Customer Reviews for

Paleo Slow Cooker: 75 Easy, Healthy, and Delicious Gluten-Free Paleo Slow Cooker Recipes for a Paleo Diet

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

When I say that I am beyond thrilled to have found this book, I

When I say that I am beyond thrilled to have found this book, I think that might actually be an understatement.  With a challenging schedule juggling two children, my husband’s erratic work hours and meeting my own personal career goals, putting meals on the table is al...
When I say that I am beyond thrilled to have found this book, I think that might actually be an understatement.  With a challenging schedule juggling two children, my husband’s erratic work hours and meeting my own personal career goals, putting meals on the table is always an issue.  Couple that with needing to eat healthy with such chaos and my husband’s desire to switch to a Paleo diet; I was certain I wasn’t going to be able to meet the challenge.  I really didn’t think that it could be done.  However, the recipes from “Paleo Slow Cooker” have changed everthing about eating.  Breakfast, lunch and dinner, this book has it all.  The variety in taste is something I didn’t think you could have on the Paleo diet.  But the best part is the slow cooker recipes for breads and desserts that I thought we would have to give up due to the lack of gluten.  This is an amazing cookbook for those who are following the Paleo diet and for those who love their slow cookers…like me!

posted by ShannaGAC on April 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

THE GOOD ¿ recipe organization, good (but not great) recipes, (m

THE GOOD – recipe organization, good (but not great) recipes, (mostly) simple preparation…THE BAD – some hard-to-find ingredients, the philosophy and background of the Paleo diet are buried at the back of the book and finally… THE UGLY – hard to believe anyone would wri...
THE GOOD – recipe organization, good (but not great) recipes, (mostly) simple preparation…THE BAD – some hard-to-find ingredients, the philosophy and background of the Paleo diet are buried at the back of the book and finally… THE UGLY – hard to believe anyone would write a cookbook that doesn’t include pictures of the dishes!

posted by Anonymous on November 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    When I say that I am beyond thrilled to have found this book, I

    When I say that I am beyond thrilled to have found this book, I think that might actually be an understatement.  With a challenging schedule juggling two children, my husband’s erratic work hours and meeting my own personal career goals, putting meals on the table is always an issue.  Couple that with needing to eat healthy with such chaos and my husband’s desire to switch to a Paleo diet; I was certain I wasn’t going to be able to meet the challenge.  I really didn’t think that it could be done.  However, the recipes from “Paleo Slow Cooker” have changed everthing about eating.  Breakfast, lunch and dinner, this book has it all.  The variety in taste is something I didn’t think you could have on the Paleo diet.  But the best part is the slow cooker recipes for breads and desserts that I thought we would have to give up due to the lack of gluten.  This is an amazing cookbook for those who are following the Paleo diet and for those who love their slow cookers…like me!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    The paleo diet is popular these days, but didn¿t seem the easie

    The paleo diet is popular these days, but didn’t seem the easiest to follow. However, the book explains everything right away. One section in the book offers a great and detailed explanation of the paleo diet, its benefits, origins, and ideas behind diet. It offers a huge variety in recipes: I was expecting a mostly stews and other traditional crockpot recipes, but the book covers all food groups different kinds of meals. 

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    The Paleo diet is all about eating the way we did over 10,000 ye

    The Paleo diet is all about eating the way we did over 10,000 years ago. (Paleo is short for Paleolithic). This means followers of the diet cut out processed foods, refined sugars, dairy, grains, legumes and most alcohol. This book, by John Chatham, contains seventy-five recipes that follow those regulations, making it adherent to the Paleo diet and gluten-free. There are sections of recipes for all three meals, snacks, and deserts. There are meat recipes as well as a whole section of vegetarian options. Slow cooking is a great way to keep the vitamins, minerals, and antioxidants in the meal that are often lost through other methods of cooking. I plan to try the creamy mushroom soup, pumpkin bread or Thai-style vegetable noodles soon. 

