BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Paleo for Beginners: Essentials to Get Started

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Wish it came out a few years ago, but still...

John Chatham's Paleo For Beginners is the type of diet book, heck, any book, that makes you think, "why can't all books be this clearly written." Yes, everyone's been made aware of the benefits of a high protein, lowered carbohydrate diet, but usually this message fails...
John Chatham's Paleo For Beginners is the type of diet book, heck, any book, that makes you think, "why can't all books be this clearly written." Yes, everyone's been made aware of the benefits of a high protein, lowered carbohydrate diet, but usually this message fails to tell you why (in an understandable manner) or how to do it in a manner that doesn't lead to the conclusion that you need to rearrange your lifestyle and move to the country (or the city, depending on how dizzingly exotic the required ingredients are). No short cuts are offered here. But at least a clear road map's presented: this is why you do it; this how you do it; lets do it! Again, why do these books have to be so unusual?

posted by TimsBooks on October 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Only got sample

Was trying to purchase charged me 6.95 and can only view the table of content!

posted by Anonymous on April 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 31, 2012

    Wish it came out a few years ago, but still...

    John Chatham's Paleo For Beginners is the type of diet book, heck, any book, that makes you think, "why can't all books be this clearly written." Yes, everyone's been made aware of the benefits of a high protein, lowered carbohydrate diet, but usually this message fails to tell you why (in an understandable manner) or how to do it in a manner that doesn't lead to the conclusion that you need to rearrange your lifestyle and move to the country (or the city, depending on how dizzingly exotic the required ingredients are). No short cuts are offered here. But at least a clear road map's presented: this is why you do it; this how you do it; lets do it! Again, why do these books have to be so unusual?

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    This is a fun adventurer in dieting. John Chatham has taken a ve

    This is a fun adventurer in dieting. John Chatham has taken a very complicated diet and made it not only doable but fun and a real adventure I have friends and family on the Palo diet but when I saw how complicated it was I was not interested . Then a friend told me about this wonderful book. I fell great and have already lost weight. It is easy going too the store and into the kitchen when you know what your doing.The writer gives you an understanding of how you should start eating and why this diet is what you should eat.  He also gives you alternatives to very expensive dishes that other books on this subject insist on. The meal plans are easy and flexible . Lots of flavor and beautiful and with the way the writers meal plans work I am never hungry except in the kitchen when I start preparing the dishes..  This is a new look at an ancient way of eating.  I'm hooked and this is the way we will eat from now on Thank you John.  You have made us healthy and happy.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2012

    So easy a caveman could do it...

    "Paleo for Beginners" seeks to offer an alternative to diets that are vague, unrealistic, and based upon questionable nutritional information. This diet takes what we know about the diet of pre-agricultural humankind and adapts it to fit into a modern lifestyle. The result is not only easier to follow and healthier than many other fad diets, but also backed by science (peer reviewed in the New England Journal of Medicine). This book also offers a handy list of foods to choose, and a variety of tasty recipes. Highly recommended.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2012

    I bought this book when I heard about the Paleo diet, and found

    I bought this book when I heard about the Paleo diet, and found it very informative and easy to use. The book concisely explained how our ancestors ate differently from the way we eat now, and provided a list of foods as examples (I never knew grains and legumes are not natural!). I tried out a couple of the recipes from the book, using only paleo food and natural herb seasoning, and found that it really isn't that hard to eat the way our ancestors did. We just need to educate ourselves about the food we eat. Highly recommend this book to anyone interested in learning about the paleo diet!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2012

    Forget the Iceberg Wedge, I¿ll take the Rib Eye!

