Customer Reviews for

The Pale Blue Eye

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Impossible To Put Down

From the moment I read the first sentence on page one, I was hooked. The story, the writing style, the development of the characters, the pacing --all are outstanding. Other reviewers have called this book 'mesmerizing' and I could not agree more strongly. If you are lo...
From the moment I read the first sentence on page one, I was hooked. The story, the writing style, the development of the characters, the pacing --all are outstanding. Other reviewers have called this book 'mesmerizing' and I could not agree more strongly. If you are looking for a book that engages your imagination from the start and holds you in it's grasp until the very last word, then The Pale Blue Eye is for you. I assure that you won't be disappointed. This is truely a great 'read'.

posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Pale Blue Eye - Somewhat Interesting, But Too Long

The Pale Blue Eye is an interesting story, but just too long.The main character development is good, although I am really not a Poe fan. In too much of his work, I really had a hard time understanding what Poe was trying to say. (Perhaps you need to be high while readin...
The Pale Blue Eye is an interesting story, but just too long.The main character development is good, although I am really not a Poe fan. In too much of his work, I really had a hard time understanding what Poe was trying to say. (Perhaps you need to be high while reading Poe to understand much of it, since he was high while he was writing much of it.) The ending of The Pale Blue Eye is certainly interesting; however, while the ending makes sense, there are not enough clues throughout the work to give the reader a real chance to come to that conclusion. I find this type of ending in a mystery less than satisfying. Unless you are a huge Poe fan, I would give The Pale Blue Eye an average rating at best.

posted by MikeMarxBrooks on June 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An enjoyable tale with a surprise ending

    The story is set in 1830 at the fledgling West Point Academy. A body is found desecrated and a retired policeman is called in to investigate discreetly. Edgar Allan Poe is a secondary character in the novel. The mystery solution has been "done" before, but I didn't see it coming and it caught me by surprise - hard for a book to do these days. A pretty good book. I recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2009

    The Pale Blue Eye - Somewhat Interesting, But Too Long

    The Pale Blue Eye is an interesting story, but just too long.The main character development is good, although I am really not a Poe fan. In too much of his work, I really had a hard time understanding what Poe was trying to say. (Perhaps you need to be high while reading Poe to understand much of it, since he was high while he was writing much of it.) The ending of The Pale Blue Eye is certainly interesting; however, while the ending makes sense, there are not enough clues throughout the work to give the reader a real chance to come to that conclusion. I find this type of ending in a mystery less than satisfying. Unless you are a huge Poe fan, I would give The Pale Blue Eye an average rating at best.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2007

    Best book I've read in a long time

    Loved it so much I ran out and bought Mr. Timothy as soon as I finished this one. Clever, well-written, and enjoyable up until the last word. Goosebumps, the whole shebang. I am buying it as a Christmas present for the avid readers in my family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2007

    Historical Fiction at its best!!

    Cleverly written. Engaging characters. Wonderfully vivid imaging and movement that will get you to read this brilliantly written work of literary art in a weekend.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    Impossible To Put Down

    From the moment I read the first sentence on page one, I was hooked. The story, the writing style, the development of the characters, the pacing --all are outstanding. Other reviewers have called this book 'mesmerizing' and I could not agree more strongly. If you are looking for a book that engages your imagination from the start and holds you in it's grasp until the very last word, then The Pale Blue Eye is for you. I assure that you won't be disappointed. This is truely a great 'read'.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2007

    Edgar Allen Poe lives on!!

    The spirit of Edgar Allen Poe must be haunting Louis Bayard in his THE PALE BLUE EYE, or Bayard is some kind of a genius of the literary fiction. If that is not enough, this story pulls, leads, and spirits the 'Reader' through a nail biting mystery in 1830'3 West Point Academy with Cadet Edgar Allen Poe. The writing style oozes Poe. The atmosphere haunts the reader exactly at perfect pitch with the time and place always. The mystery twists at the end like the final turn of the knife blade in a well planned murder. The beat, beat, beat of the 'Tale Tell Heart' and the love of 'Annabelle Lee' should be written 'nevermore', but Louis Bayard breaks the rules, and the 'Reader' is the winner with Bayard's brilliant writing and story telling. THE PALE BLUE EYE is eerily memorizing!! Not to be missed by readers and book groups alike.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Very Enjoyable

    The prose was beautiful and wholly intelligent, the characters well developed and the story rich in detail and rewarding to the end. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    A Telling Heart

    Give Bayard great credit - he can craft beautiful worlds out of the past with just a few sticks of imagination. Pale Blue Eye might have dragged just a hair in the middle (might just could have been me) but it rode fast at the end. I'm not entirely sure I completely buy the mother character, and I had to give the ending a bit of time to grow on me, but it was all greatly enjoyable. Looking forward to more from this fine writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    Excellent Read

    I really enjoyed "The Black Tower" and thought it was very good, but after reading "The Pale Blue Eye"....I couldn't put the book down. Two different narratives from two entirely different personalities - Landor and Poe.....the two characters compliment each other - one retired constable and one poet/cadet. The setting at West Point wsa a great creative way to tell the story. The ending? I've been surprised by many endings of novels, but not like this one! Totally unprepared for it!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Bayard is easily the next Charles Dickens.