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Paleo Slow Cooker by John Chatham offers 75 simple recipes using

    Paleo Slow Cooker by John Chatham offers 75 simple recipes using the basics of the paleo/gluten-free diet: fresh meats, vegetables,
    fruits, and nuts, along with a few staples such as coconut oil, almond flour, and arrowroot. Paleo dieters will enjoy the wide variety of
    recipes while newcomers to Paleo cooking will be impressed with the delicious dishes and ease of preparation.  This is a great addition
    to any cook’s collection, whether you are a Paleo dieter or new to Paleo cooking. It might even convince some to convert to Paleo dieting
    permanently! 

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    This is Not Your Mother¿s Crock Pot Cookbook!If you think mushy,

    This is Not Your Mother’s Crock Pot Cookbook!If you think mushy, flavorless foods when you hear the words “slow cooker,” think again.  “Paleo Slow Cooker: 75 Easy, Healthy,
    and Delicious Gluten-Free Paleo Slow Cooker Recipes” lives up to its title and more.  In an easy-to-read and visually attractive
    format, this book offers up 75 diverse recipes following the Paleo and gluten-free diets.  From breakfast foods to entrees to desserts,
    you really can have it all with meals that are healthy, affordable and a breeze to prepare.  Detailed instructions for each recipe
    make this cookbook a pleasure to use.  

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2013

    THE GOOD ¿ recipe organization, good (but not great) recipes, (m

    THE GOOD – recipe organization, good (but not great) recipes, (mostly) simple preparation…THE BAD – some hard-to-find ingredients, the philosophy and background of the Paleo diet are buried at the back of the book and finally… THE UGLY – hard to believe anyone would write a cookbook that doesn’t include pictures of the dishes!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Paleo Slow Cooker by John Chatham made it easy for me to create

    Paleo Slow Cooker by John Chatham made it easy for me to create beautiful, and healthy meals. I enjoyed learning a little more about the Paleo diet in the introduction and how easy it can be. During the week I am super busy, and slow cooker meals are wonderful for me and my family, and adding Paleo healthy to that mix makes it all the better. I have recommended this cook book to my family and friends wanting to create healthier meals during their busy lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2013

    Let¿s face it not everyone has time to come home after a long bu

    Let’s face it not everyone has time to come home after a long busy day and cook.  Fast food offers convenience for more families on the go.  But now there is a cookbook where you do not have to choose between your health and saving time.  The Paleo Slow Cooker cookbook allows families to make delicious, healthy breakfasts, lunches, dinners, breads, desserts, and soups without spending too much time in the kitchen.  Imagine how easy clean up will be when all of your ingredients are put into one slow cooker.  The Paleo Slow Cooker cookbook has managed to be a wonder cookbook!     

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2013

    You can't go wrong with this recipe book if you are interested i

    You can't go wrong with this recipe book if you are interested in the Paleo diet. It transitions you into the lifestyle very smoothly, which definitely helps with not feeling you are making a drastic change. The recipes are simple and quick to make, and always come out delicious. I would recommend this book 100 times over. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    Extensive Slow Cooker Paleo Diet Recipes This book describes and

    Extensive Slow Cooker Paleo Diet Recipes
    This book describes and provides recipes for the Paleo diet, which is based on the meat-centered diet followed thousands of years
    ago. The recipes utilize the slow cooking method that is especially helpful for busy people since dinner can be started in the morning
    and slowly cook all day and be ready to eat upon arrival home from work. The extensive recipe collection includes breakfast and
    dessert recipes in addition to main entrées. For the Paleo diet, highly processed foods are not allowed, which reduces calories,
    serves to make the diet gluten-free and generally enhances healthfulness. For a reader who may just be familiar with slow cookers
    for making stews or pot roasts, the extensive recipes will be a great addition to the reader’s cookbook collection.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Not a Caveman, but love the book.

