Customer Reviews for

Pandora's Key

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Good story enjoyed the plot. I do like mythology base stories a

    Good story enjoyed the plot. I do like mythology base stories and this one was very good. I will spare you the synopsis because you can always go and read that elsewhere. Onward with the review….so you’re probably thinking why four stars...and here is why....there was too much thinking going on in her own mind which to me was a little annoying. I understand that sometimes the thoughts of the character need to be told...but it just seem too much. Raphe could have been a stronger character I wish she would included him more scenes with him in it instead of almost at the end. Loved the ending did not see that coming. It took me longer to read than I thought I don't know if it was because I kept getting interrupted or there where time where it slowed down a bit or it cold have been that it was like 48 chapters! Darn if it’s to short and darn if its’ to long right oh well still good glad I read it. I just noticed that there will be a second and third book and because it’s mythology I will definitely be reading it. Pandora Key didn’t really have a big cliff hanger so I can’t wait where the story is going to take me next. Maybe a little more romance in the next book; that would really be nice. Thank you Nancy for letting me review your book. I really enjoyed your story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Let me start off by saying that anyone that knows me knows how m

    Let me start off by saying that anyone that knows me knows how much of a mythology lover I have become. I was so excited to get the chance to read this book as I have heard great things about it. I am so glad I read this too. It was everything I expected and then some. The author did an amazing job.


    We start this book with us meeting Evangeline who appears to be having some sort of dream. The dream is really vivid and feels more like an out of body experience. We learn Evangeline lives with her mom and has a birthday coming up. For her birthday she receives an amazing necklace with a key attached. This is when things get interesting for Evangeline. She starts to notice differences with herself and others do too. Evangeline spends her birthday at school and comes home to find her mom unconscious.


    Once her mom is at the hospital she learns some life changing information. Evangeline comes from a long line of Pandora's keepers. Yes that Pandora from Pandora's box. The Keepers are entrusted with the key to unlocking the box. She also unfortunely learns they are all fated to die young. Evangeline also learns that her best friend has sworn to protect her with her own life. She also learns that her mom's friend Sam will do anything to keep her safe also.


    Evangeline finds herself having to take care of herself and figure out who she can trust. The book takes some twists and turns as she tries to find out more about herself and break the curse. She meets Tristan who is her best friend's boyfriend and finds out who he really is. Tristan who's real name is Malledy is such a complex character. I felt so bad for him and then he transformed into such an evil person eventhough I understood his motives.


    Overall I think this book lived up to all I want in a book. The writing was superb and spot on. There was intrigue and a great plot. The characters were written very well and complex. The author did a great job with this book and I look forward to reading more from her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the concept of this story. I haven’t read many boo

    I loved the concept of this story. I haven’t read many books that focus on mythology or use it within their story but I’ve always been quite fascinated by it. I loved the way that she used the mythology at the beginning of the book. She set the tale up perfectly so that even those with no knowledge of the gods and goddesses were able to understand what was going on. This obviously appealed to me.

    I enjoyed where the story went, how it played out and the differences between the characters. I loved all of the different sub-plots that were going on underneath it all and felt that they really brought everything together. I feel that Nancy did a brilliant job of putting enough information out there for her readers without making it boring but also without revealing too much too soon. There was a lot of mystery going on within the pages that really helped to keep the attention of the reader. And the suspense was riveting and really kept the reader wanting to read more to find out what was going to happen next.

    I adored the characters in this book! For me characters really help to bring a story to life and I could really believe the characters in this book. I found Evangeline, E, to be a really refreshing character to read. She wasn’t a vain character and had little self-confidence, even when her beauty was visibly shown in the mirror. She had a lot to think through and had a lot going on in that little head of hers. I felt that she got stronger as the book went on and I can see her becoming a level-headed protagonist who protects the ones she loves, while also being protected herself. There were times when I wanted to grind her head for the way she was behaving but that’s just because she acted in opposite ways to how I would have in those situations!

