BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Pale Horseman (Saxon Tales #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another winner from Bernard Cornwell

Book Two of The Saxon Tales, The Pale Horseman, continues the story of Uthred, the Saxon boy raised among the Danes. Set against actual events, the story interweaves actual historical characters with fictional ones in a highly entertaining fashion. I enjoy the historica...
Book Two of The Saxon Tales, The Pale Horseman, continues the story of Uthred, the Saxon boy raised among the Danes. Set against actual events, the story interweaves actual historical characters with fictional ones in a highly entertaining fashion. I enjoy the historical references and the detail of everyday life. I previously read another set of books by Mr. Cornwell and thoroughly enjoy his work. The book is fast paced with surprising twists and turns. The fight and battle scenes are realistic without being unnecessarily gory. The action ranges all over the east side of England and never flags. This book will be interesting to history buffs who do not mind a little action, and to action buffs who do not mind a little history.

posted by JR86 on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Always an education, but with a good story.

I love reading Cornwell's books on my nook, because additional research on a historic a character, location, or event is only a click away. After reading his novels, this one included, I always come away with the feeling of have been exposed to events that I did't know...
I love reading Cornwell's books on my nook, because additional research on a historic a character, location, or event is only a click away. After reading his novels, this one included, I always come away with the feeling of have been exposed to events that I did't know much about, but now want to know even more! Some would say he needs to get deeper into his characters in the book, and I understand the comment, but this is the second book in a long series, I think your seeing plenty of development - just read them all!

posted by mn22 on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted January 28, 2012

    Always an education, but with a good story.

    I love reading Cornwell's books on my nook, because additional research on a historic a character, location, or event is only a click away. After reading his novels, this one included, I always come away with the feeling of have been exposed to events that I did't know much about, but now want to know even more! Some would say he needs to get deeper into his characters in the book, and I understand the comment, but this is the second book in a long series, I think your seeing plenty of development - just read them all!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Another winner from Bernard Cornwell

    Book Two of The Saxon Tales, The Pale Horseman, continues the story of Uthred, the Saxon boy raised among the Danes. Set against actual events, the story interweaves actual historical characters with fictional ones in a highly entertaining fashion. I enjoy the historical references and the detail of everyday life. I previously read another set of books by Mr. Cornwell and thoroughly enjoy his work. The book is fast paced with surprising twists and turns. The fight and battle scenes are realistic without being unnecessarily gory. The action ranges all over the east side of England and never flags. This book will be interesting to history buffs who do not mind a little action, and to action buffs who do not mind a little history.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read

    Now I have two favorite historical fiction writers - Sharon Kay Penman and now Bernard Cornwell. Cornwell puts one right right in the middle of the battle - the downpour of rain - crack of thunder and lightening - fear and "battle calm" and the yell "SHIELD WALL" just makes the hair on one's arm stand up. If you're a fan of England's historical fiction/events, I strongly suggest Cornwell's books. Uhtred has developed into a fearsom warrier. I've got the next book in the series and ready to read.....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    The Pale Horseman

    I've just finished reading this book, and read The Last Kingdom before that. I like the storyline, time frame etc. but I also find there is not enough detail. After reading the Outlander series, and books by E. Rutherfurd, these stories seem kind of flat. The characters could be so much more interesting if the author provided more details about their lives. My impression is he seems to be rushing through the book, they're only 300 or so pages compared to the other authors I mentioned, their books are well over 1,000 pages. It's an okay read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    I've read all the Sharpe novels and most of Mr. Cornwell's other

    I've read all the Sharpe novels and most of Mr. Cornwell's others. Haven't read a bad one yet. I'm awed by his ability to take history and tweak it and make it fun. One just wants to get to know better even deeply flawed characters like Uhtred (arrogant, rude, crude, self-involved). It's just hard to put his books down, and I always look forward to the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Great Book!