    I don’t like counting calories and I don’t like eating rabbit food. The Paleo’s high protein, low sugar seemed to be more my style. It took less than an hour to read John Chatham’s essentials about the Paleo diet and become convinced this is a good plan. Chatham talks as if he is in the room with me. He explains why and how, gives comprehensive do and don’t lists and assists with a one-week transitional strategy – all succinctly and easily comprehended. Read the book, reorganize the pantry, shop for all the meat, seafood, fruit and veges you want and you’re ready to go.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Paleo for Beginners was easy to comprehend, easy-to-apply, and l

    Paleo for Beginners was easy to comprehend, easy-to-apply, and laid out all the basics for me.  It is a no-fluff introduction to the world of Paleo.  I found the quiz, goal-setting help, and activities to be especially crucial for me in the week leading up to my transition to the Paleo diet.  Chatam exposes how Paleo methods work to combat metabolic syndrome- a group of risk factors that increase the odds of developing diseases like type 2 diabetes, stroke, and heart disease.  The recipes are excellent, and easy to follow (even for someone like me who is a dunce in the kitchen).  It is the perfect companion for the busy-body looking to change their way of eating, and change their life.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    This is a really good starting point if you want to know about e

    This is a really good starting point if you want to know about eating Paleo. The overall description of the benefits and reasoning behind paleo is covered in this book, and I think he does a good job laying it all out. My questions were all answered. It’s got an extensive discussion of what foods to eat, like all of the high quality meat, fish and seafood. It talks about how to shop to your advantage, and includes several menus and recipes. I also appreciated knowing about the health benefits that come along with eating this way.  Worth a look.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    You don¿t have to be a caveman to eat like one! Paleo for Beginn

    You don’t have to be a caveman to eat like one!
    Paleo for Beginners is super helpful way to get into the Paleo diet. While I was initially skeptical of the idea that eating like a caveman would actually help me lose weight and improve my health, John Chatham presents a strong argument for giving up processed foods and carbohydrates for the lean meats, fish, fruits and vegetables that our ancestors ate. Chatham details numerous health benefits, and provides several guides for making the transition as painless as possible, such as the places to find Paleo food in your local grocery store and recipes. My favorite is the Chicken Avocado Wraps. Delectable!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Paleo for Beginners gives you an in depth analysis about the Pal

    Paleo for Beginners gives you an in depth analysis about the Paleo Diet. The author gives scientific and historical proof that modern humans are just not equipped to digest the modern diet consisting of beans and grains and sugar. Instead he posits a more ancient way of eating, the way we ate back in the Paleolithic era, before the advent of modern agriculture. The book lays out a bunch of easy to make recipes that are nutritious and delicious.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2013

    The simple recipes are made even easier with lists of proper foo

    The simple recipes are made even easier with lists of proper foods, such as many different meats, fruits and vegetables, list of foods to avoid and tips of where to find quality ingredients, even a small quiz to help you personalize your diet. Not only will you get helpful information on different foods groups and how they fit into the Paleo Diet, but Chatham also helps you through the change in very down to earth way, with steps before you begin to help you prepare for the switch to your new diet and setting up a reward system for yourself as you go.
    Losing weight, and feeling healthy while you do it wont be a problem with this lifestyle switch. A handful of different recipes you can use, or change to fit your own style. Diet planning with fresh organic foods not only helps you lose weight but also help your digestion and boost your immune system, keeping you healthy longer. This book is the perfect stepping stone to keep you going. Having healthy body and a healthy mind keeps you feeling good about yourself and John Chatham helps you along, building up and integrating you into the beginning of your new Paleo lifestyle

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    I had heard a lot of good things about the Paleo diet, so I deci

    I had heard a lot of good things about the Paleo diet, so I decided to give John Chatham’s Paleo for Beginners: Essetials for Getting Started a try. After two months on the program, I have really enjoyed this diet. The best part is there is no calorie counting or portion control necessary. When you’ve had a Paleo meal, you feel full. And it’s healthy, too. Chatham has created a true beginners guide to Paleo, including pitfalls to avoid, and how to adopt the necessary mindset to succeed with this diet. It’s scientific, it’s healthy, and it works.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    I recently purchased the e-Reader version of Paleo For Beginners

