Customer Reviews for

Pandora Gets Vain (Pandora Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 97 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Thank You Pandora For Opening that Box!

The cover for the 1 book caught my eye at my school library, so i started to read it. I finished it and loved it, because i love Greek mythology! But i finally got to the 2 and i read it in like 3 days (i was a little busy so i couldn't just read it in a day). I loved t...
The cover for the 1 book caught my eye at my school library, so i started to read it. I finished it and loved it, because i love Greek mythology! But i finally got to the 2 and i read it in like 3 days (i was a little busy so i couldn't just read it in a day). I loved the first, but i thought this was better. It had so much action. And i loved that Alcie got kissed by HOMMER! I was giggling when i read that part! But Thank you Pandora for opening that box because without this pleasureful tale i would be bored out of my mind!

posted by SydneyLea on September 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Awsome person 101 yeah

The book is great with lots of adventure, however some parts of the book got me bored sometimes. It is still a good book to read if you are wanting to go on an adventure.

posted by 9195419 on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 27, 2009

    Thank You Pandora For Opening that Box!

    The cover for the 1 book caught my eye at my school library, so i started to read it. I finished it and loved it, because i love Greek mythology! But i finally got to the 2 and i read it in like 3 days (i was a little busy so i couldn't just read it in a day). I loved the first, but i thought this was better. It had so much action. And i loved that Alcie got kissed by HOMMER! I was giggling when i read that part! But Thank you Pandora for opening that box because without this pleasureful tale i would be bored out of my mind!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Ah-mazing!!!!!

    2nd book to the series and I'm addicted. This truly a page- turner for anyone who read the first book in the series, Pandora Gets Jealous. In this incredible book, Pandy needs to capture Vanity, and on the way they have a "bodyguard" named Homer and he helps with the quest, but then..... Hey! That would be giving the book away, and it wouldn't be as suspenseful! Sorry!, but you NEED to read this book to gind out what's going to happen. :) Posted by: MistyRose

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    2nd Hennesy Book Proves a Great Series is Underway

    When I read the delightful romp that is 'Pandora Gets Jealous', Carolyn Hennesy's first book, I eagerly awaited the second - and was equally entranced by 'Pandora Gets Vain'. A second book in a series is a watershed moment for an author - a proving ground of sorts. Ms. Hennesy's storytelling ability obviously has 'great' legs and she is well on her way to capturing a loyal audience of 'Pandy' devotees. I read the Kurtis review and couldn't disagree more with his assessment. Ms Hennesy's imagery, dialogue and plot twists continue to delight and surprise, and anyone who reads this second installment will be in for the whole ride. As mothers peruse bookshelves for good value-enhancing stories for their daughters, they should look no further than this Pandora Gets...series. And some really bright studio executive should jump on this project to make an animated show.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Tween Series

    Carolyn Hennesy has created a book series that combines adventure and fun with an introduction to mythology in a format that entertains and educates young readers. Pandora, a thirteen year old girl has through curiosity, unleashed the evils contained in a box entrusted to her family by the gods. Regardless of her intent, the result was setting free evil in the world. Now she is tasked with recapturing all these evils so that the world is safe and her family is not eternally punished. Her friends, Alcie and Iole, accompany her on her mission.

    In this second book of the series, Pandora Gets Vain, the girls are on the trail of Vanity which they have determined is in Egypt. The book opens with a terrific storm at sea, which has been sent by Hera. Hera is jealous of Pandora and tries to thwart her mission at every turn. Homer, the young poet, has been sent by his father to guard them. They soon are involved in spine-tingling adventures such as combatting ancient guardians of pyramids and tombs, traveling with a group of magicians and carnival folks, and being rescued by dolphins from a watery grave. They wend their way to Egypt, where Vanity, in the form of a mirror, is in the possession of Cleopatra, the most beautiful Egyptian ruler. The unfolding of the capture of Vanity forms the backbone of the book. Gods encountered along the way include Poseidon, Apollo, Osiris, Hera and Athena. There are mummies, villians and heroes and the rewards and wonders of friendship which helps one overcome obstacles.

