Customer Reviews for

Pandemonium (Enhanced Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 743 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(518)

4 Star

(144)

3 Star

(44)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

YES YES YES!

I cannot WAIT for the next book! I threw the book across the ROOM when I read the ending! Team Alex, all the way!

posted by ABookZilla on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

256 pages and minimum wordcount

Okay. I bought this book this morning when it was released. I read it in 3 hours. These books keep getting shorter and shorter. Only 256 pages. And look what they charge us! An average paperback is around 6-7 bucks. I cant loan this either. Isnt SOMEONE GOING TO STAN...
Okay. I bought this book this morning when it was released. I read it in 3 hours. These books keep getting shorter and shorter. Only 256 pages. And look what they charge us! An average paperback is around 6-7 bucks. I cant loan this either. Isnt SOMEONE GOING TO STAND UP AND DO SOMETHING about this, or are we all going to just let then continue to rip us off? Im ready to sell my nook tablet and go back to REAL books. Do a word count on normal books. They are TWICE as long as this one. This should be called a novella. The word count on each of these pages is HALF of a normal paperback!

Oh, this story is pretty good. It deserves half of 5 stars because of the 256 PAGES!!!!!!!!!

And the book "Hana" is supposed to be released today but it still hasnt been released as of 9:30 pm.

Sorry for venting but this was the last straw, and unless we all try and do something and speak up...in another year or so, we will be paying twice what we do now and get maybe 100 pages and minimal wordcount. Just fed up.

posted by deborah56 on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 743 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    Ummm....

    I hated the ending of the last book and to be honest I'm not even sure that I want to read this one.

    3 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    WAHHH

    I absolutely cannot wait for this book to come out! It's so far away! :'(

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Amazing!

    Absoultely without a doubt the best book I've ever read! Lena's story yanked at my heartstrings and kept me on edge the entire time. The ending left me with only two words and jumping around my room in excitement, "Holy Crap!" I can't wait until the next book comes out! Lauren Oliver is a truly amazing writer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Can we curse on this thing? Cuz if we could, i would.

    Awesome read! SPOILER! Ok julian needs to go back to his cozy little operating table and take what was coming to him like a man. We all know lena only loved him cuz he was a replacement for alex and she said it herself that she got them confused. And if you deny this, got bac and LOOK IT UP. Cuz you obviously didnt read it well. Alex practically comitted suicide so she could live. Just cuz julian can scream " lena! Let her go!" Doesnt make him super man.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Meh

    I was disapointed when i reached the end of the book i hate the fact that there is a love triangle... ive seen this plot used so many times already that i feel its getting played out.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    It was so-so for me...

    To be honest, I expected more from this novel. I enjoyed the first book Delirium so much that I was certain I'd live this one as well. But unfortunately, I found it to be predictable and somewhat disappointing, especially at the end. At the risk of spoiling the book for others, I'll only say that I felt the whole Julian thing was too scripted. I didn't feel what I was hoping I'd feel. Julian was just that predictable character, and I wanted more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Team Alex!!!!!!!

    Ok i LOVED this book it had and awesome storyline the now and then was good she comprinded it well. I thought that julian is just a BAD guy 4 lena! I hope she relises that she NEEDS 2 ONLY LOVE ALEX! If u read deliruim u will have a beyyer understandin please LOVE this Book. TEAM ALEX:) :p

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Write Lauren Oliver!

    This series I found even better than the Twilight series and The Hunger Games! I really hope Lena chooses Alex over Julian. If the author decides Julian I'm going to be dissapointed beyond words. I emailed this to the Lauren Oliver and I hope anyone who's with me about Alex will email her as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    I hate to love this book

    I'm completely disappointed in the love triangle of this book. The whole of Delirium is about the sacrifice and promise of love, how it supposedly makes you happy, and how Lena would rather die than have her love for Alex be talen away from her.

    Along comes Julian, and the entire message Oliver sent us in Delirium is shattered. What happened to you Lena? Because while Alex did everything to make you happy, you fell in love with someone else.

    "I love you. Remember. They cannot take it."

    Well apparently someone can.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    I have to admit. At the beginning i was totally confused with the now and then bit later on the peices fit together. I am a HUGE fan of lauren oliver and her books before i fall ,delirium, and now pandemonium! This book is full to the brim eith romance actiin suspence and at the end a cliff hanger that killed me!! I was sooooooo shocked i dropped the book!!! And i NEVER drop my books because i adore them so much. The best book in the world but you have to read delirium first. I promise you will love it!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    Perfect. In. Every. Way.