    I've read all the recipes and have so many bookmarked that I might just as well start at the beginning and make them all. Yesterday, we had the Fall Vegetable and Apple Stew without the curry. It was like desert for supper. The Beef and Cabbage soup is also a favorite. I've quit putting my slow cooker away in its hard-to-get-to spot since I got this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    If you have issue with Gluten this is a must have for your Kitch

    If you have issue with Gluten this is a must have for your Kitchen, even if you don't this Cook Book will add a touch of versatility that every cook needs to keep things fresh and exciting. These 75 recipes will and breadth and depth to your menu that will keep things from being dull and boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2013

    This recipe book will make a nice addition to our kitchen. I ne

    This recipe book will make a nice addition to our kitchen. I never knew there could be so much information put into such a short book about great eating. The ‘Paleo’ diet, coupled with ‘gluten-free’ items……All brought together with ‘slow-cooking’ makes perfect sense for less time in the kitchen and a more enjoyable mealtime. This is one recipe book that will get a lot of use!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Who knew that my old slow cooker could become my new best friend

    Who knew that my old slow cooker could become my new best friend?
     If you lead a busy life and don’t have time for the intricacies of gluten-free, wholesome Paleo cooking, then try this cookbook.  
    Thanks to “Paleo Slow Cooker,” I can prepare budget-conscious, delicious meals and “politely have dinner waiting” for me when I get home.  
    Best of all, vitamins, minerals, nurtrients are all there, not lost in the cooking process.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    I was a little disappointed in this cookbook.  According to the

    I was a little disappointed in this cookbook.  According to the last few chapters of the Paleo Slow Cooker, a paleo diet consists of foods similar to those consumed by our Stone Age ancestors and is gluten-free as it excludes all cereal grains. The recipes are not your typical crock pot variety as many call for ingredients not found in your average kitchen including blanched almond flour, unsalted grass fed butter, and arrowroot powder. There are some simple and seemingly sumptuous recipes such as Maple-Baked Apples, Herb-Roasted Turkey Breast, and Cuban-Style Roast Pork. I wish the concept and recipes would have been more accessible to the average cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    This is a great time saver! I try to eat Paleo often, but some o

    This is a great time saver! I try to eat Paleo often, but some of the cooked dishes take forever to prepare. This compilation of Paleo recipes have been tailored specifically for use with slow cookers. The preparation time is minimal, so you can set up dinner before you leave in the morning and come home to a hot, delicious meal at night. I especially liked the diversity of dishes, from Curried Almond Butter Dip to Tahini Chicken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    The Paleo Slow Cooker cookbook provides you with all the recipes

    The Paleo Slow Cooker cookbook provides you with all the recipes you need to get started with the paleo diet lifestyle. It has 75 recipes assorted into various categories such as breakfast, snacks, soups, meat and vegetarian entrees, and even desserts. All the recipes are designed to be made in your slow cooker to save you time and hassle. It is an informative cookbook that not only gives you the recipes you need but some basic information on the diet. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    John Chatham, new book, ¿Paleo Diet Solutions and The Paleo Cook

    John Chatham, new book, “Paleo Diet Solutions and The Paleo Cookbook provides his loyal readers with 75 easy, hearty, and enjoyable gluten-free Paleo Slow Cooker Recipes for continued wellbeing and enjoyment. For those of you, not familiar with, the Paleo Diet, it’s popularly known as, the “Caveman’s Diet.” It’s based upon the diet of the hunter gathers of the Paleolithic era.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    Paleo Slow Cooker, by John Chatham, begins with hundreds of reci

    Paleo Slow Cooker, by John Chatham, begins with hundreds of recipes that follow a paleo gluten-free diet and can be cooked in a slow cooker. It follows with a description of what it means to go paleo and gluten-free, and concludes with the benefits of using a slow cooker to make the transition. While I felt like I wanted the information before the recipes, the book did provide all the tools I would need if I were to make the switch to the paleo gluten-free diet. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    I had never heard of the Paleo Slow Cooker until now. I usually

    I had never heard of the Paleo Slow Cooker until now. I usually love foods prepared in crock pots and now I will try this one. The recipes speak for themselves. They sound yummy. The added bonus is, I LOSE WEIGHT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4