Customer Reviews for

The Paleo Diet: Lose Weight and Get Healthy by Eating the Foods You Were Designed to Eat

Average Rating 3.5
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Weight Loss with Bonuses!

I am an RN who has had an interest in nutrition for many years, and have eaten similar to the "Paleo" way for some time and have felt great for years (and look younger than my age!). The big excitement for me is the improvement in my family's health since converting to ...
I am an RN who has had an interest in nutrition for many years, and have eaten similar to the "Paleo" way for some time and have felt great for years (and look younger than my age!). The big excitement for me is the improvement in my family's health since converting to Paleo. My sister (who has been on chemo for 6 years),found this book(and told us all about it), has lost 35 pounds in 6 months, and has improving lab values with her thyroid, cholesterol. She has increased energy, no indigestion, and glows in a way she never did before. My husband, recently diagnosed with Type II diabetes, has lost 20 pounds in 3 months, and his blood sugars are totally controlled by this diet alone, and his blood pressure is now within normal limits. My daughter, having stopped the dairy products and wheat, is not longer suffering from severe reflux. She never has to take medication for that now. Ever. My mother has lost 33 pounds, has increased mobility and strength, easily controlled blood sugars (may go off meds soon, with md's supervision), and is never hungry. Along with all these benefits, you don't ever have to go hungry again. In fact, after eating the Paleo way, your hunger decreases because you are truly nourishing your body probably for the first time in your life! My boss, an internal medicine/allergy specialist, lost weight, and now has little to no arthritis pain that drove him to take pain meds on a daily basis. He recommends this diet in his practice. I love this book. It has changed lives. Try it for one month and you will become a believer.

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Diet difficult to follow

Book is easy to read and understand, but for most people, it would be very hard to follow this day in and day out. Almost all of your meals have to be prepared at home, and you would have to make frequent trips to the grocery store to get veggies, etc. If you are motiva...
Book is easy to read and understand, but for most people, it would be very hard to follow this day in and day out. Almost all of your meals have to be prepared at home, and you would have to make frequent trips to the grocery store to get veggies, etc. If you are motivated for a big lifestyle change, then this book is for you. If you're just looking to drop a few pounds, don't bother.

posted by 1213644 on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2003

    Weight Loss with Bonuses!

    I am an RN who has had an interest in nutrition for many years, and have eaten similar to the "Paleo" way for some time and have felt great for years (and look younger than my age!). The big excitement for me is the improvement in my family's health since converting to Paleo. My sister (who has been on chemo for 6 years),found this book(and told us all about it), has lost 35 pounds in 6 months, and has improving lab values with her thyroid, cholesterol. She has increased energy, no indigestion, and glows in a way she never did before. My husband, recently diagnosed with Type II diabetes, has lost 20 pounds in 3 months, and his blood sugars are totally controlled by this diet alone, and his blood pressure is now within normal limits. My daughter, having stopped the dairy products and wheat, is not longer suffering from severe reflux. She never has to take medication for that now. Ever. My mother has lost 33 pounds, has increased mobility and strength, easily controlled blood sugars (may go off meds soon, with md's supervision), and is never hungry. Along with all these benefits, you don't ever have to go hungry again. In fact, after eating the Paleo way, your hunger decreases because you are truly nourishing your body probably for the first time in your life! My boss, an internal medicine/allergy specialist, lost weight, and now has little to no arthritis pain that drove him to take pain meds on a daily basis. He recommends this diet in his practice. I love this book. It has changed lives. Try it for one month and you will become a believer.

    24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2002

    Man's original diet by the world's leading expert. Get it!

    Written especially for the general reader in a light clear style, this book is based on the diet that all people ate for 2.5 million years, until farming started some 10,000 years ago (in some parts of the world). It is flexible, tasty and easy to follow. It gives rapid weight control and rapid improvement in exercise tolerance. Why be confused by diet?- here's one that's got 4 to 10 times the normal level of vitamins (without supplements), is high in good omega 3 fats, low in harmful fats, is very low in toxins (lectins, phytates etc), tastes great and makes you healthy. It effortlessly combines every thing proven to be good in food and excludes all the bad things. But wouldn't you expect that from man's original diet? Many authors from Pritikin to Atkins claim that their diet is best because it is based on man's original diet, but few come close to it, and nobody can compare to Professor Cordain who is the world's undisputed grandmaster of Paleolithic and Hunter-Gatherer Diets. There's no muesli, bran, buckwheat or yoghurt. You will find out how grains undermine your health. Grains etc entered the diet 10,000 years ago and are your key to bad health. If you want to find out what was really eaten in the Garden of Eden, then read this book. Start on it for weight loss, but above all, stay on it for your health!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Diet difficult to follow

