BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Painted Ladies (Spenser Series #38)

Average Rating 3.5
( 152 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Spenser lovers will not miss this one

Sure, a lot of this is like a lot of other Spenser books but that's why I like it. It is like spending time with a good old friend. Parker could always write dialog that makes you laugh out loud and there are bits in here that are as good as they get. I grew up in the B...
Sure, a lot of this is like a lot of other Spenser books but that's why I like it. It is like spending time with a good old friend. Parker could always write dialog that makes you laugh out loud and there are bits in here that are as good as they get. I grew up in the Brighton Neighborhood of Boston and Parker gets Boston right like so few authors do.

If you have not read other Spenser books you might want to start with an earlier one. If you like Parker, get a copy and read it.

posted by oaksquare on October 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The last of a great author.

This was short but I have read every Spenser and was not dissapointed in this one, if you are new to Robert B. Parker start with the Spenser series number 1 (The Godwulf Manuscript) and work your way up. There are not many authors that can say so much with so few words....
This was short but I have read every Spenser and was not dissapointed in this one, if you are new to Robert B. Parker start with the Spenser series number 1 (The Godwulf Manuscript) and work your way up. There are not many authors that can say so much with so few words. If you like mysteries with some humor, not to much gore, and characters that become like family this series is for you

posted by FoggyNotion on October 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 6, 2010

    Spenser lovers will not miss this one

    Sure, a lot of this is like a lot of other Spenser books but that's why I like it. It is like spending time with a good old friend. Parker could always write dialog that makes you laugh out loud and there are bits in here that are as good as they get. I grew up in the Brighton Neighborhood of Boston and Parker gets Boston right like so few authors do.

    If you have not read other Spenser books you might want to start with an earlier one. If you like Parker, get a copy and read it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Clodyeyes to shadow

    Where the hell have u been

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    ROBERT PARKER IS THE BEST

    Many years ago in the 80's someone gave me a Spenser novel. After that well you guess it -- I read them all as they came out. I love Jesse Stone and especially the TV movies maybe because of Tom.

    BUT nobody will be Spenser ever again. I join the many fans to say we will miss him. AND that is an understatement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    I will miss you Spenser

    Robert Parker and his Spenser novels are by far one of the greatest series I have read. I do not know what I will do without my Spenser and Hawk "fix". Robert Parker was a tremendous talent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Robert Parker The Great

    It pains my heart to know this will be the last Spenser novel. Robert Parker has been a blessing when it comes to page turning books. As always it keeps your attention. I'll miss Spenser & Hawk. Thanks for the last book. I appreciated it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    SPLENDID NARRATION OF THIS SPENSER NOVEL

    Have to admit it - seeing the name Joe Mantegna on an audio book sells me immediately. His incredibly compelling reading of Boardwalk Empire is one of my all-time favorites and the same can be said of PAINTED LADIES.

    A 40 year show business veteran he is an accomplished, versatile actor as evidenced in over 100 films (The Godfather Part 3, Forget Paris, etc.) In addition, his television appearances have garnered critical praise (The Rat Pack, The Last Don. Criminal Minds).

    This wealth of experience is obvious in his stellar narration of what regrettably is one of the last Robert Parker Spenser novels. Mr. Parker will be greatly missed, and I join millions of others in remembering him for the many hours of listening/reading pleasure his books have brought.

    In his inimitable way Parker grabs us from the beginning with PAINTED LADIES. Spenser has agreed to guard art professor Ashton Prince during a ransom payoff - thieves are being paid for the return of a stolen painting. As it turns out Prince really needed a guard as he's blown to bits during the procedure.

    We all know that Spenser can't let that pass so he determines to find out exactly who stole the painting, why the ransom wasn't simply accepted and the painting returned, and why and by whom Prince was so explosively dispatched.

    We're treated to the return of some of the characters we've learned to appreciate in previous Spenser tales as well as some intricate sleuthing on Spenser's part.

    As I understand it there is one more Spenser novel due out next year. Meanwhile, enjoy PAINTED LADIES and the narration of Joe Mantegna.

    Highly recommended.

    - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2