Customer Reviews for

Palace of Mirrors

Average Rating 4.5
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!

This book is wonderful when I began reading it I could NOT put it down! I love the way that it goes back in to ware there are Kings, Queens, and peasents. I have never read I book like this before! I just LOVE it!!!!!

posted by cheerleadergirl123 on May 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I thought this was a cute book for the target age group. My two

I thought this was a cute book for the target age group. My two young daughters liked it. Although it is an interesting story, it is in my opinion a good story that could have been much better. The plot is unique yet uninspiring most of the time. While the heroine Cecel...
I thought this was a cute book for the target age group. My two young daughters liked it. Although it is an interesting story, it is in my opinion a good story that could have been much better. The plot is unique yet uninspiring most of the time. While the heroine Cecelia does seem to mature at the end of the book, the hero Harper doesn't leave adolecence to move into manhood even though he wants to get married. I didn't like the whole scenerio at the end with the queen, it was too contrived and not realisticlly accomplished.

posted by HeatherS2 on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2009

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!

    This book is wonderful when I began reading it I could NOT put it down! I love the way that it goes back in to ware there are Kings, Queens, and peasents. I have never read I book like this before! I just LOVE it!!!!!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!

    Palace of Mirrors is a great book. I read Just Ella a few years back, and I didn't like it so I was skeptical about trying this book. As soon as I was two chapters into the story I was hooked. My absolute favorite book is Ella Enchanted, and this book reminded me strongly of Ella Enchanted. While it usually takes awhile to capture the reader's interest, Margaret Haddix captures the interest of readers in the beginning of her story because the action begins immediately rather than towards the end. The plot is fast paced and complex. I wasn't expecting to be surprised by the ending of this story at all - I thought that I had everything figured out, but boy was I wrong!

    The story begins with the fact that Cecilia has been told from infant-hood that she is a true princess and that a pretender sits in her thrown to keep her safe from harm...so even though Cecilia wears rags, doesn't own a pair of shoes, and looks like a farm girl she just knows that the girl sitting in HER castle sucking on a silver spoon, wearing beautiful gowns, and a crown on her head isn't the true princess. Under dire circumstances Cecilia leaves her tiny village, along with her friend Harper, to go to the palace and live the life that she was destined for...little does she know that things at the palace aren't as they seem to be. Who is the REAL princess after all?

    Ms.Haddix has a well-devolved story that teen girls who love a good fairytale will enjoy. This story is a unique one because it is not a retelling of a well-known fairytale that we have all read - it is a completely new idea that I think is pure genius. I hope others will enjoy this story as much as I did.

    As for questionable content: Cecelia begins to think about boys in a way she has never thought of them before. She talks about wanting to sleep with a certain boy side-by-side (for comfort purposes), and blushing, realizes that that is how a man and wife sleep. Other than that I can't think of anything that would bother younger readers, or parent's of younger readers : )

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    AWESOME read

    This book is fanttastic its easy to read.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2008

    haddix rules!!!

    Though i have not yet read the book, i know that Margaret Peterson Haddix shall not fail to deliver. She is a brilliant writer if i have ever seen one with her unique literary skills and outstanding suspense.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    AWSOME

    This book is my favorite book of all time . All of the exitement I recomend it !

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    It is an amazing book

    The book Palace of Mirrors by Margaret Peterson Haddix is a very interesting book. I recommend this book to anyone who likes to read thrillers, or being surprised. Margaret Peterson Haddix creates suspense and excitement for any reader who likes to read these types of books.
    Palace of Mirrors is about a girl named Cecilia who lives in a cottage with her nanny. Cecilia believes she is the true princess of Suala, but there is already a princess ruling. Cecilia will do anything to claim her throne, so she travels on an adventure to the city with her best friend, Harper.
    In my opinion, Margaret Peterson Haddix made the book very interesting. One of the things I liked was the way she used her words to create some surprising and exciting events. I liked the way she created suspense, because that kept me reading the book.
    Overall, I think the book was very good. Margaret Peterson Haddix did a wonderful job writing this book. Once I went through the first part of the book, she kept my attention with the events that happened in the novel.
    I gave this book four stars, because I thought Margaret Peterson Haddix did make the story about something that everyone likes.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    I thought this was a cute book for the target age group. My two

    I thought this was a cute book for the target age group. My two young daughters liked it. Although it is an interesting story, it is in my opinion a good story that could have been much better. The plot is unique yet uninspiring most of the time. While the heroine Cecelia does seem to mature at the end of the book, the hero Harper doesn't leave adolecence to move into manhood even though he wants to get married. I didn't like the whole scenerio at the end with the queen, it was too contrived and not realisticlly accomplished.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Haddix does it again!

    I loved this book! You can always turn to haddix for an interesting twist on a somewhat common plot!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    This Book is BEAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book and Every girl would Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Palace Of Mirrors

    this was a great book. good writing, great story, well put. Once i read this book the author became my favorite one. have i mentioned it was great?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Great book

    Couldn't put it down!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is awsome!!!!!!!!!! It has sooooo mutch detail!!!!!!!! : )

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Luv it!!!!

    This book so.amazing! I suggest reading Just Ella first though. I really love this book its so good! I reccamend it for girls ages 9-13

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Its was so real

    It felt like it could be true! I couldnt put the book down!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    I luv this book 2 death!!!!!! My friend is reading it right now and she to luvs it! Very suspensful!

    Luv luv luv this very suspensful book!!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    A review of Palaces of Mirrors

    This is a really good book. You should read it because it is about a girl who has to hide from evil peole that murred her mom and dad and Cillice is the only one left in her family because they did not kill her, so now they put a fake princess in her place untill it was safe to tell the village people who the real princess is and then she could live her normal life as a princess in her parents castle so that she could be in charge of the kingdom.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Palace of Mirrors

    It was a thrilling, exiting, and, adventurous, book.Inever put the book down until I was done reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Nela

    I am a big Haddix fan and when I didnt have a nook I would raed her books all the time at my library and she has some talent!all her books are great but she has outdone herself this time!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Great book

    Had me glued to it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Great books!!!

    Margret Peterson Haddix is my all time favorite author because she makes you feel like you are living in ger awesome books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 150 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8