Customer Reviews for

Pandemonium (Delirium Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 763 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(526)

4 Star

(154)

3 Star

(46)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

45 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

Pandemonium

FIRST OF ALL!!! If you haven't read Delirium you must go and read it right now! It is defiantly one of the best books I have ever read in my life. And this book is not far from it. I received this book from NCTE from Harper! Thank you so much. I could not wait to r...
FIRST OF ALL!!! If you haven't read Delirium you must go and read it right now! It is defiantly one of the best books I have ever read in my life. And this book is not far from it. I received this book from NCTE from Harper! Thank you so much. I could not wait to read this book. For the last couple weeks I have been told that I have to read it. That it is amazing! And boy is it ever.

The book starts where the first book finishes. The chapters are split in Now and Then. You are learning about Lena's experiences on finding herself. She is trying to figure out who she is because Lena is not the normal Lena anymore. She is different because she has to be. She is in the Wilds and she is trying to survive. She is learning to do things that she has never done before to pull her weight with the Wilds. I really like that Lauren incorporated this into the story. It showed her struggle with what she had to do. It showed that she was having a hard time dealing with the death of Alex.

But during this you find out about Julian. Julian is a very important. He is about to be cured and he is doing it because this is what his family wants. But there are some hold ups because Julian and Lena are kidnapped and held hostage. They are going to do anything to get out and escape to the Wilds. Oh but have no fear....there are twist and turns! Boy are there twist and turns!

This is my favorite book of the series so far! I know that we still have book three so I need to wait unit that book comes out to make my decision, but this is defiantly up there for book of the series! Maybe book of the year....but ask me again in December...:)

posted by lovepassionbooks on February 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

256 pages and minimum wordcount

Okay. I bought this book this morning when it was released. I read it in 3 hours. These books keep getting shorter and shorter. Only 256 pages. And look what they charge us! An average paperback is around 6-7 bucks. I cant loan this either. Isnt SOMEONE GOING TO STAN...
Okay. I bought this book this morning when it was released. I read it in 3 hours. These books keep getting shorter and shorter. Only 256 pages. And look what they charge us! An average paperback is around 6-7 bucks. I cant loan this either. Isnt SOMEONE GOING TO STAND UP AND DO SOMETHING about this, or are we all going to just let then continue to rip us off? Im ready to sell my nook tablet and go back to REAL books. Do a word count on normal books. They are TWICE as long as this one. This should be called a novella. The word count on each of these pages is HALF of a normal paperback!

Oh, this story is pretty good. It deserves half of 5 stars because of the 256 PAGES!!!!!!!!!

And the book "Hana" is supposed to be released today but it still hasnt been released as of 9:30 pm.

Sorry for venting but this was the last straw, and unless we all try and do something and speak up...in another year or so, we will be paying twice what we do now and get maybe 100 pages and minimal wordcount. Just fed up.

posted by deborah56 on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 526 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pandemonium

    FIRST OF ALL!!! If you haven't read Delirium you must go and read it right now! It is defiantly one of the best books I have ever read in my life. And this book is not far from it. I received this book from NCTE from Harper! Thank you so much. I could not wait to read this book. For the last couple weeks I have been told that I have to read it. That it is amazing! And boy is it ever.

    The book starts where the first book finishes. The chapters are split in Now and Then. You are learning about Lena's experiences on finding herself. She is trying to figure out who she is because Lena is not the normal Lena anymore. She is different because she has to be. She is in the Wilds and she is trying to survive. She is learning to do things that she has never done before to pull her weight with the Wilds. I really like that Lauren incorporated this into the story. It showed her struggle with what she had to do. It showed that she was having a hard time dealing with the death of Alex.

    But during this you find out about Julian. Julian is a very important. He is about to be cured and he is doing it because this is what his family wants. But there are some hold ups because Julian and Lena are kidnapped and held hostage. They are going to do anything to get out and escape to the Wilds. Oh but have no fear....there are twist and turns! Boy are there twist and turns!

    This is my favorite book of the series so far! I know that we still have book three so I need to wait unit that book comes out to make my decision, but this is defiantly up there for book of the series! Maybe book of the year....but ask me again in December...:)

    45 out of 56 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2011

    YES YES YES!

    I cannot WAIT for the next book! I threw the book across the ROOM when I read the ending! Team Alex, all the way!

    42 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Alex Alex

    Alex you better not be dead

    29 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Alex better not be dead.

    Like many of you guys, I desperately want Alex to be alive. I have high hopes for this book and yet im so weary of it. What if Alex really is dead? What is its another love triangle? I have had enough of love triangles. I just want Alex and Lena. Ive read the preview of at the end of Delirium. Lena believes that Alex is dead, but I don't. There's a chance he is, but no official confirmation. Ugh, this is driving me crazy. I cant wait!

    25 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained all the way through.

    23 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Cant wait!

    If alex is dead i will personally burn every copy of these books and rewrite them myself. Not really. I wil be very heartbroken though. Delirium was great and i expect this one and Hana to be the same. :D

    14 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    While waiting for my copy of Pandemonium to arrive I continuousl

    While waiting for my copy of Pandemonium to arrive I continuously saw reviews that highlighted phrases like "even better than Delirium" and I laughed. Better than Delirium, ha, no such thing. I am elated to announce that I Carole McKenzie, was wrong.

