Customer Reviews for

Paleo Slow Cooker: 75 Easy, Healthy, and Delicious Gluten-Free Paleo Slow Cooker Recipes for a Paleo Diet

Average Rating 4.5
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

When I say that I am beyond thrilled to have found this book, I

When I say that I am beyond thrilled to have found this book, I think that might actually be an understatement.  With a challenging schedule juggling two children, my husband’s erratic work hours and meeting my own personal career goals, putting meals on the table is al...
When I say that I am beyond thrilled to have found this book, I think that might actually be an understatement.  With a challenging schedule juggling two children, my husband’s erratic work hours and meeting my own personal career goals, putting meals on the table is always an issue.  Couple that with needing to eat healthy with such chaos and my husband’s desire to switch to a Paleo diet; I was certain I wasn’t going to be able to meet the challenge.  I really didn’t think that it could be done.  However, the recipes from “Paleo Slow Cooker” have changed everthing about eating.  Breakfast, lunch and dinner, this book has it all.  The variety in taste is something I didn’t think you could have on the Paleo diet.  But the best part is the slow cooker recipes for breads and desserts that I thought we would have to give up due to the lack of gluten.  This is an amazing cookbook for those who are following the Paleo diet and for those who love their slow cookers…like me!

posted by ShannaGAC on April 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

THE GOOD ¿ recipe organization, good (but not great) recipes, (m

THE GOOD – recipe organization, good (but not great) recipes, (mostly) simple preparation…THE BAD – some hard-to-find ingredients, the philosophy and background of the Paleo diet are buried at the back of the book and finally… THE UGLY – hard to believe anyone would wri...
THE GOOD – recipe organization, good (but not great) recipes, (mostly) simple preparation…THE BAD – some hard-to-find ingredients, the philosophy and background of the Paleo diet are buried at the back of the book and finally… THE UGLY – hard to believe anyone would write a cookbook that doesn’t include pictures of the dishes!

posted by Anonymous on November 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    If you have issue with Gluten this is a must have for your Kitch

    If you have issue with Gluten this is a must have for your Kitchen, even if you don't this Cook Book will add a touch of versatility that every cook needs to keep things fresh and exciting. These 75 recipes will and breadth and depth to your menu that will keep things from being dull and boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    This is a great time saver! I try to eat Paleo often, but some o

    This is a great time saver! I try to eat Paleo often, but some of the cooked dishes take forever to prepare. This compilation of Paleo recipes have been tailored specifically for use with slow cookers. The preparation time is minimal, so you can set up dinner before you leave in the morning and come home to a hot, delicious meal at night. I especially liked the diversity of dishes, from Curried Almond Butter Dip to Tahini Chicken.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    I had never heard of the Paleo Slow Cooker until now. I usually

    I had never heard of the Paleo Slow Cooker until now. I usually love foods prepared in crock pots and now I will try this one. The recipes speak for themselves. They sound yummy. The added bonus is, I LOSE WEIGHT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    ¿Paleo Slow Cooker¿ is a recipe book that takes advantage of the

    “Paleo Slow Cooker” is a recipe book that takes advantage of the natural combination of the meat and vegetable-centered paleo diet and slow cookers, which bring out the flavors of these basic ingredients through cooking over low heat for long periods of time. The recipes are varied and include everything from basics like soup stocks and roasts to more complex combinations like pears and cranberries and venison roast with harvest vegetables – and, of course, the comfort food recipes slow cookers are famous for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2013

    This book made the Paleo diet seem approachable. Being Paleo is


    This book made the Paleo diet seem approachable. Being Paleo is not easy when you’re a vegetarian like me, but there was a short vegetarian section with plenty of recipes that actually looked appetizing. It would have been nice to see some pictures, but otherwise the book was cleanly laid out and easy to read.
    I was confused about some of the recipes in there -- why on earth would you eat a slow - cooker frittata or cake? That seems like it would be so soggy and gross -- but most of the recipes were for things I would actually eat. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    The recipes are short and concise with a layout that is easy to

    The recipes are short and concise with a layout that is easy to follow; there isn¿t extra information that can distract and slow you down. Also, the variety of recipes in here includes a lot of eye catching things, including Hazelnut Bread, Walnut Turkey Breast, Thai-Style Vegetable Noodles, and many more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    I was so excited to receive Paleo Slow Cooker by John Chatham.  

