Customer Reviews for

Palo Alto: Stories

Average Rating 3.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beware the Mind Slime

Replace the 80s time period with the 90s; swap the coke for booze and pot; then trade the hip LA setting for a milder (yet still surprisingly debaucherous) one; and you have James Franco's "Less Than Zero." And that's cool, because channeling Bret Easton Ellis is a fine...
Replace the 80s time period with the 90s; swap the coke for booze and pot; then trade the hip LA setting for a milder (yet still surprisingly debaucherous) one; and you have James Franco's "Less Than Zero." And that's cool, because channeling Bret Easton Ellis is a fine achievement in my book. There's also a distinct Holden Caulfield-esque "Why do I exist?" vibe going on. And while the multiple narrators were a bit more confusing than revelatory, there's certainly no doubt that The Franc can write. My favorite line: "I can feel their mind-killing slime thought rubbing on me and corroding me, and killing me."

posted by Scully_Mac on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wtf

This book is all over the place. Poorly written and a waste of 149 pages

posted by Anonymous on June 15, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Beware the Mind Slime

    Replace the 80s time period with the 90s; swap the coke for booze and pot; then trade the hip LA setting for a milder (yet still surprisingly debaucherous) one; and you have James Franco's "Less Than Zero." And that's cool, because channeling Bret Easton Ellis is a fine achievement in my book. There's also a distinct Holden Caulfield-esque "Why do I exist?" vibe going on. And while the multiple narrators were a bit more confusing than revelatory, there's certainly no doubt that The Franc can write. My favorite line: "I can feel their mind-killing slime thought rubbing on me and corroding me, and killing me."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    james franco rocks.

    great book! james franco does a great job showing how harmful peer presure can be.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Wtf

    This book is all over the place. Poorly written and a waste of 149 pages

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    I don't like to read but I liked this!

    Such an amazing book! I liked the cliff hangers and sadness and descriptions and everything! This book could make a great T.V show. It would be done kind of like cold case and how each episode was about a different murder case or something. This could be just the stories of this town. Maybe some stories can be more then one episode but I have a feeling a lot of people would watch it because it is unexpected but exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    Wow, I can't believe anyone would consider this good writing. It

    Wow, I can't believe anyone would consider this good writing. It's racist and exploits young women. Plus it's just bad writing. 



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    No, do not bother.....at all!!!

    Couldnt make it past page 58, just horrible.my 5 year old could write better.im not trying to be mean, it was just that bad. There was no depth, to much jumping around and i never felt invested in any characters. I love james and that is why i bought the book, even though other reviews warned me not to. Please dont make the same mistake. If he was not famous,this never would have made it past the publishers garbadge can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2014

    james franco is amazing! I like how he formed this book into a

    james franco is amazing!
    I like how he formed this book into a few short stories about youth and growing up. it was a book about happy and sad time. normal life issues. it interest me to wondering what was go to happen next. james is an talented and amazing man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Wow

    I'm not sure what I was expecting out of this book, but I must have been a fool to believe it would actually be readable. It's all over the place, choppy sentences, random crap. One story inparticular just really lost me. If you can make it through 'Camp' without a single 'wait, what?' Then kudos to you. May I have my $2 back?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    read this book on the beach in maine, though it seemed unrealist

    read this book on the beach in maine, though it seemed unrealistic and far fetched, i loved the novel. it was a very quick read and i appreciated the brutal honesty in franco's words.
    my personal favorite part was the epilogue in which franco wrote his personal thoughts on the book being turned into a movie.
    now I want to see the movie... i would recommend this book to a friend :) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    so so

    although the story kept me reading it was all over the place..i felt confused a lot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    Great read!

    Very light, entertaining read!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    I want to love this but...

    Well I did not hate it but it was not a book that I would read again for the fun of it. I am glad I read it and I will watch the movie because I love james franco on screen. The stories remind me of teens from my youth maybe not specific ones but little pieces of many. Some of the stories sound like the narrator is trying to use big words and pretty descriptions to narrate their life.. maybe to make it seem more poetic or grand. I'm not sure if that was to show how that teen saw his world personally or what. Some of the stories did suck me in in a good way while others I just read with passing amusement. The charactors and stories may not be pretty or even decent but they could be real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Palo Alto

    Very well put togther, much of this is a very accurate description on teens all over the world trying to become themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    Awesome. Writing style is simple but it was fun to read!

    Awesome. Writing style is simple but it was fun to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

    There is defiantly a Catcher in the Rye feel to this book, if yo

    There is defiantly a Catcher in the Rye feel to this book, if you like that then you'll enjoy this very much. I was never a big fan but I would say Palo Alto does have some good qualities. Not my favorite. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

     

     

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Incredible

    So real

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Good book

    Having my obsession over james franco, of corse I'm going to read his book. The stories are all different making it not so boring. I liked the book because its tons of different stories and I enjoy the style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Not worth my time

    I like James Franco's movies, and so I was intrigued when our book club chose his book of short stories as our next book review. However, I really disliked this book - the writing style, the characters, the darkness of the stories themselves. There were no redeeming qualities in this book for me. It was a waste of my time, and now I have those awful stories in my head.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3