Customer Reviews for

Palace of Stone (Princess Academy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Good read

    It was a good rread for an older aged childrens book. If I wasn`t reading tean romance I would rate it five stars. But compared to other books I have been reading it barlly deserved its four stars. It had just enough romance and mystery for children of the age group it waz ment for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2014

    bio

    Name crystle age 14 princess of merlden looks tall long black wavy hair deep blue eyes turn black when angry long icy blue and silver dress silver strapy heels. Personality can be very sweet be is drangerus when mad seems stiff and iver polite till you realy get to know her. Powers ice snow and water.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Readaholic

    I thought the book was very intresting. I've loved this book and the first. I hope there will be more I want to see what happens between Miri and Peder. I want to see when she goes back home. Over all this book exceded my expectations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Love it!!!!!

    Everything u would want in a book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    Very highly recommended

    Good to read an exciting book with no sex and no swearing; one that I can share with one and all but also one that is so well written that it keeps you interested and wondering what will happen next. I loved this book.
    I definately will read other books by Shannon Hale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    More romance

    Its more sappy than the first one. Im not into romance stuff. Otherwise its AWESOME!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    Lovely sequel

    Really nice to see how things have changed for the girls and see how they are all growing and finding out who they are in relation to the wider world. I am quite a bit older now than when I first read Academy. So I have to admit that Miri's naive outlook was a little frustrating. But, it seems appropiate for the target age group. Not quite 5 stars, but still a solid read from a solid author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Miri's story didn't leave Shannon Hale, so she wrote a sequel. Y

    Miri's story didn't leave Shannon Hale, so she wrote a sequel. Yay! I adored Princess Academy and its sweet ending. Much more than that, I love Shannon Hale's writing and decided to place my trust in her and read this as a separate book with the power to stand on its own. I'm delighted to say that I love this book in its own way.

    Miri is still in the process of growing up. While the Princess Academy has educated her and she threw a revolution of sorts at Mount Eskel when she convinced the villagers to demand fair trade for the linder that they quarry, she is still a teenage girl and human. Her emotions are conflicted. Since Peder kissed her cheek, making his feelings for her clear, they haven't had any romantic encounters. Girls are getting betrothed back home, but they haven't had any progress in their relationship.

    When some of the girls of Princess Academy go down to Asland to help Britta prepare for her wedding, Miri also pursues a further education, and Peder goes with them for an apprenticeship as a stone cutter. The girls learn about many things that have evaded Mount Eskel for centuries. The girls pursue their various interests, and Miri learns more about life in Asland. At the academy, Miri meets a young man involved with a revolution that is sparking in Asland, and he introduces her to people working at the heart of it. His interest and attention to her gives her tingles and almost makes up for Peder's detachment; however, she still cannot forget the boy she grew up with.

    I wasn't happy with Miri's actions for much of the book. She gets in much trouble with her inconsistency and indecision. However, she's a teenage girl upon whom much burden and hopes are placed. Everyone believes that she can come up with a solution to their woes, and she doesn't believe she can live up to their expectations. It is in Asland that Miri first encounters the idea of Ethics and finds herself troubling over an ethical issue, as she considers the problem of who Mount Eskel should side with (the revolutionaries or the crown) with the newly made province's may lose its new wealth.

    Over the course of the novel, Miri learns more about herself and who she wants to be. Revolution, love, and questions of morality come together in Palace of Stone as the girls of Mount Eskel bring change to the kingdom of Asland. I would recommend this quaint and inspiring book to fantasy readers of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    To Ok p.s i havent read the book so my rating doesnt matter

    Well my best friend was in third grade when she read it and loved it so your thoey was wrong.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1