    Louis Bayard writes unlike any other out there, with his layered character descriptions and ingenious imagination. Plus, in this novel, Poe couldn't be more Poe. An amazing book I'd recommend to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Anything but pale

    Let me preface this by saying that I'm not an avid reader of mystery novels in their pure "detective" form. I've read most of Sherlock Holmes. I've also read numerous "juvenile" mysteries over time (Hardy Boys and the like). I've also read numerous short stories including the "first" detective story, "The Murders in the Rue Morgue" by E.A.Poe.

    That said, I'm a big fan of a good mystery that really puzzles and gets you pondering. I've also always been a good fan of Poe and the themes and tones in his stories. So, on reading the "back of the book" blurb for "The Pale Blue Eye", I knew I had to read it.

    I would heartily recommend this book to any fan of a good mystery or of late romantic or gothic era literature from the 18th and 19th centuries. The descriptions and characterizations are exquisitely presented through wonderful use of language. The intrigue and details of the mystery are very entertaining and engrossing and make for an immersive read. My one caution would be to those of a more squeemish nature. The climactic confrontation scene is a bit gruesome. I physically shuddered at one of the descriptions. It wasn't much more gruesome than something from a prime time CSI or Law & Order show, but it was definitely a bit over the top considering the rest of the novel.

    Still, if you're a fan of Poe, mysteries, or early American literature, I think you'll enjoy this dark mystery.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    Off the Beaten Track

    Bought this book on a whim as I usually dislike mysteries that attempt to clumsily use a known historical personage as their detective, but that was far from the case with here.Poe is a very vivid presence, and quite believable, but it is the disillusioned old man who befriends him who is the main character of the book. The excellent writing makes this stand out as a novel that is independent of the genre and just simply a truly original read. The tone ranges from somber, to macabre to a kind of febrile humor that somehow works without straining the sense of time and place, and the plot is nothing if not tortuous.Definitely a 'tale of the grotesque and the arabesque.' Well worth a read for anyone who has ever worked their way through the works of Edgar Allen Poe, or anyone who's looking for something a little bit different from the usual cookie cutter historical mystery.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    INCREDIBLE .... A MODERN DAY CLASSIC !!

    I must say that this book is one of the best I have ever read. This novel puts other top sellers of today to shame. The writing is lyrical and flows with pure beauty. It manages to bring the characters to life with a depth that is very rare and tell a story that is suspenseful with twists and turns that will have your head spinning while bringing the beauty of the written word to life at the same time. I have been a huge fan of Mr. Bayard since his early works like FOOL'S ERRAND. There has always been something special about his work - his intelligence, his true love of his characters and the display of the obvious good heart he possesses. This is a complex author who is immensely gifted. THE PALE BLUE EYE takes place in the 1800's and the writing is equal to that of the true classics. Do yourself a favor and read this special book. Something so intelligent and entertaining is hard to come by. I thank Louis Bayard for enriching my life and giving me another world to escape to for a while. I honestly believe this book is one that will always be a part of me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2006

    The Edgar Allen Poe you never knew...

    This novel, so expertly written as the narratives of two very different men, Gus Landor and Cadet Edgar Allen Poe, is nothing less than riveting. Victorian murder mysteries are seldom so compelling with an ending both surprising and logical. Gothic excellence. The sentence structure, details and terms of the time are expertly woven. The author certainly gives us a history lesson as well as entertaining the 'Reader'.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Edgar Allen Poe lives on!!

    The spirit of Edgar Allen Poe must be haunting Louis Bayard in his THE PALE BLUE EYE, or Bayard is some kind of a genius of the literary fiction. If that is not enough, this story pulls, leads, and spirits the 'Reader' through a nail biting mystery in 1830'3 West Point Academy with Cadet Edgar Allen Poe. The writing style oozes Poe. The atmosphere haunts the reader exactly at perfect pitch with the time and place always. The mystery twists at the end like the final turn of the knife blade in a well planned murder. The beat, beat, beat of the 'Tale Tell Heart' and the love of 'Annabelle Lee' should be written 'nevermore', but Louis Bayard breaks the rules, and the 'Reader' is the winner with Bayard's brilliant writing and story telling. THE PALE BLUE EYE is eerily memorizing!! Not to be missed by readers and book groups alike.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Hunter

    Hi!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Dawn

    I gtg. Bbl. Bye

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2