    I found Malledy really fascinating and I liked the way that his illness was depicted in the book. I liked his journey and the way he saw the world and how Nancy really made you think when it came to him. I was surprised at how much I liked his character actually. But really it was Rafe that I really liked. He was so kind and protective and so clearly in love with E that it made my heart ache when she just didn’t see it. I liked that he worried about her and tried to help her, but that he was also protective of his mother. A great character that I enjoyed reading about and could really imagine being alive and kicking.

    Overall this was a really well written novel. Nancy has a way with words that really pulls you in. I loved her writing style and found it really easy to read. It wasn’t too confusing - although the beginning was a bit of a battle but only slightly and once you’re in, it gets to be worth it - and it was just an easy and enjoyable read. I liked how everything flowed together, I loved how E really pulled the story along but wasn’t just a protagonist who let things happen to her, she had a little backbone in her! I think it was a brilliant set up to what could be an amazing and creative trilogy and I am really looking forward to the release of the second book. I would recommend this book to anyone who like books with greek mythology, anyone who likes a good YA heroine, a lovely and talented author and someone who likes a bit of mystery, suspense and action. Really I just think you should all go and read a copy right now!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pandora's Key is two stories in one with a mythological twist. I

    Pandora's Key is two stories in one with a mythological twist. It is full of mystery and intrigue which will keep you on the edge of your seat.

    Evangeline is suffering with nightmares about different women dying tragically. She is also dealing with her mom's disturbing delusions. Looking forward to her sixteenth birthday, Evangeline hoping that things will get better. That hope is shattered when her mom lands in the hospital fighting for her life. This tragedy will make Evangeline question who she can trust and depend on.

    Malledy is an amazingly intelligent teenage boy who is diagnosed with Huntington's disease. This diagnoses will lead him to find a cure in an unlikely place. He will make choices that will not only endanger himself but others around him.

    The author does a great job of weaving the two stories together with the main thread consisting of the myth of Pandora's box and key. I really enjoyed this story and would definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Pandora's Key starts out as two different stories. Evangeline's

    Pandora's Key starts out as two different stories. Evangeline's story and Malledy's story. Both are equally captivating and fun to read. Evangeline's life completely changes on her 16th birthday. After going from somewhat awkward teen to someone she hardly recognizes in a mirror, what was supposed to be a special day turns into a nightmare. Nothing makes sense anymore to Evangeline and she has no on to turn to for help…no one she can trust anyway. Malledy is a superintelligent man with a disease that is slowly killing him. He is looking for something that will cure him, and he is willing to go to any lengths to get his hands on that something.

    When the two stories finally merge, it was like nothing I would have expected. People weren't who they seemed to be, both for Evangeline and for Malledy. Evangeline gets to the point where she just does not know who she can trust anymore, so she ends up trusting no one, while Malledy did not really seem to trust anyone from the beginning, with good reason.

    The characters were great. Evangeline is your normal awkward teen and easy to like as a main character. Her character was well balanced in that she was not so beautiful and popular that you wanted to hate her, yet she was not so down on herself that you got tired of her wining. I think that's a hard balance to create when writing about teen girls, but the author managed it here. Malledy I think we did not get to know quite as well, but we did get to see his motivations and his way of thinking.

    I loved the mythology background to this story. I loved that the author was able to take such a well known piece of mystery and create a unique story to go with it. It was fresh and entertaining, and I guarantee you'll be left guessing about what's coming next until the very end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great YA story with lots of twists and turns! Pandora's Key is t

    Great YA story with lots of twists and turns!
    Pandora's Key is the first book in The Key Trilogy by Nancy Richardson Fischer.

    Review:
    I really liked this book. It was different, it was exciting and creative and it was smartly written. I love the tale of Pandora's Box and have always had a love of the Greek Gods mythology. This book really put those tales to use with its own spin and story. The writing was great, the imagery was well done and the story itself was plausible. Evangeline was a terrific lead character. She's the reason this story works so well. You can literally feel the changes her life is taking, what she's going through and the heartache she's enduring. The supporting cast of characters were interesting and well written. There was action, suspense, mystery and a bit of romance in this book.

