Customer Reviews for

Palisades Park

Average Rating 4
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I read this 422 page Nook Book in one day! I visited Palisades

I read this 422 page Nook Book in one day! I visited Palisades Park back in 1966 and just that one night's memory has instilled such a happy memory that it will never go away. I enjoyed reading about the Polish-American Stopka family and about their loyalty to Palisad...
I read this 422 page Nook Book in one day! I visited Palisades Park back in 1966 and just that one night's memory has instilled such a happy memory that it will never go away. I enjoyed reading about the Polish-American Stopka family and about their loyalty to Palisades Park with the operation of their Saratoga French Fries stand. The family also had their tribulations especially with Adele deserting her husband and two children at such a vulnerable times in their lives. The book encompasses a legacy from 1922 until 1971 when the amusement park met its unfortunate demise. The year 1944 brought on two disastrous fires - one at Luna Park in Coney Island the other at Palisades Park. While reading this book, I could feel once again the joy of going to an old-fashioned amusement park. Oh, I learned not to go swimming until June 24th.

posted by CasperAZ on April 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Don't recommend

Boring read. This book is not in the same league as his other books.

posted by 14337085 on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I read this 422 page Nook Book in one day! I visited Palisades

    I read this 422 page Nook Book in one day! I visited Palisades Park back in 1966 and just that one night's memory has instilled such a happy memory that it will never go away. I enjoyed reading about the Polish-American Stopka family and about their loyalty to Palisades Park with the operation of their Saratoga French Fries stand. The family also had their tribulations especially with Adele deserting her husband and two children at such a vulnerable times in their lives. The book encompasses a legacy from 1922 until 1971 when the amusement park met its unfortunate demise. The year 1944 brought on two disastrous fires - one at Luna Park in Coney Island the other at Palisades Park. While reading this book, I could feel once again the joy of going to an old-fashioned amusement park. Oh, I learned not to go swimming until June 24th.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    Excellent read

    This is the second of Alan Brennert's books that I have read and enjoyed. Although the story centers on the daughter, Toni, the mother's voice comes through as a champion of her time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    CAPTIVATING NOSTALGIA.

    “Evenings at the Stopka home, as in most homes in America, revolved around the welcoming voice of the radio—a tall, mahogany-veneer Philco console, standing solemn as a church organ in the corner, the family gathered round in secular congregation.”—page 97/423

    With his third novel, PALISADES PARK, Alan Brennert has cemented his place among the twenty-or-so of my ‘top-ten’ all time favorite storytellers. He writes, in the Author’s Notes, “This novel is a love letter to a cherished part of my childhood.”—page 414/423. It is, indeed, a love letter, a delightful and warm love story of wondrous times and places, and of days gone by.

    New Jersey is a very long way from Hawaii (the setting for Alan’s first two beautiful novels), and I’ll admit to a twinge of disappointment when I first learned that his third would be set in Bergen County, New Jersey. I should have known better. Mr. Brennert’s storytelling doesn’t disappoint. It captivates, it enthralls, it uplifts, and it brings a tear to the eye; but it never disappoints. To tens of thousands of ‘Jersey’ kids, over seven decades—myself included on at least two occasions(1)—Palisades Park was every bit of a paradise, as Hawaii could ever have been, to their imaginations.

    Thank-you, A.B., for sharing the wonder and amazement. I could smell the French Fries.

    Recommendation: Read only if you love reading terrific stories.

    “I look like Emmett Kelly!”—page 101/423

    NOOKbook from Barnes & Noble, 423 pages

    (1)P.S. In the early 1960s my brother took me on my first ever, and only, (ten-minute) helicopter ride, along the Hudson River, out of Palisades Park. We had a spectacular view of the New York City skyline. During that same visit I saw Timi Yuro, one of my favorite vocalists at the time, perform. A decade earlier, I think it was at Palisades Park that I saw an act called The Riding Lion—a roaring (albeit perhaps a bit sleepy) lion sat in the sidecar of a motorcycle and was driven up and around the vertical wall of a large wooden cylinder, closer and closer to the spectators along the rim at the top. If anyone else remembers either Timi Yuro or The Riding Lion… let me hear from you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2013

    I read this book in 2 days. Really enjoyed it & I,too kept g

    I read this book in 2 days. Really enjoyed it & I,too kept going to my computer to see some of the acts were real people [they were!]
    I'm a Jersey girl & have always lived "down the shore". Kinda wish part of my childhood included Palisades Park. So far I've read all this author's books & he's battin" a thousand!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Great book

    Thoroughly enjoyed this story. It was interesting to hear about the history of the park and the people who worked there. The characters were all very likeable. Just a very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Great for someone whose "home" is still in northern NJ though living out-of-state at the present time.

    I especially enjoyed Palisades Park as it brought back many fond memories of my youth. The author used local references such as Hirams, Callahans, names of streets, areas, etc. that only a former resident would recognize. A trip to Palisades Park was a great outing for the youth of that time. i am sure that I will reread it just to bring back those old memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    What a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    You definitely must check out this wonderful book.

    My husband, who is not necessarily a reader, finished this book in just a matter of days. He was glued to it. Having spent part of his young life in Edgewater, NJ, he was so thrilled to read the story, and learn of times and events that were way before his time!
    Both he and I, spent one summer working in the park, during our summer vacation. What a great part-time job for a high schooler!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1