Customer Reviews for

Paladins of Shannara: Allanon's Quest (Short Story)

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

The Druid Allanon has long been one of my favorite fantasy chara

The Druid Allanon has long been one of my favorite fantasy characters. The original Shannara novels -- The Sword of Shannara, The Elfstones of Shannara: 2 (The Sword of Shannara), and The Wishsong of Shannara: 3 (The Sword of Shannara) -- are some of the best epic fanta...
The Druid Allanon has long been one of my favorite fantasy characters. The original Shannara novels -- The Sword of Shannara, The Elfstones of Shannara: 2 (The Sword of Shannara), and The Wishsong of Shannara: 3 (The Sword of Shannara) -- are some of the best epic fantasy available and it is largely due to Allanon. He is dark, powerful, and mysterious, a great combination that has led many fans like myself wanting to know more.

Terry Brooks has finally given us more. ALLANON'S QUEST takes place before The Sword of Shannara, when Allanon has the same responsibilities but he's a bit younger -- a bit untried. I loved the twists that Terry threw into the story, and getting an entire short story from Allanon's Point of View was fantastic. Anyone who loves the original trilogy and the Druid in particular will want to read this! And at $.99, it is completely worth it and much more. It even makes me want to re-read the original trilogy! I have no doubt I won't be the only one who wants to do that after reading this!

posted by The_Speakman on July 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

dissapointing

wish it had been much longer

posted by AutumnjoyKD on October 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 9, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    The Druid Allanon has long been one of my favorite fantasy chara

    The Druid Allanon has long been one of my favorite fantasy characters. The original Shannara novels -- The Sword of Shannara, The Elfstones of Shannara: 2 (The Sword of Shannara), and The Wishsong of Shannara: 3 (The Sword of Shannara) -- are some of the best epic fantasy available and it is largely due to Allanon. He is dark, powerful, and mysterious, a great combination that has led many fans like myself wanting to know more.

    Terry Brooks has finally given us more. ALLANON'S QUEST takes place before The Sword of Shannara, when Allanon has the same responsibilities but he's a bit younger -- a bit untried. I loved the twists that Terry threw into the story, and getting an entire short story from Allanon's Point of View was fantastic. Anyone who loves the original trilogy and the Druid in particular will want to read this! And at $.99, it is completely worth it and much more. It even makes me want to re-read the original trilogy! I have no doubt I won't be the only one who wants to do that after reading this!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    Terry Brooks draws you in like no other!

    Well writen and leaves you wanting more! I recommend reading this if you want to know what happens prior to the start of the sword of shannara and if you have not read it start here makes me want to reread the classic! Probably will ! Allanon is by far my favorite druid and I know the rest of you fantasy readers will love him. Great job Terry keep the stories coming!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    You can't go wrong with more stories about Allanon

    Allanon is a great character in the World of Shannara. He is a powerful druid that has the weight of the world on his shoulders. This short story is a prequel to Terry's first novel the Sword of Shannara and the author never disappoints.
    If you haven't read Terry Brooks Shannara novels you are missing out on wonderful stories set in a magical world. I highly recommend this and all of Terry's novels. Great stuff!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Allanon's Quest is Awesome!

    This short story is awesome. Is a great addition to the Shannara timeline, if you like Terry Brooks then you will love this.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    I love all his work!!!!

    Im bias. Theres nothing of his i dont like. The kingdom series is his best!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Everyone loves Allanon

    The most compelling character of all Brooks novels... at least I think so. Great little snippet and can't wait for more!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    The search for Shea Ohmsford by Allanon was given additional dep

    The search for Shea Ohmsford by Allanon was given additional depth by Terry Brooks in the form of a short story, and I found it enjoyable, and easily read in one sitting. It reminds me of recollections by past generations of the reading habits of a different time, when their reading material, especially fictions, was given in small doses in the various newpapers and periodicals of the time. It was prudent to supply only a chapter at a time to the public, and keep them coming back for more of a popular author. The short story helped me read something new and fresh by Terry Brooks, and inform me of a new series being written presently by him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2012

    dissapointing

    wish it had been much longer

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2012

    MUST READ!!!

    Great short prelude to Sword of Shannara. Typical Terry Brooks. Great story from a great storyteller.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Great short read

    Nice short story,my first intro to Terry Brooks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Paladins of Shannara: Alanon's Quest

    I loved this little snippet. I want more.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A lot of fun. Makes a great prologue to The Sword of Shannara.

    A lot of fun. Makes a great prologue to The Sword of Shannara.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    great

    this is great i always had questions about things and this answered them i had to re read sword after words thank you for all your great trips i have taken in yout books

    i recommend this to anyone who follows the series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    Great short story

    Wish brooks added just a little more to this one just enough to keep it going not enough to sustain a longer series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Good

    Makes a nice bit info

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    More Allanon, please, Mr. Brooks

    This took me WAY back in time and I will reread the Sword of Shannara series. If you have not read it, buy the bundle! I still have mot in hard backs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Love this series

    I have looked at the maps and after reading the books want to travel the way the maps direct to find the land where the Gypsy Morph traveled to find the land where Shannara takes place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    waste of money

    If you read the sample, you have read the entire story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Short and Sweet

    It is very short, but well worth the read if you are a fan of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Short but engrossing

    Terry Brooks is always a great read. This is just a taste that makes you want for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3