    I recently purchased the e-Reader version of Paleo For Beginners and was pleased to see that it contains a veritable treasure trove of excellent diet advice in a tight little package. I can’t recommend the recipes enough, particularly the one for Zesty Lime Chicken, which I’ve made a couple times now and it always gets great reviews from my family. What’s more, the book is written in an easy, conversational style, and goes out of its way to motivate you on your dietary journey. Highly recommended.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    The Paleo diet heralds the wisdom of our cave-dwelling ancestors

    The Paleo diet heralds the wisdom of our cave-dwelling ancestors by sticking to classic foods we’re *meant* to eat and avoiding modern substitutes. There’s no sugar, dairy or grain, but you can have all the yummy lean meats and fish you want. Chatham’s knack for distilling diet plans to their necessary essence is fully on display: his explanation of the Paleo concept and how it works can only help folks stick with it, and the suggested meals won’t revolutionize your kitchen. His supportive, psychological subtext helps mentally prepare readers what amounts to a philosophical change about food.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    Want to follow a diet but don¿t have much time to plan your meal

    Want to follow a diet but don’t have much time to plan your meals? Are you looking to get healthy overall, and lose some weight in the process? Tom Chatham’s Paleo Diet for Beginners maps out shopping guides and menus, as well as explaining how our bodies are actually adapted to eating a pre-agricultural diet. By eating more meats, seeds, fruits and vegetables and avoiding processed foods and sugars, I’m already feeling great and noticing a difference in my weight. Our bodies are genetically adapted to eating certain things, so cutting the unnecessary and focusing on foods our bodies are used to is the smartest way to get healthy. If you’re not looking for another fad diet, give The Paleo Diet for Beginners a shot. It’s a caveman classic and you won’t regret it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Paleo Diet of the past can help weight loss in the present! Pa

    Paleo Diet of the past can help weight loss in the present!

    Paleo Diet Solution aims to replicate the eating habits of our ancestors during the Paleolithic era. This includes consuming large quantities of animal fats and proteins but only small portions of carbohydrates. The Paleo diet has been shown to lower blood sugar levels, decrease the risk of diabetes and promote weight loss. I was surprised by the variety of foods allowed on the diet and the recipes in the back look incredibly simple and easy to make. I cannot wait to begin this diet!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Only got sample

    Was trying to purchase charged me 6.95 and can only view the table of content!

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2013

    John Chatham has written extensively on the Paleo diet, and in t

    John Chatham has written extensively on the Paleo diet, and in this book he summarizes the dietary rules of that system, producing a simple way to approach a sophisticated diet. The book is a combined cookbook and checklist, and the author makes sure to include plenty of cheap, easy to prepare ingredients, one thing that makes Chatham's book much more useful than alternative Paleo diets which expect you go go out and find alligator for every meal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Dr. Walter Voegtlin¿s Paleo diet has had surmounting evidence o

    Dr. Walter Voegtlin’s Paleo diet has had surmounting evidence of health benefits throughout the past several decades, and no one provides a better guide on the diet than Chatham’s Paleo for Beginners. By giving concise food lists, dozens of recipes, and the amazing scientific evidence which backs it, Chatham can truly help you lose weight and align your body with the ancient, natural dietary conditions it craves. I highly recommend this read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2013

    There¿s something wrong with our modern food system. Obesity, ca

    There’s something wrong with our modern food system. Obesity, cancer, diabetes…these are all recent phenomena. Counting calories? Our ancestors never had to! It makes sense to eat the high quality food that our bodies have evolved with. This book is easy to understand, and has practical advice for how to eat paleo style from the resources available to us. Because of this, I’ve found eating this way is easy. I still get to eat my favorite foods!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2013

    Love that the FREE sample is the first 8 pages - of which are th

    Love that the FREE sample is the first 8 pages - of which are the table of contents!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4