    Book is easy to read and understand, but for most people, it would be very hard to follow this day in and day out. Almost all of your meals have to be prepared at home, and you would have to make frequent trips to the grocery store to get veggies, etc. If you are motivated for a big lifestyle change, then this book is for you. If you're just looking to drop a few pounds, don't bother.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2001

    A smart, healthful book

    I am fascinated by this diet book -- it makes so much sense! Eating lean meats and fish, veggies, and fruit, and cutting out all the other stuff that is so unnatural and unhealthy for you -- processed grains, refined sugars, and dairy products -- it's a really healthy way to eat and live, even if you don't need to lose weight. And the recipes and meal plans are so helpful and delicious; this book is a real inspiration to begin eating healthfully once and for all.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Excellent info!

    Dr. Cordain's book is informative, easy to read and well-researched. I was very skeptical at first but I have been pleasantly surprised with the changes so far. Within days I have felt better, lighter, and not hungry. It is very clean eating. I was amazed how much energy I still had on a Friday evening. I am usually exhausted by then! I had no problems working out. No more bloating from dairy foods.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2002

    Mostly Right

    The book is a great overview of the human body's natural diet. Dr. Cordain does a great job explaining in detail the concepts of a Paleolithic Diet and how it translates into modern day eating. I agreed with most of Dr. Cordain's concepts except when it came to eating fat. Fat, and more specifically saturated fat, has been unfairly villainized by modern paradigms and this book does nothing to clear this misinformation. There is some evidence to suggest that our ancestors preferentially ate the fat from the animals they hunted. Cordain's diet seems to skirt this issue and combine a true paleo diet with a modern day, politically correct, low fat diet.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2012

    Change my life!

    I love this lifestyle change! I have been following for 3 months, and I've never felt better. Just started Crossfit and I'm a cancer survivor

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Ok if looking for a new lifestyle diet

    I have tried the diet and it is basically a gluten free type diet except with no grains at all. Kind of boring reading it, did not finish it. Not really a reasonable diet in todays society.

    3 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    Easy and it works.

    Heartburn? Gone! And I am pregnant with twins! I have much more energy, and my OB is ecstatic with how healthy I am. I have none of the common twin complications; low iron, heartburn, high blood pressure or gestational diabetes.
    Shopping is simpler albeit more expensive, and my whole family adjusted with ease. I would never go back!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    I am 82 years old, a life time of allergies, diabetes, knee &

    I am 82 years old, a life time of allergies, diabetes, knee & hip pain, required me to continual look for  diet solutions. One of my
    teachers on visiting and dining at my home, felt I was close to the "Paleo" diet. On her next visit she presented me with a book,
    The Paleo Solution, (by Robb Wolf)  after adding more changes I noticed great improvement with all my health problems  .( after
    two months.). I am  now able to work a full day in my shop, and for Xmas I  sent every branch of my Family a copy of the Paleo Solution.
     recently purchased a copy of The Paleo Answer-by Lorn Cordain  bringing my diet up to date, with more improvement. Thanks boys. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2009

    Really want to lose weight?

    We never had too many weight problems, since we worked out quite a lot, but weight gain did run in our families. This is a script to eliminate the struggle of good and bad diets and calerie counting. There are do's and don'ts as far as food you can eat and food you shouldn't.

    However, I believe some dairy is necessary to avoid broken bones.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    The service I received with attempting to purchase this item was

    The service I received with attempting to purchase this item was truly unbelievable. I was utterly disappointed with the service this seller provided (or lack of service). Have yet to receive a return email outside of the basic automated one just so disappointing. I will not buy from this seller again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    The book is good

    I have found other books that better represent the Paleo diet that all my friends are on. This one is more strict. So I would make sure I looked through it really good before I buy it because it may not be exactly what you were looking for...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    Will give it a try!!!

    I hve been looking into so many books and sites about dieting this one sounds real!!! I would encourage everyone who is looking to do something that does not require pills, drops, or counting to give this a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Ok book, a little repetitive

    Just ok

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    Recommended to interested dieters

    New diet ideas and studies are interesting to review. This one because it takes us to the early man period when there was no
    'gravey' etc.

    0 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 143 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8