Customer Reviews for

Pandora's Daughter

Average Rating 4
( 83 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

An exciting paranormal thriller

Megan Blair always heard the voices whisper inside her head that she assumed were her friends although some of the things they told her frightened her. However, they failed to save her mom Sarah from a killer so when she became orphaned following the death of her belov...
Megan Blair always heard the voices whisper inside her head that she assumed were her friends although some of the things they told her frightened her. However, they failed to save her mom Sarah from a killer so when she became orphaned following the death of her beloved mother she shut down the voices.================= A dozen years later, someone tries to kill Megan. Although she is not sure why, she believes the culprit killed her mother, who shared the rare skill of the voices with her, but hid the truth that they are both descendants of Pandora from her daughter. This unknown adversary wants Megan and all her blood relatives dead. If murdering her extended family is needed so be it as collateral damage occurs in war. Megan must reactivate the voices if she is to protect her family and herself from a brilliant maniac even if she succeeds in tapping into the voices she muted, Megan knows the probability of failure against her anonymous enemy remains slim.================== Iris Johansen will be on top of the bestsellers lists again with this exciting paranormal thriller that grips the audience from the moment Sarah tells her beloved Megan to run just before dying and never slows down until the final confrontation. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with action although a romantic subplot seems unnecessary. Fans will appreciate Megan as her ┬┐normal┬┐ life as a doctor is destroyed by a maniac whose one reason for living is killing all the potential Pandoras.----= Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

E-Book version contains too many typos

The e-book is hard to read due to the misspellings, words that are hyphenated that shouldn't be and typos on every page (yes - every page). Additionally it's missing punctuation or has alpha characters in place of punctuation. I can't get through this book since it appe...
The e-book is hard to read due to the misspellings, words that are hyphenated that shouldn't be and typos on every page (yes - every page). Additionally it's missing punctuation or has alpha characters in place of punctuation. I can't get through this book since it appears to have been typed up by a 5 year old. Its very distracting. Publisher - please fix your typos and provide an update to download.

posted by Berni_L on January 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An exciting paranormal thriller

    Megan Blair always heard the voices whisper inside her head that she assumed were her friends although some of the things they told her frightened her. However, they failed to save her mom Sarah from a killer so when she became orphaned following the death of her beloved mother she shut down the voices.================= A dozen years later, someone tries to kill Megan. Although she is not sure why, she believes the culprit killed her mother, who shared the rare skill of the voices with her, but hid the truth that they are both descendants of Pandora from her daughter. This unknown adversary wants Megan and all her blood relatives dead. If murdering her extended family is needed so be it as collateral damage occurs in war. Megan must reactivate the voices if she is to protect her family and herself from a brilliant maniac even if she succeeds in tapping into the voices she muted, Megan knows the probability of failure against her anonymous enemy remains slim.================== Iris Johansen will be on top of the bestsellers lists again with this exciting paranormal thriller that grips the audience from the moment Sarah tells her beloved Megan to run just before dying and never slows down until the final confrontation. The story line is fast-paced and loaded with action although a romantic subplot seems unnecessary. Fans will appreciate Megan as her ¿normal¿ life as a doctor is destroyed by a maniac whose one reason for living is killing all the potential Pandoras.----= Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    E-Book version contains too many typos

    The e-book is hard to read due to the misspellings, words that are hyphenated that shouldn't be and typos on every page (yes - every page). Additionally it's missing punctuation or has alpha characters in place of punctuation. I can't get through this book since it appears to have been typed up by a 5 year old. Its very distracting. Publisher - please fix your typos and provide an update to download.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    Wow. That was awful.

    This is the worst written novel that I have read by the author. I kept waiting for it to get better, but it was not to be. I had to force myself to finish it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    I had somehow managed to miss this title, until I read QUICKSAND, Iris Johansen's newest release featuring Eve Duncan. Megan Blair plays a small role in that book, so I searched out PANDORA'S DAUGHTER to get her story. I'm glad I did. <BR/><BR/>Megan is a doctor who feels empathy for her patients that's beyond normal. When she finds out that a real bad guy named Molino is after her, her world comes crashing down. There are revelations about her Uncle Phillip, memories of her mother's death, and the arrival of Neal Grady, a man who may hold the key to the powers that Megan has. <BR/><BR/>This was a good, quick read that I really enjoyed. I also like stories that revolve around the paranormal, so this fit right in. I'd love to see more books featuring Megan and Grady (who is a force to be reckoned with!), along with Jed Harley and Renata, two other characters introduced in PANDORA'S DAUGHTER.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2008

    A reviewer

    A very disappointing novel. Pandora's Daughter had the makings of a great story but instead it was dry with undeveloped characters. It lacked emotion and good character detail. The plot was slow and spotty. Difficult to read. I felt Iris Johansen painfully strained herself writing this story. I had to force myself to finish with the hope that the ending would be worth the torture. It wasn't.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Just don't get the attraction

