Customer Reviews for

Pandora Gets Jealous (Pandora Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 145 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!!

I thought it was a great book. I read it in 2 days!! I thought it was funny and interesting. I can't wait until the next one comes out!

posted by Anonymous on April 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Anonymous

This is a very good book for preteen girls.

posted by Anonymous on June 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by JodiG. for TeensReadToo.com

    In the times of ancient Greece, humans worshipped the Gods of Olympus. But there came a time when Zeus grew angry that humans weren't as reverent of the gods as they should be. And so, he took fire from the earth as punishment, plunging the earth into darkness. The Titan, Prometheus, took pity on man. He stole the fire from Mt. Olympus and returned it to earth. For his actions, Prometheus suffered many punishments. One of them was a box that Prometheus was condemned to care for. Inside the box the gods had placed evils and plagues that should never be unleashed on the earth or they would cause unbearable anguish. Along with the plagues, Athena placed one gift; Hope. The box was sealed and Prometheus took it into his care. "Prometheus was tormented and troubled. And then he married. And then he had a daughter. And then...she turned thirteen." <BR/><BR/>Pandora Atheneus Andromaeche Helena, "Pandy" to her friends, is the only daughter of the Titan, Prometheus. She has just turned thirteen and is officially a "maiden" now. The problem is, her life is so boring. While there are people all over Greece doing wonderful, heroic things, Pandy and her friends Iole and Alcie are still in school. To make matters worse, a big project is due. Pandy must find a way to show the presence of the gods in everyday life. She knows she has to come up with something amazing this year. And then, Pandy finds a box that belongs to her father; the one that he has been entrusted with. It couldn't hurt to borrow it for just a little while, right? <BR/><BR/>After Pandy's project, the box opens, unleashing all of the evils into the world. Pandy manages to close the box before the last item escapes. Hope is left, trapped in the box. Now Zeus has told Pandy that she must find each plague and return it to the box. It is a task she must complete without the help of her father. To make matters worse, Hera has it in for Pandy. None of the gods would dare defy Hera to help Pandy, would they? So, Pandy sets out, her two best friends at her side, to rescue mankind from the doom that has engulfed it. Her first task is to find Jealousy, and return it to the box. Pandy has a time limit in which to rid the world of these evils. Is there any way a maiden can accomplish such a daunting task? <BR/><BR/>PANDORA GETS JEALOUS is a funny, entertaining look at a familiar Greek tale. The characters are very modern and down-to-earth, including the gods who bicker like siblings. The first book in a series, PANDORA GETS JEALOUS introduces readers to a character and an adventure that they are sure to look forward to for many books to come!

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    Great Book!!

    I thought it was a great book. I read it in 2 days!! I thought it was funny and interesting. I can't wait until the next one comes out!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Pandora oh Pandora! &gt;.&lt;

    It was great I loved it. It was super cool and made me think Pandy (Pandora) was accually a great person. I loved this book so much I can't wait to read the next one, I would reccomend this to anyone who loves adventure. ^-^

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    Pandora gets jealous:

    This book is wonderful if you like greek mythology. It is full of surprising twists and turns. I loved this book and think you will, too. All of the characters are delightfully dynaminc and likeable.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2012

    Awesome quick read

    This book is great especially if youre looking for a quick read! I really like the stories about the Greek gods & godesses and Percy Jackson is way different from this; trust me people :) I did like Percy Jackson, but the Lost Hero & Kane chronicles or whatever theyre called were a big disappointment to me. I was glad to find this because there arent many good Greek mythology books out there for kids & tweens. Loved it... great for every age!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    One of the BEST

    I wish I could get this book into every childs hands! It was fabulous. Carolyn is so truly talented. I am a 38yr old mother of 3 boys and love children series. I think this series will be one of the best. The girl in this book is fantastic and easy to relate to. It is so well written I was completely surprised by it. Please read this book and pass this adventure on to someone else.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Anonymous

    I love ancient Greece. So when I saw this book, I had to snatch it up! Fours years later, I've read every single book in the series (well, except the last one because it hasn't even come out yet). In ancient Greek mythology, Prometheus marries Pandora, but in this series she's his daughter! I love the twist she put on Greek mythology! I've read all six books about three times each! I can't put them down. You have to read them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Do DO do YOU like this book?

    I really want to read it, it looks interesting

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Just started but good so far

    I'm not reading it on my nook but in hardcopy. I'm only on page 154 chapter 15. Love it though

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    good

    This was a great book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Eg

    A giant blob of AWSOME IN A MACHINE!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    Sweet

    This book was great!! Loved it! I recomend this book to EVERYONE:) (:

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Crazy123

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!! I LOVETHE OLD STORIES ABOUT GREECE! BUT IT WASNT A BOX IT WAS A "PITHOS"?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Haymitchrules

    AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 8D

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Best book ever

    I think girls would love this book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    AWESOME

    I BELEIVE THAT THIS BOOK IS VERY EXTROARDINARY AND I WOULD DEFINETLY BUY THIS BOOK AND READ THIS ABSOLUTLY AMAZING BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2011

    Pandora!!!!!

    This is a nice twist on godess girls.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    Interesting and Exciting!

    There were a few positive things about this novel and a few negative as well. One positive thing about the novel was that it had good characters. My favorite was Alcie, who always said the wrong thing at the wrong time. The next was that it was very captivating. It was also creative. But there were also some negatives as well. The first was that there were some large words. The second was that some characters, in my opinion, could have been described better. The last negative comment is that there might not have been as many descriptive details as there could have been.
    The author had a very interesting writing style. Most of the details in the book were very sensory. Like when Iole was hanging over the fire, it was like you could smell the smoke. The author tended to use large words like 'chimera' and 'Cerberus'. The authors tone was a bit formal because she would always use the formal form of a word. This was the authors writing style.
    I would recommend this book for many reasons. One is because it has a very interesting plot.The next because it has likeable characters. And the last because it is very creative. Some simalair novels are Pandora Gets Vain, Pandors gets Lazy and Pandora Gets Heart. Other novels i would recommmend are Stormbreaker,point blank, and Skeleton key.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Adventurous Story that takes you up in a journey

    Pandora gets jealous is a book that takes you off your feet. It takes to a journey back to the greek time. It inspires and show children lessons to listen to others.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2008

    what I think about Pandora Gets Jealous...

    I thought it was a great book. It was funny, catchy, and all around good. If a girl likes greek mythology and humor like I do, than she'll certainly ove this book. I read it in three days it was so good! I can't wait for the next one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6