Customer Reviews for

Palace Beautiful

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Charming and heart-warming

    I read an advanced reader's copy of this book and found Sadie's voice charming and her story at turns heart-wrenching and heart-warming. Curiously, the very things that the Kirkus review mentioned as negative aspects struck me as particularly unique and endearing qualities in Sadie. I enjoyed her way of looking at the world and thought her creation stories and fanciful colors added depth and beauty.

    I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    AMAZING BOok AMAZING BOOK

    This book keeps you on the edge of your seat. When you first pick it up you cant stop reading it!!Its jast an all around GREAT book! READ IT!!! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Ucba

    This book was an UCBA( Utah Choice Book Award), and it was stellar. I read it in October and loved it.4th and 5th grade students are required to read this book, as well as sixth graders. If there was a chioce of 10 stars that is how much I would rate it. No more, no less. Fret no more about buying this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    Amazing Book... Love it ....A must read for girls all ages....

    A great book, the main characters are 3 girls who find a diary from the past and a secret attic that turns into a Palace Beautiful....
    MUST READ

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    This is a great book for young girls, around age 12, but adults would also enjoy it. I love the characters, especially the nice stepmother and the neighbor girl who always dresses in black. I can picture this as required middle school reading because of it's engaging plot, it's historical relevance and it's message that encourages young people who have difficulties to have courage, that things usually turn out OK in the long term. I love it. It's a book that sticks with you for a long time after you finish reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    Moving and fun story

    Palace Beautiful is a moving and fun story set in Salt Lake City in both the 1980s and the 1910s. The main character, Sadie, is engaging--someone you like to listen to and spend time with. When she moves to her new home, she quickly becomes friends with the girl next door, named Belladonna Desolation. Sadie finds a journal in the attic--and then her and Bella must figure out what happened to the owner of the journal decades before.

    The story has compelling characters, a realistic and engaging setting, and is just all in all a compelling read. As an adult, it's a book that's I'm going to return to read again and again; it's also a book that I'll definitely be sharing with my younger sisters (who are teenagers) and their friends. It's a coming of age novel--a book about figuring out who you are and dealing with hard things.

    SLC is intrinsic to the setting, but the book's not about Mormons--they might be mentioned once. It is a book about time--about ghost stories, tradition, and how history influences us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Great book

    I absolutly love this book. I actually have a hard copy of it and i got it over by salt lake city. :) This book will forever be in my heart. I love it and it is just one of my favorite books of all time!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    BEST BOOK EVER

    PALACE BEAUTIFUL IS THE BEST BOOK EVER READ BUY IT IT IS EXPENSIVE BECAUSE IT IS AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    Chickens

    Best book ever if u like mysterious books this is the book for u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Coll

    I just love it! Its really adventures

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Have it

    I have this book in paperback. I havent finished it yet. Yet it still sees pretty good. I would get it if you are wondering

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2010

    Imaginative and Delicious

    Ms. Williams has aptly combined historical fiction with contemporary themes that tug at heartstrings and make grownups remember our anxieties and triumphs and friendships of childhood. Her skills in using tangible descriptive phrases, along with flowing narrative, make me want to eat this book. I would recommend it to any teacher wanting middle-grade students to get exposed to historical fiction, and to any parent whose child might be going through grief issues or new-kid-on-the-block anxiety. Or to anyone who is tired of their child reading shallow plots with boring adjectives and two-dimensional characters.
    I, as a rule, avoid books set in Salt Lake City. But she uses the local culture as a very solid and real backdrop for the historical part of the story. For the fellow LDS-squeamish, I can assure that there is no proselytizing nor glorifying. Only the simple loving support of a community to be had during hard times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1