Customer Reviews for

The Pale Horseman (Saxon Tales #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 163 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(93)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another winner from Bernard Cornwell

Book Two of The Saxon Tales, The Pale Horseman, continues the story of Uthred, the Saxon boy raised among the Danes. Set against actual events, the story interweaves actual historical characters with fictional ones in a highly entertaining fashion. I enjoy the historica...
Book Two of The Saxon Tales, The Pale Horseman, continues the story of Uthred, the Saxon boy raised among the Danes. Set against actual events, the story interweaves actual historical characters with fictional ones in a highly entertaining fashion. I enjoy the historical references and the detail of everyday life. I previously read another set of books by Mr. Cornwell and thoroughly enjoy his work. The book is fast paced with surprising twists and turns. The fight and battle scenes are realistic without being unnecessarily gory. The action ranges all over the east side of England and never flags. This book will be interesting to history buffs who do not mind a little action, and to action buffs who do not mind a little history.

posted by JR86 on May 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Always an education, but with a good story.

I love reading Cornwell's books on my nook, because additional research on a historic a character, location, or event is only a click away. After reading his novels, this one included, I always come away with the feeling of have been exposed to events that I did't know...
I love reading Cornwell's books on my nook, because additional research on a historic a character, location, or event is only a click away. After reading his novels, this one included, I always come away with the feeling of have been exposed to events that I did't know much about, but now want to know even more! Some would say he needs to get deeper into his characters in the book, and I understand the comment, but this is the second book in a long series, I think your seeing plenty of development - just read them all!

posted by mn22 on January 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    Another winner from Bernard Cornwell

    Book Two of The Saxon Tales, The Pale Horseman, continues the story of Uthred, the Saxon boy raised among the Danes. Set against actual events, the story interweaves actual historical characters with fictional ones in a highly entertaining fashion. I enjoy the historical references and the detail of everyday life. I previously read another set of books by Mr. Cornwell and thoroughly enjoy his work. The book is fast paced with surprising twists and turns. The fight and battle scenes are realistic without being unnecessarily gory. The action ranges all over the east side of England and never flags. This book will be interesting to history buffs who do not mind a little action, and to action buffs who do not mind a little history.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A must read

    Now I have two favorite historical fiction writers - Sharon Kay Penman and now Bernard Cornwell. Cornwell puts one right right in the middle of the battle - the downpour of rain - crack of thunder and lightening - fear and "battle calm" and the yell "SHIELD WALL" just makes the hair on one's arm stand up. If you're a fan of England's historical fiction/events, I strongly suggest Cornwell's books. Uhtred has developed into a fearsom warrier. I've got the next book in the series and ready to read.....

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    I've read all the Sharpe novels and most of Mr. Cornwell's other

    I've read all the Sharpe novels and most of Mr. Cornwell's others. Haven't read a bad one yet. I'm awed by his ability to take history and tweak it and make it fun. One just wants to get to know better even deeply flawed characters like Uhtred (arrogant, rude, crude, self-involved). It's just hard to put his books down, and I always look forward to the next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Great Book!

    Bernard Cornwell writes exciting books that grab the reader who enjoys martial tales and makes you want more. I read the entire Sharps series years ago and really enjoyed them, and the Saxon Tales is just as good a read. The protagonist is as interesting a character as you'll find. The author paints scenes that put you there. Strongly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    All I need is a good writer

    I have completed reading THE LAST KINGDOM and THE PALE HORSEMAN, in the series.. Their engaging to read, easy to read and I am learning as I read.
    I appreciate the author's reasearch of his his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Kelsey

    No it wasnt tha was my zero

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Zero

    This is really me babe remember how we had sex last night? That was me

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    Jared

    Hey

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Do read this series and do get sucked.... it's far cheaper than

    Do read this series and do get sucked.... it's far cheaper than movie and so much better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Great fun for history buffs or adventure seekers

    I am a big and biased fan of Bernard Cromwell books. This book is a great read for adventure readers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Highly Recommended!!!!

    I've eaten those "Saxon Tales", you just can't stop reading! REALLY GOOD BOOKS!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Love this series

    Cant put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I love it

    My one fear is that Bernard Cornwell will stop writing and I will run out of his books to read, having read them all. So far, I am quite aways away from reading them all and I have loved every book of his that I have read so far.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    a book worth reading

    as usual another very good book from Bernard Cornwell portraying a very intreresting period of the history of our civilisation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2008

    Completely Engrossing

    I think I have a new favorite author! He takes history and makes it so much more compelling and so much more real than many other books that I have read! I stayed up way too late last night to finish it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Awesome storytelling!

    I have read all of Bernard Cornwell's many titles. While I have enjoyed each and every one immensely, the Saxon series is the very best of them all! They offer the perfect mix of all that makes Bernard so readable ... great characters, entertaining and imaginative story lines, attention to historical details, deeper explorations of religion and life, and ... unforgettable battle scenes that will leave you shaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2007

    The saga continues...

    I recently read the prior book in the series, The Last Kingdom, phenomenal book. I started this one immediately and have been surprised by how well this one reads. Fate brings Uhtred new friends and enemies, highs and lows he had not expected. I now sit on the cusp of finishing this fine book, I cannot wait to tear into the next one. Judging by this series I think I have a new favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2006

    Uhtred comes of age!

    The Pale Horseman literally starts where The Last Kingdom left off as Uhtred returns after defeating Ubba. With the same vivid imagery and intriguing characters The Pale Horseman is a fitting continuation of the tale. An immensely enjoyable page turner that takes the reader though some of the darkest days in Saxon history The Pale Horseman provides a poignant and believable account of the terror and turmoil that overtook Wessex when the Danes finally invaded in force. In this part of the tale Uhtred proves himself an extraordinary warrior and begins to find a reason to respect and support King Alfred. Cornwell introduces several new characters to the cast and all are wonderful additions. It is a very quick read and a real page turner, I found myself at the end of the book wanting more, but alas the next part of the tale is not yet available.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5