn't grab my attention. I hope Grisham returns to the legal thriller genre that made his reputation what it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2001

    Not a Grisham

    In a word, 'Dull', I love all of John Grisham's books except this one. If we wanted a 'story' we could read Danielle Steele. I want the lawyers back, and some suspense! I will look forward to the next Grisham novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2001

    No Movie In This Book's Future

    Grisham's critics will be happy that he has finally written a book that is not immediately destined for the big screen! People would be asking to 'turn the channel'! While I welcomed the opportunity to read something from this author other than a legal thriller, I rather hoped I could stay awake for the entire novel. In fact, the only reason I finished the book was that I was flying from DC to LAX. Hopefully, Grisham's next foray into non-legal waters will be written in a way that draws you in and carries you along like the flooding river!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2