Customer Reviews for

Pale Horse Coming (Earl Swagger Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A dark yarn with plenty of excitement and action!!!

I have a friend and we read the same book at the same time. I thought this book was fantastic, dark and full of gut wrenching action. My friend said it was the one of the best books she's read. So it's a highly recommended book!

posted by jazzinSA on September 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shallow use of real heroes

I've been thrilled by most of Stephen Hunter's books. Dirty White Boys, Point of Impact, Black Light, Time to Hunt and Hot Springs were fantastic reads. Others were disappointments. I couldn't even finish Second Saladin and The Master Sniper dragged on and on. Pale ...
I've been thrilled by most of Stephen Hunter's books. Dirty White Boys, Point of Impact, Black Light, Time to Hunt and Hot Springs were fantastic reads. Others were disappointments. I couldn't even finish Second Saladin and The Master Sniper dragged on and on. Pale Horse Coming begins in great Hunter style with plenty of action along with a liberal dose of southern culture, albeit racist and mean, thrown in. Where Hunter errs is in the blatant use of some of hunting, shooting, law enforcement and the military's real life heroes, very shallowly disguised with cute names, to save the day. Anyone who has read the main outdoor magazines will have spoted Elmer Keith, Jack O'Connor, Charlie Askins, Bill Jordan, Audie Murphy and Ed McGivern in seconds. While their names may have been changed, and poorly at that, the traits and attributes of each weren't, at least not much. If anything, their personalities were stretched to the limits. As creative as Hunter is, he could easily have come up with fictional heroes every bit as interesting and captivating as his villains. Instead, he uses an old trick and rewrites history through the use of real people, fictionalized, and, in the process, cheapens both them and his work. By the way, the Askins character is right on: racist, irreverant, and an unrepentent cold blooded killer. I seriously doubt that Keith, O'Connor, or McGivern would have taken part in this battle. They were hunters, not killers. Jordan and Murphy probably would have. Stephen, I hope you're not getting tired. Please use your great creativity on both sides of the fence. Look what you've done with Earl, Bob Lee, and Sam.

posted by Anonymous on December 20, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 17, 2012

    A dark yarn with plenty of excitement and action!!!

    I have a friend and we read the same book at the same time. I thought this book was fantastic, dark and full of gut wrenching action. My friend said it was the one of the best books she's read. So it's a highly recommended book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2002

    Shallow use of real heroes

    I've been thrilled by most of Stephen Hunter's books. Dirty White Boys, Point of Impact, Black Light, Time to Hunt and Hot Springs were fantastic reads. Others were disappointments. I couldn't even finish Second Saladin and The Master Sniper dragged on and on. Pale Horse Coming begins in great Hunter style with plenty of action along with a liberal dose of southern culture, albeit racist and mean, thrown in. Where Hunter errs is in the blatant use of some of hunting, shooting, law enforcement and the military's real life heroes, very shallowly disguised with cute names, to save the day. Anyone who has read the main outdoor magazines will have spoted Elmer Keith, Jack O'Connor, Charlie Askins, Bill Jordan, Audie Murphy and Ed McGivern in seconds. While their names may have been changed, and poorly at that, the traits and attributes of each weren't, at least not much. If anything, their personalities were stretched to the limits. As creative as Hunter is, he could easily have come up with fictional heroes every bit as interesting and captivating as his villains. Instead, he uses an old trick and rewrites history through the use of real people, fictionalized, and, in the process, cheapens both them and his work. By the way, the Askins character is right on: racist, irreverant, and an unrepentent cold blooded killer. I seriously doubt that Keith, O'Connor, or McGivern would have taken part in this battle. They were hunters, not killers. Jordan and Murphy probably would have. Stephen, I hope you're not getting tired. Please use your great creativity on both sides of the fence. Look what you've done with Earl, Bob Lee, and Sam.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging historical fiction