    Hennesy has a hit series on her hands. Along with the excitement of the various adventures, young readers are introduced to mythological characters. Pandora and her friends are typical tweens and share the characteristics of young teenagers while also being tasked with an overwhelming responsibility. Consequences of actions are made plain as is the message of taking responsibility for one's actions. The various gods and historical figures introduced in the book give readers an interesting introduction to these characters. The series will continue as the rest of the evils unleashed on the world are recaptured by Pandora and her friends. This book is highly recommended for young teenage readers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Awsome person 101 yeah

    The book is great with lots of adventure, however some parts of the book got me bored sometimes. It is still a good book to read if you are wanting to go on an adventure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Good book

    I read the first book and at first thought it was a book about a maiden and her getting jealous. Then when i finished reading it i learned that she actually got the element jealousy. It was a good book. Now im reading the second and i think that its so far, so good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Awsome

    Great book worth every cent good for reports:);0

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Pandora gets awsome

    In the second book of the seres of pandora, pandora gets vain is amazing. This as the first one has actual facts,places and more. We meet Homer a young youth who is amazing. Pandy is showing more of her fathers powers we also learn gold can hert. Hera is up to her tricks agin causing pandy even more drama! Want to know more READ THE BOOK PEOPLES READ IT! Its amazing and theres at least 1 hot guy! ;) :p

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Ammy

    Luv it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Pretty good a little grusome in the middle but over all good book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    anonymus

    This was one of my favorite books i love this searies

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    SO AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    It is the best book ever

    It is funny and the best book i ever read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Huh?

    I don't get this

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2011

    So worth it!!!!!!

    Amazing book. Loved the first one, love this one. Can't wait to get the third one. Pandora Gets Lazy, here I come!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    AWESOME!

    this book is reeeeeeeeeeeeeeally good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    this was realy good !

    real funny. for younger kids, still real good. person before me did this on the wrong thing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    I'm glad to see more of these kind of stories!

    This was a really great book! Even though it's not from the veiw of Percy, I'm glad to see more of Camp Half-Blood. I like the way that the chapters switch around from Leo, Jason, and Piper, although I do miss the creative and funny chapter titles. I can't wait to see even more of the old charecters come in in the next books. I recomend this book, but it might be a little confusing if you haven't read the Percy Jackson series already. I can't wait for more in this series!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2009

    Pandora Gets Vain

    This book is amazing. When my grandmother bought it for me I didn't think I would read it, but I gave it a chance. I loved it so much that I had finished the book in 4 hrs!! The evil Vanity is in the form of a mirror which is in the possesion of Cleopatra. She is a very beautiful Egyptian ruler. Hera the Goddess of marriage and birth is such a witch!!! Pandy is byfar the most heroic most brave young girl I have ever read about. Imaginge yourself trying to find all of these evils. Especially in her time period.In the book Homer, the young poet, sounds very unique and wonderful.This book is filled with andventure and myths. It has mummies, heroes, and villians. It can teach you many things about greek mythology. I will continue reading the Pandora series. This is such and amazing book that I recommed it to anyone. This book is amazing, but you have to read it to learn more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    best book ever

    In this second book of the series, Pandora Gets Vain, the girls are on the trail of Vanity which they have determined is in Egypt. The book opens with a terrific storm at sea, which has been sent by Hera. Hera is jealous of Pandora and tries to thwart her mission at every turn. Homer, the young poet, has been sent by his father to guard them. They soon are involved in spine-tingling adventures such as combatting ancient guardians of pyramids and tombs, traveling with a group of magicians and carnival folks, and being rescued by dolphins from a watery grave. They wend their way to Egypt, where Vanity, in the form of a mirror, is in the possession of Cleopatra, the most beautiful Egyptian ruler. The unfolding of the capture of Vanity forms the backbone of the book. Gods encountered along the way include Poseidon, Apollo, Osiris, Hera and Athena. There are mummies, villians and heroes and the rewards and wonders of friendship which helps one overcome obstacles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 99 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5