    Arrest me and throw me in the Crypts until I rot; I am desperately and hopelessly in love with this series and no Cure could ever change that. Firstly, much praise for Lauren Oliver. Her writing is...lush; a word that kept popping into my mind as I read. And beautiful, another word always on the edges of my peripheral vision as I followed Lena on her journey of redemption, attempting against hope to fix past mistakes and find her way. I won't give anything up for spoilage, but the ending will leave you both exhilaratingly happy and endlessly heartbroken. Will Lena ever find peace in the chaos? I almost want to say to wait to read this series until the last book is released; the waiting is unbearable! I give this series a heartfelt five stars.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    SPOLIER

    Just when you finally accept Alex's death....HES BACK!! (Last pg in book though)...i cant wait to find out how shes going to decide between Alex and Juilan. Not sure who im for yet. CANT WAIT FOR BOOK 3 :)

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Soo awesome

    I was so sad to have to wait for a third book. I love this series, and have been telling all my fellow readers to get it. Another awesome book, that cured my sadness when i finished pandemonium is Under the Never sky. Now i am dying for her next one too. Same genre, so those who need soething as good to fill their void should check it out!!! And side note....give the setting of"worlds" in under never sky patience..i whipped through it..and now its still stuck in my head....

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Better than Delerium

    Way better than the first. It moves much faster and contains more action -- definitely more engrossing. Now, I just hope it is not too long before the next book is released... Wouldn't want too much time to take the excitement out of the wait. :-)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    It was an ok book

    I thought it was ok... it was not what i was expecting and im a little dissapointed with the book and its ending! :( i was expecting a fairytale ending for lena and alex, but instead i got a crazy love tringle like the twilight books...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    I thought the first book was great! It was well written and a beautiful story. The onlybthing is itbwasbsomewhat predictable, the author seemed to be trying to hard to foreshadow and gave much away :( i loved te characters and premise though it was a lot like the uglies

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Obsessed

    I really love this series and live for ya distopian novels thanks to my best friend kirsten whi got ne hooked on them my first one being the divergent serued which was fantastic and i recommend you read but id say this one is pretty equal but ill dtilk akways have a special place in my heart for divergent. Lauren oliver is fantastic at writing to where it almost poetic and everything flows tigether beautifully plus i ciuld nit help but live the fact that lena is alot like myself i just wish i had an alex like her goid reviews all around this book is amazing happy reading to alk

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    Even though I¿ve had this book for months, I only just got to re

    Even though I’ve had this book for months, I only just got to reading it now, and that’s because Lili asked me to read it for the YA trivia scavenger hunt. I as a little late finishing it which was most unfortunate because it was a super quick read. I was able to fall into the world that Oliver created almost seamlessly. I will admit that I was a little thrown because of the flip flop in time, but I was still eager to dive into the story.

    As I said, there was this flip flop between the Now Lena who was a part of the resistance who was working hard to stop the “DFA” and the Old Lena who had just escaped Portland. I was a little confused, but once I realized what was happening, it was a really great way to keep the story moving. Rather than go in chronological order, we could see where she wound up and a little bit of how she got there. There were parts that didn’t need to be gone over because there was this nearly two months time span that went from when she escaped to when the camp started to move.

    I liked that it was a throwback to how the Native American’s and other cultures had to live during the winters and how they had to migrate to keep warmth and to keep finding food and to survive. I loved that Raven pushed Lena to be the best that she could be and to not be a big baby about leaving Portland. I was somewhat irritated by Lena at the start of the book. Although it was tragic for her to have lost Alex, I was somewhat annoyed by how she just lamented over him rather than take advantage of the life that he gave her.

    I was also annoyed by the Instalove. And yes, there was instalove, not the worst case that I have seen by far, but Lena has this whole Stockholm syndrome with Julian after they are taken captive together. I will also admit that we don’t know how long they are together, but they start using the L word, (And I’m being generous) by week 3. For someone who was grieving over Alex for months, the fact that she got over him so fast was incredible. I would say she was more lonely than she was in love. Even when she tried to fight her feelings for Julian by thinking about Alex, it hardly does anything for her. I would hardly want to be in a relationship with Lena because it seems she drops you like a hot cake when someone new talks to her.

    I’m interested to see where this is going to go for book 3. There was a lot of dissent and a lot of fighting that was prompted for the next book, but I’m not sure that its going to be enough to tear down the entire Deliria Free world. I’m also interested to see if there is going to be a flash forward like Suzanne Collins did for Katniss, so we could see what type of an impact that she and the rest of the resisters had on the world and the “cure.”

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    So much better than Divergent

    I really like this series. If you liked Divergent then you will probably like these books. Ithink they are better than the Divergent book. Iv liked all the books Ive read from this author so far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    End

    This series was wrapped up beautifully. I was surprised, but it really portrayed its uniqueness. I totally recommend this entire series if you are into dystopian societies with rebellions and romance and adventure. I'm glad I was persuaded to read this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 743 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 38