Customer Reviews for

The Palace of Impossible Dreams (Tide Lords Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Exceptionally well written by an exceptional writer. The concep

    Exceptionally well written by an exceptional writer. The concepts being explored in this series are intriguing. This is not for people who just want to read a shoot 'em up escapism type of book. Enjoyable if you like to think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    This is the second series by Jennifer Fallon that I have found m

    This is the second series by Jennifer Fallon that I have found myself pulled into her writing. Lion of senet book series was the one that started me hunting for her as one of my favorite authors, shes a close second to R.A Salvatore as my favorite. she caputures you with the characters an their predicaments an how they manage to pull through....wether its a long plot to be exposed or just a love longing for another. I love it all hence why she another author to my list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    Pass on it if at all possible

    ** spoiler alert ** This series is terrible! I was sucked in for the first two books by reviews that lauded the merits of the series, only to be disappointed each time. By that point, I felt I had already spent enough time in the story to warrant finishing it, and so here I find myself at the end of book 3. I purchased the first 3 as ebooks, but decided I would not spend another dime on the Tide Lords and borrowed The Chaos Crystal from my public library instead.

    My beef with The Palace of Impossible Dreams is the same as the other two books: no real conflict and flimsy characters. I don't care, for example, for either Declan or Cayal and wonder what the attraction is for Arkady. She suddenly realizes in this book that she has loved Declan since they were children, but the development of the plot doesn't actually support this. That is to say that at no point in time before this revelation did I ever believe she was interested at all in Declan.

    The only character I still have some esteem for is Warlock. And maybe Stellan.

    Note (3/2/12): I guess, by what happens at the end of the series, that none of it really mattered, anyway, so why invest a whole lot in the character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Keeps the story moving and you interested.

    This installment was a bit slower than the last 2, as it is just a buildup to the final installment. So it works as a bridge to the next book. But even with all that said, there was still plenty that happened to keep you interested and to keep the story moving. Keeping track of all the different motivations and plots can get confusing, but it stays interesting. Can't wait for the last book. By the looks of thing...I should not expect a "happy ending."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    Great Book!

    Wow, I read this book in 2 days. It was great! The different situations that Arkady gets herself into amazes me, but she fights her way through each and every one of them. The tension between Cayal, our Immortal Prince, and Declan Hawkes, the beloved Spy Master, is humorous at times as they both long for Arkady's love. However, I think Cayal's love is more lust than love; not quite sure yet.

    Anyhoo, this book is great with lots of adventure as the immortals are seeking to basically rule the world, twists and turns as new secrets are revealed, and of course the hope for a love to suceed between an immortal and a mortal.

    Loves it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2010

    Could not put it down

    This book was an amazing addition to the series. If you loved the first two books then you will not be disappointed with this one. I even went as far as ordering The Palace of Impossible Dreams and The Chaos Crystal from Australia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    engaging fantasy

    Intrepid but obstinate Arkady remains married to Stellan, the heir to the Kingdom of Glaeba, but their relationship for practical purposes is in name only. She focuses on one issue; destroying the immortal nasty Tide Lords, who have one objective: rule the world.

    Arkady's strongest ally in her attempt to end the Tide Lords constant intrigue is spymaster Declan Hawkes; though his prime motive for supporting her is not altruistic but instead he admires and desires Arkady. Ergo he tries one failed attempt after another to bring down the Tide Lords. At the same time, Declan stubbornly makes his tries to win Arkady by defeating her enemy; ironically his rival for his lady is not her husband but Tide Lord Cayal who courts Arkady while also considering suicide if an immortal can kill himself; as he sees her as his only anchor to live. Inside the Time Lord haven, their human-beast slaves the Crasii plot revolt from their masters as they want freedom.

    The third Tide Lords fantasy (see The Immortal Prince) is an engaging entry although as with The Gods of Amyrantha the overarching theme does not move forward very much. The story line is loaded with subplots in which the best ones involve the big power control schemes of the three prime groups competing for dominance. Some fluff events especially in the harem feel more of a detractor, but the fascination remains with comparing the mortals, the human-beasts and the immortals as they share so much in common yet continue as enemies because each wants to own the world. Fans of the saga will enjoy the return to the Fallon mythos.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2