    I don't see what anyone sees in Iris Johansen. Her writing is just too adolescent. Her technical data so inaccurate. I've never known anyone to have been pinned to their seat by an airbag. Disjointed, too much angst, anxiety. Characters just aren't believeable, their dialogue and behaviors are too weird. She needs to repeat her English class and perhaps a creative writing course or two, if anything could help. I'm not a fourth of the way through this clinker and I'm ready to throw in the towel. There are too many good writers out there these days to even give this one a second look. I can't figure out how she's made it this far.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    Very good read, very enjoyable

    I enjoyed this story very much! She is very good at character description and building a plot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    Marie

    "Then we'd better get going huh?" Marie smiles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    The girl

    He's still here i think. He is invisable and amutant catcher.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    The invisible man

    Advances on her silently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Such a great plot idea

    This book could have been fantastic but the characters were poorly developed. This is not to say I didn't enjoy it, I just feel she could have really hit this out of the park instead of bunting. I was a fan of Iris Johansen at first but after several books, realized almost every plot (with exception of this one) is pretty much identical to the last. I would certainly suggest this book to others but it's not epic by any means.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    This is actually one of my favorites for Ms. Johansen. I enjoye

    This is actually one of my favorites for Ms. Johansen. I enjoyed the
    characters &amp; the story. My only &quot;complaint&quot; would be that
    I wish Megan was as strong throughout the book as she was in the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Not good

    Once again, Iris Johansen took a potentially good story idea and messed it up with bad character development. They seem so lifeless that I kept getting the image of Joe Friday from the old TV series 'Dragnet'. The only way I was able to get through the book was by skimming the last 100 pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2010

    LMR

    This book is a real page turner! Impossible to put down..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    Hurray for a hit!

    It has been sometime since I read the previous book in this series, but as usual, Iris did not disappoint. She did not have to retell the entire story to jog my memory as to who some of this re-appearing characters were. It took me a while to warm up to the new "Pandora", Megan but after I did, I could not put this book down. The pace was quick enough to keep me wanting more as well as root for the brusque Grady. I smell another book with Harley in the making as she developed him quite well and made the reader want to know more about where is going from here. I also enjoyed getting to know Renata and think, she too will have a front and center appearance in coming books. At least I hope so. ALl in all, a great read that I am sure you will enjoy if you are an Iris fan as well as a mystic believer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I liked Pandors's Daughter, but didn't love it

    Pandora's Daughter was a good read, but not in the "I can't put it down" category. The plot moved well and the action scenes were fact-paced. The characters were interesting but none of them were completely engaging.

    The main character, Megan, is a physician who discovers that she has at least one psychic gift. If she is in a place where someone has died tragically, she can hear their thoughts. Throughout the book, Megan struggles to accept her gift, her past, her family and her new friends, all while undergoing a series of traumatic adventures.

    Megan teams up with Grady, Harley, and Renata. Each of the three could be interesting on their own. Grady and Renata both flip back and forth between cold, "the end justifies the means" manipulation and their softer sides as they learn to love and appreciate Megan. Harley, the most interesting character in the book, is along for the ride to protect and defend. He is a jack-of-all-trades, a good-natured, laid back killer. For some reason, his complexity succeeds where Grady's and Renata's doesn't.

    I think part of the problem is that in the course of the action, there isn't enough time for the relationships to develop as much as they do. We're talking about hours, not days or weeks, and while traumatic events throw people together, I just didn't believe it here.

    Still, I would recommend this as a good beach read, and airport book, a light diversion. Just don't expect much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME BOOK - A MUST READ!

    Loved it, different from your everyday book. Great Characters, unique story, a bit of the paranormal...hope she continues the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Zzz

    @ the age of 15, Megan Blair was orphaned & raised by her Uncle Phillip. Now an Atlanta pediatrician, Megan hears terrified voices.

    Disclosure arrives when childhood friend Neal Grady, who is now a shadowy government agent, appears to apprise Megan of her psychic powers. Neal is also there to warn her: Molino-the merciless villain who murdered Megan's mother, concluding her touch killed his son-is targeting Megan next.


    Molino thinks Megan was born to an ancient Sephardic family of psychics & plans to force her to reveal the location of the Ledger, a book that contains the family's secrets & finances. Molino then plans to kill her, if Megan, Neal and Neal's sidekick, Jed Hartley, don't get to him first.

    Looks like another dud from the camp of Johansen. I think it is best to stick to the books featuring Eve Duncan & company !

    Bottom line, this was... Boring!

    It was a contractual fulfillment plain & simple. Johansen was trying way to hard to make a name for herself in the paranormal arena. NOT! Johansen better stick to telling stories she knows how to write or shut down the computer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    good read!

    good read-hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 83 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5