    Bernard Cornwell writes exciting books that grab the reader who enjoys martial tales and makes you want more. I read the entire Sharps series years ago and really enjoyed them, and the Saxon Tales is just as good a read. The protagonist is as interesting a character as you'll find. The author paints scenes that put you there. Strongly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Recommended

    Although I do not rate this as highly as I would some of Bernard Cornwell's other works, anyone interested in the time of Alfred the Great, should certainly read this series. It is well researched and a very good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    All I need is a good writer

    I have completed reading THE LAST KINGDOM and THE PALE HORSEMAN, in the series.. Their engaging to read, easy to read and I am learning as I read.
    I appreciate the author's reasearch of his his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Pale Horseman

    The journey continues in the life of a Northumbrian Lord Uhtred who was orphaned and captured by the Vikings and then was raised by the Viking leader Ragnar who also fathered and trained Uhtred to become a warrior. Ragnar and his whole family are murdered in the first book The Last Kingdom and Uhtred finds himself in the hands of where fate leads him next. He is found to be switching sides and joins King Alfred's army to fight the Danes in The Pale Horseman.

    This is still a very good book and one that I'd offer for any historical fiction lover. However the ending, the battle of Ethandun which granted Alfred the title "Alfred The Great" is a little slow and dry. But none-the-less the rest of the book is filled with good drama new characters and lots of history that I think any historical fiction lover will enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2008

    That's more like it!

    After a slow start in The Last Kingdom, Cornwell hits his stride in this installment of the Saxon Chronicles. His characters start to take on a life of their own and seem less like rehashes of figures from his other series. The battle action and historical detail are first-rate, and the question of the hero's legacy promises to unify the future installments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    As good as the first book in the series

    Could be longer though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Kelsey

    No it wasnt tha was my zero

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Zero

    This is really me babe remember how we had sex last night? That was me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Jared

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2014

    Good read

    Keeps your interest throughout.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Do read this series and do get sucked.... it's far cheaper than

    Do read this series and do get sucked.... it's far cheaper than movie and so much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    Easy read, put not easy to put down. Can't wait to read #3!

    Easy read, put not easy to put down. Can't wait to read #3!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Pale Horseman by Bernard Cornwell Second installment of the

    The Pale Horseman by Bernard Cornwell Second installment of the Saxon Tales

    Again the story is narrated by Uhtred, Ealdorman of Bebbansburg. Whereas the first book, The Last Kingdom, dates from 867 to 877, ages 10 to 20 of Uhtred’s life, this book only lasts one year.

    The book opens with the aftermath of the battle of Cynuit, where Uhtred had killed Ubba, the Dane leader, but left Ealdorman Odda the Younger take credit for it.

    So, Uhtred retreats back to his home in Oxton, where his wife, Mildrith, and child, Uhtred, reside. There he retreats to farming and managing his wife’s estate. There he’s joined by his old friend, Leofric, who comes with one of Alfred’s boats, the Eftwyrd. Leofric is a warrior who served under Uhtred’s command, when Uhtred was the captain of Alfred’s fleet. But the fleet is now led by Burgweard, who doesn’t like to fight.

    Uhtred and Leofric take the Eftwyrd to the sea and ransack and fight in Dyfed - today’s Wales - and bring great treasures back to Oxton. Uhtred is able to pay Midrith’s debts to the church.

    However, Odda the Younger accuses Uhtred of disobeying Arthur’s orders and killing Brittons from Wales - who at the time were Alfred’s allies, so he has to fight Steapa, his nemesis’ bodyguard. As they are fighting the Danes, lead by Guthrum, attack Wessex and Uhtred survives by hiding.

    Alfred has lost most of Wessex and is forced to retreat to a marsh - Aethelingaeg - where he decides to attack the Danes in the spring, before they can get reinforcements to Wessex.

    Against all odds, a force is formed and meets at Egbert’s stone, where in May of 878 Alfred defeats the Danes and saves Wessex - probably the reason why we speak English instead of Danish....

    The book is well written and is an easy read. However, I would have preferred that Mr. Cornwell would just write one big book rather than several volumes, because he keeps referring to earlier parts of the story to make the book stand alone on itself - but it gets boring after a while.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Great fun for history buffs or adventure seekers

    I am a big and biased fan of Bernard Cromwell books. This book is a great read for adventure readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    Finished this yesterday and am already missing Uthred! I will b

    Finished this yesterday and am already missing Uthred! I will be purchasing the 3rd in the series for my Nook soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 163 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9