    I was so excited to receive Paleo Slow Cooker by John Chatham.  It's a useful, easy-to-read guide for yummy paleo-friendly recipes.  With a slow cooker, it's a lot simpler for me to prep meals that fit in with my lifestyle.  The only negative side to this book is the lack of photos -- I love a colorful cookbook filled with photos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    Paleo Slow Cooker has seventy-five gluten-free recipes for your

    Paleo Slow Cooker has seventy-five gluten-free recipes for your crock pot that aren’t your grandmother’s flavorless meals. You can learn how to make buffalo-style pork wraps, banana bread, and a variety of soups. There are recipes for meals I didn’t even think you could make in a slow cooker, like breakfast and dessert! This book has a wide variety of delicious sounding foods I’m eager to cook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    John Chatham¿s book is a great resource for Paleo Diet newbies a

    John Chatham’s book is a great resource for Paleo Diet newbies and even those following it for a while and looking for new recipes. The book includes breakfasts, soups, desserts and everything in between, making it easy to stay on course throughout the day. I’m trying the Vegetable Frittata tonight!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    Hat¿s off to John Chatham for providing a concise but surprising

    Hat’s off to John Chatham for providing a concise but surprisingly versatile and culturally diverse cookbook. Even a novice to the Paleo Diet will find recipes for every meal of the day. From breakfast breads and egg dishes to dinners and desserts I found recipes that will soon be family favorites in my house. I never knew there could be such variety on a gluten-free diet like this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Paleo dieters will revel in this cookbook geared for healthy, gl

    Paleo dieters will revel in this cookbook geared for healthy, gluten-free cooking with delicious, all occasion recipes. Simple yet succulent slow cook dishes are laid out in detail, with a gluten-free theme and educational elements woven throughout for a combination worthy of even the most picky Palean, as well as anyone seeking to enhance their weekly menu with meals with flair.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    With all the diets out there, it¿s hard to keep up on which ones

    With all the diets out there, it’s hard to keep up on which ones fit me best. I want simple, easy to cook meals that won’t all taste the same. Paleo Slow Cooker gives me the chance to cook meals in my crock-pot while I’m gone to work, and get home in time to have a hearty meal at the end of the day. I love the variety in meals, and the simple instructions to cook them. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Paleo Slow Cooker is a collection of easy to follow recipes. Th

    Paleo Slow Cooker is a collection of easy to follow recipes. The format of the book groups certain types of meals together (breakfast, dinner, snacks, etc.) making it easy for the reader to quickly look up a specific recipe for any occasion. The recipes themselves are refined and varied while also having directions that are simply and thoroughly explained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    This cookbook, ¿Paleo Slow Cooker¿, by John Chatham is a must-ha

    This cookbook, “Paleo Slow Cooker”, by John Chatham is a must-have for every household. The recipes are healthy, easy and delicious. From the appetizers to the delicious desserts, there is so much to choose from. You could make a new meal every night of the week and never get tired of the food. I recommend that you buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Paleo Slow Cooker is your route to delicious and healthy Paleo a

    Paleo Slow Cooker is your route to delicious and healthy Paleo and gluten-free recipes you prepare in a slow cooker. In addition to recipes for meat and vegetarian entrees, this NY Times Best Seller offers hearty soups and mouth-watering desserts, all prepared with the one-pot, easy clean-up slow cooker. Paleo and gluten-free do not have to be boring as this recipe book proves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Paleo Slow Cooker is packed with wonderful, gluten-free recipes.

    Paleo Slow Cooker is packed with wonderful, gluten-free recipes. John Chatham does a good job explaining the myths of a gluten-free diet. I didn’t know there were so many nut meals I could make with such a diet. Chatham ‘s book dedicates a whole section to breads and desserts. The hazel nut bread for breakfast looks scrumptious with the perfect amount of hazel nut flour and ground nutmeg. He even includes suggestions on how to make a homemade aluminum foil rack for your slow cooker. This cookbook has a lot to offer anyone interested in Paleo Diet recipes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    Hearty, healthy recipes for comfort food that keep more nutrient

    Hearty, healthy recipes for comfort food that keep more nutrients are the book’s strength. I salivated over Slow Cooker Beef Stew and Garlic-Ginger Pork Loin.  Why no seafood?  I’m sure cavemen/women must have speared the occasional thalassomedon. Fiber-filled grains or legumes are off limits. The Paleo Diet logic of health through eating like a caveman/woman is just silly. The tasty meals are easy to make.  The logic is hard to take.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1