    By 1951 Thebes, Mississippi is a ghost town converted to a penal colony for Negro criminals. Once in you never leave as the only egress is by boat in a casket. The warden and guards run a tight operation making life miserable for the prisoners because the standard operating norm is whipping and torture. The men in charge use all sorts of diabolical devices to keep the prisoners in line and cowed. <P>Attorney Sam Vincent travels to Thebes to meet a client, but is illegally detained by the law enforcement officials running the facility. Earl Swagger knows Sam is inside Thebes and sets out to free his friend. Earl frees Sam, but is caught instead. Big Boy, who runs the prison, periodically tortures Earl, who with a bit of luck escapes vowing to return to burn this little corner of hell to the ground. <P> PALE HORSE COMING is a juicy thriller that shows how little freedom blacks had in the 1951 south. The novel shocks, excites, and enthralls the audience. The plot serves as a testament to the unknown heroes fighting injustice to make things right for everyone. Stephen Hunter is a fantastic writer who knows how to entertain and educate his fans. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    You are there

    As with most of Stephen Hunter's books, you feel as if you are in the same situation as the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    Great story and well written

    I am a real fan of these books from Stephen Hunter. They are more enjoyable if read in the order of publication, but this was the first of Hunter's books that I read. I am now going back and reading all of them in order this time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Great book

    Hunter is an excellent writer. His characters are well developed and they are easy to follow in the book. This book was well done and a real page turner. I found myself staying up late just to find out how Earl handles the next challenge. Hunter doesn't create so many characters that it becomes difficult to follow the storyline. Earl Swagger has to be the ancestor to another great character - Jack Reacher!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    One of my favorites

    Before there was 'Bob the Nailer' there was his father, Earl...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Haunting and filled with suspense

    Pale Horse Coming turned out to be a real page-turner filled with suspense at every turn. Some of the description of events is a wee bit graphic, although it fit perfectly with the subject matter. I love a great historical novel, and this is the best one I've read in a very long time. I'm happy to highly recommend it to mature readers of historical novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Improbable characters....stereotypical protagonists and antagoni

    Improbable characters....stereotypical protagonists and antagonists....geographically erroneous. Being from south Mississippi, I thought this would be an interesting read, but found the book to be a tedious read. I found myself saying &quot;aw.....come on.....really&quot; with every turn of the page. Without giving much away, I will say that there are no swamps in that part of Mississippi....the placement of the action is more likely in south Louisiana......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    great book

    very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    I have been a stephen hunter fan for quite some time, and while

    I have been a stephen hunter fan for quite some time, and while i have not read all of his books,this is byfar one of my favorites. Hunter at his best would be a understatement.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    HIghly Recommended

    I read this book a few years ago and thought it was stephen hunters best work. i wonder if this re-issue has and changes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    Keep coming back for more

    I've read all of the Stephen Hunter books and for some reason, I keep coming back to this one. I want to be Earl Swagger when I grow up. He is the epitome of cool and able to keep his senses in the worst situations. Always calm and collected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    One of the best books I ever read!

    If you can get thru the first chapter you will not be able to put it down! I am a picky reader. If a book doesnt captivate me after 2 or 3 chapters I stop reading. This is a page turner. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    EaRL Swagger

    After reading this book now I know were 'The Nailer' got his steel will....and blood lust...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    Stephen Hunter outdid himself!

    This Earl Swagger story had me riveted from the first chapter. It is Hunter's best, filled with heart-pounding suspense and incredible action. I have read it several times already and highly recommend it, along with the other Swagger stories, and Dirty White Boys.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2006

    Gripping from start to finish

    Unforgetable story line and character development. Stephen Hunter's best book starts off at a fast pase and just keeps gaining momentum till the very end. This book is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2005

    Excellant addition to the Swagger stories!

    Having read and enjoyed all the the previous Swagger books by Hunter I had to get this one as well and am very glad i did. Great story that keeps you interested from begining to end! Definately pick up this book when you get a chance, you won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2005

    After you finish....

    This was a great book in many ways. A true 'humble American hero vanquishes evil' type of novel which I couldn't put down. But after you finish, go back and read chapter 60 one more time. That was one of the best four or five pages I've read in a long time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2004

    Hunter Brings It Once Again!

    This book is simply amazing. Those that didn't like this book must also not like John Wayne, as this book is a good story about the old south with a 'Duke' like hero. It's far fetched in some places, but that just makes it all the better. You won't be able to put this one down, and at times Hunter really makes you cringe. Great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4