BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Palace of Illusions: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2008

    A fantastic fiction

    The book so well written and a subject which will touch the hearts of each and every living Hindu person because it brings out every tenent from the epic Mahabharata. Tales which are told to every child in every corner of India from the time they are born. The tales of Krishna, the Pandavas and the Kauravas and the famous Kuruskshetra war are associated with big familes where grandmothers and grandfathers sat around with their children and grandchildren and told glorious tales from the Mahabharata. So not only that it is an epic, it has lot of warm childhood memories, the warmth of love,security,belonging, awe, the soothing voice of a grandmother,grandfather and mother. Tackling this subject without offending anybody's sensibilities because of the way it is knit into the everyday life of the Indian culture . The author Ms Divakaruni handled it so beautifully. Lord Krishna sets the tenets of Bhagvad Gita and every person spends a lifetime to acheive a little of what the Bhagvad Geeta teaches us , especially the Hindus. It was really great of the author to touch this subject and doing it with such senstivity and making it into a fantastic work of fiction . The very essence of the great epic is captured and put in the perception of a famous lady Panchaali who is said to be the reason for the Kurukshetra war and presented in such a beautiful and simple manner. People who are confused by the various names and events when told the actual stories got the actual events fixed in their minds while reading this fantastic piece of fiction. It was handled well. I totally loved the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Book!

    It was so relaxing to read this book.

    The main character is so strong and independent from most of the women in those days.

    It was slow at first, reading it, but as I got more into it, got more used to the ideas and the characters, I realized that I couldn't put it down.

    This book has really gotten me more interested in Hindu culture and the religion. I'm so glad I was able to read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    It was slow at first, but in all other aspects, it was excellent!

    I now have a new respect for myths and stories, the things I have so long exiled from life.

    This book opened me up to Indian culture and way of life, which I admire. I admire the heroism of the protagonist, and I soaked up the many morals the book expressed just as naturally as a sponge soaks up water. :p

    At first I didn't know what I was getting myself into.

    I absolutely LOVED the cover... yes, even after all these years of reading, I still judge books by their covers.

    The magic in the book was everywhere. I loved all the relationships, and I wished that only some would surface more than others, though to my disappointment, they didn't. I'll admit, I tried my best not to get confused by all the references to Hindu religion (I think I'm pairing it with the right one).

    But reading this, made me realize how much more reasonable, Hinduism is than most other popular religions I know.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    wonderful

    This was a wonderful re-telling of an ancient story from a new perspective.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2010

    I didn't like it, but I didn't hate it.

    I found the storytelling to be very slow. Overall, it was a good story but I wouldn't read it again. I've read books much better than this one and it doesn't gain a spot on my list of books I'd recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    Divakaruni is one of my fav authors and she has done it again! If you have any familiarity, or even no familiarity, with the epic (and lenghty) history of the Maharbaratha, you will thoroughly enjoy this read -- Divakaruni gives every characters entirey new life, and you meet a side of them you mayhave guessed was there, but were never introduced to before. The voice of Draupadi (narrator of the story - which evens more originality to shi version) is dramatic, thoughtful, pointed, inquisitive, and headstrong -- all at the same time. A fantastic read for anyone interested in the epic history of India and the subcontinent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    This is my absolute favorite book!!

    I originally just got this book for its cover. It facinated me and I really wanted to see what the book was about because of it. It took me a few times to actually start the book because I couldn't wrap my head around the idea of her being born from fire. After I got past the first chapter it made me feel as if i was part of the story. Panchali's relationship with Kirishna just facinated me and I loved how he felt like a father to her. He was my favorite character. Dhri, her brother, was so close to Panchali and they knew everything about eachother.they could always tell what the other was thinking. I absolutly loved her husbands strength with her temper. She always had complete control over all five though, which i respected. She is one of the strongest people that I have read about in a long time. She struggles with her love for Karna, but is able to stay strong and not let her love for him reaveled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Worst Book I Have Ever Read

    Initially I was very interested in this book, the cover looked interesting and when I read the back it sort of reminded me of One Hundred Years of Solitude. It was slow to begin with but I continued to read it because I heard it would eventually pick up. This never happened. This book was a complete waste of my time. Not only is it horribly written and completely unoriginal (the basic story is taken from the Mahabharat), you never connect with any character in the book and towards the end you are really wishing this train wreck will end sooner than later. There are so many names and subplots in this book that literally towards the third chapter, each chapter being about six pages, you have forgotten half of the information that was given to you and all of the characters story lines. For instance, the main character has three names that are interchangeble throughout the book (Drupadi, Panchaali, and Krishnaa). Divakaruni has truly released an amazing piece of rubbish that cannot even be called literature but should be refered to as a strain of poorly worded sentences that deserves to be thrown in the garabage and forgotten about as soon as possible. DO NOT READ!!!! IT'S SOOO INCREDIBLY BAD

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1