    Pandemonium is thrilling, captivating, and everything a sequel should be. Thank you Lauren Oliver for creating a series for me to lose sleep over. Thank you for creating a sequel that is so brilliant I need the next book right now before I lose my mind. Oh my, am I going to lose my mind!

    In Pandemonium we follow Lena through then and now. The then being when she crossed over into the Wilds and now being the present. Each chapter goes back and forth and Lauren Oliver knows where to stop and start each new tale in a way that is perfect. Lena's story is powerful, meaningful, and amazing.

    The end literally stole my breath away and gave me what felt like a heart attack. This is no little cliffhanger, it is the mother of all cliffhangers. I cried at the end, cried!

    I will say no more because if you read Delirium you've probably already read Pandemonium or it's sitting on your bookshelf crying for attention. And if you haven't read Delirium I hope i have convinced you to give it a chance, because this series is not one to skip over.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    PAINFUL WAIT!

    *SPOILER ALERT*I loved this book! Perfect amount of action to balance with the romance! There were endless twists and they really did take me by surprise! I was hoping throughout the book that Alex would come back, but that didn't stop me from liking the fact that Lena found Julian. But as the ending clearly shows, he's back and that made me so happy I almost cried. But honestly, I'm also scared! The book described Alex as "different" and "hard" while Julian is her forever. I have no clue what to expect in the next book. (Not your typical love triangle) I WANT THE THIRD BOOK NOW!!!!!!!! HDSJYYSHFKENMX

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Wow!

    I spent the first book falling in love with Alex and the 2nd falling in love with Julian, and now I am torn!! That ending is going to make me slowly go insane until Requiem comes out next year. Either way, someone is going to get hurt, and that makes me sad. Thank you Lauren Oliver for making these characters so real to me. I have never felt so connected. One of the best books I have ever read :)

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    to Mrs. Oliver

    Please please please let Lena end up with Alex!!!!! They are sooo cute together and when I found Lena was falling for Julian I decided i hated him. Team Alex 4ever!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Amazing

    The "Delirium" was amazing. I felt the story line was very sneaky. It kind of krept along, subtley intriging and then BOOM it tugs at you heat strings and leaves you haunted for days. Truely a great book. I tear up everytime I talk about it . I am absolutely DYING from anticipation for " Pandemonium ".

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    FANTABULOUS!

    Pademonium was amazing! I read it in a day and well it changed my life... maybe that's an exageration, but the book is the best thing I've read since Harry Potter ( well actually since Delirium). When I finished it, I was caught between relief, tears, and wanting to scream! What a cliffhanger!
    Team Alex all the way! <3

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Phew. Lauren Oliver really had her work cut out for her in this

    Phew. Lauren Oliver really had her work cut out for her in this follow-up to, Delirium. Not only do we see Lana's character grow immensely and really come into her own, but we also see the introduction of an almost entirely new cast of characters.

    There are so many things that I would love to go into about Alex, Julian, and Lana's mom...but that would be giving away just too many potential spoilers; and it would totally ruin the experience for anyone about to read the book.

    The book is written in Lana's present reality, but it also flashes back to scenes from her past. Take your time reading this book as it follows Lana from &quot;Now&quot; (as a member of the Resistance in NY) to &quot;Then&quot; (as she rediscovers who she really is in the Wilds). Lauren Oliver packed a lot of punch in this book and, at times, you can almost feel the emotion rolling off of the pages like a thick fog. You will feel the weight pressed against your chest at times during this book because poor Lana is put to so many tests, both emotionally and physically.

    Let me just say that by the end of the book I was (literally) sitting on the edge of my bed, wide-eyed, and by the last words, I was cursing out loud (and, I will admit I wanted to smack Lauren Oliver - sorry Lauren, I love you!, but that was my first reaction) because the book was over and I cannot believe that Lauren Oliver expects us to sit and wait until February, 2013 for Requiem to come out so we can find out what happens next!!!!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    (:

    Im gonna pee my pants, i want now ):

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    ZOMG!

    OH MY GOD!!! That ending! Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh love triangle time!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    WAHHH

    I absolutely cannot wait for this book to come out! It's so far away! :'(

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Amazing!

    Absoultely without a doubt the best book I've ever read! Lena's story yanked at my heartstrings and kept me on edge the entire time. The ending left me with only two words and jumping around my room in excitement, "Holy Crap!" I can't wait until the next book comes out! Lauren Oliver is a truly amazing writer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Team Alex!!!!!!!

    Ok i LOVED this book it had and awesome storyline the now and then was good she comprinded it well. I thought that julian is just a BAD guy 4 lena! I hope she relises that she NEEDS 2 ONLY LOVE ALEX! If u read deliruim u will have a beyyer understandin please LOVE this Book. TEAM ALEX:) :p

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Write Lauren Oliver!

    This series I found even better than the Twilight series and The Hunger Games! I really hope Lena chooses Alex over Julian. If the author decides Julian I'm going to be dissapointed beyond words. I emailed this to the Lauren Oliver and I hope anyone who's with me about Alex will email her as well.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    I have to admit. At the beginning i was totally confused with the now and then bit later on the peices fit together. I am a HUGE fan of lauren oliver and her books before i fall ,delirium, and now pandemonium! This book is full to the brim eith romance actiin suspence and at the end a cliff hanger that killed me!! I was sooooooo shocked i dropped the book!!! And i NEVER drop my books because i adore them so much. The best book in the world but you have to read delirium first. I promise you will love it!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 526 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27