    There were a few things that I disliked about the book, but minor given the whole of the story. The beginning was slow and a bit confusing. It took me several "put down and pick back up" attempts to get through the first few chapters because I just couldn't get into it. But Im really glad I kept going because its picks up speed and rhythm and it all comes together. Some of the dialogue was a bit rough and I think Evangeline reaction to her new life was a bit off. I also wish we had gotten more of Raphe and Evangeline together. I would have liked to have seen their love story better developed considering they knew each other before the events started to unfold in Evangeline's life. He seemed to really care about her and love her despite her own deprecating self image.

    All in all this book was definitely worth the time to read it. Im looking forward to reading book two!

    NOTE - I read this as part of a R2R with Paranormal Romance & Urban Fantasy Fanatics! in Goodreads. As always, a special thank you to the moderators as well as the author for allowing me to participate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2012

    I received a copy of this book from the author in return for an

    I received a copy of this book from the author in return for an honest review.

    The only thing stopping me from saying this is the best experience with an Indie book that I have ever had is that it is my first experience with an Indie book. And it has set the bar pretty high for future Indies, because I absolutely ADORED this book!

    I admit I was slightly concerned at the beginning, because everything gets started really quickly: strange things begin happening from page one without time to indicate what normal life was like.

    Then I read a few more pages and I didn't care anymore; I just wanted to know what happened next.

    The book head-jumps between a few different story lines that eventually collide in a way I had never expected. Now, anyone who knows me can tell you that it is very, very difficult for a plot twist to catch me off guard. Joe and I will be watching a movie and 10 minutes in I'll have figured out the catch - I've been told its rather infuriating. The point is I am not one to be caught off guard easily, but this book did just that. I sat in bed staring at the page with my mouth hanging open in awe of the fact that, finally, someone had beat me. I actually messaged the author on Goodread's just to share my excitement at how perfectly she had set the whole thing up. It is essentially a lesser version of when Snape's background is revealed in The Deathly Hallows; everything you know is a lie. Except..ya know..this one only lies to you for one book instead of seven.

    The book is a quick read both because it is relatively short and very compelling. The more you read the more you want to know what is going on and you'll be damned if you stop reading before you do. And once you do finish it I am willing to bet you will be just as excited to get book 2 in the trilogy as I am now.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    Evangeline Theopolis or E to her friends is a teenager who is tu

    Evangeline Theopolis or E to her friends is a teenager who is turning sixteen soon. E with her best friend Melia and Raphe Petersen help E cope with life and other struggles she faces. E has been having strange dreams that are more like nightmares of different women killing themselves in the prime of their lives. E's mother Olivia has been acting strangely lately and E is worried about her. Samatha Harris is Olivia's agent and E's godmother. Malledy is an Archivist and suffering from Huntington's Disease. He is searching for some cure and hope that he can defeat the disease. Malledy is keeping a few secrets of his own from Juliette and the Archivists too. Juliette is Malledy's mentor and follow Archivist that is hiding a secret. She is a member of the Pandora Sect and leading a dual life which is wearing on her these last few years. Malledy has an appointment with Dr. Aali regarding Huntington's Disease. He's hoping for good news but not holding his breathe either. E's world is turned upside down when she finds her mother passed out on her bedroon floor. Dr. Sullivan tells Olivia and E that there isn't much hope. E tries to deny the truth yet it's plain on Dr. Sullivan's face. E is kidnapped and taken hostage by unseen foes in front of Raphe. Raphe asks for Dr. Sullivan's in finding E Dr. Sullivan reluctantly agrees to help. Detective Morrison is searching for Evangeline and Samatha too. Will Olivia get better? Will Juliette be found out? What is Malledy's plan? Will E trust Samatha or Melia? What about Raphe? Will Detective Morrison find E? Your answers await you in Pandora's Key.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    How long

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Pandora's Key was a very intriguing book. I was skeptical after

    Pandora's Key was a very intriguing book. I was skeptical after the first couple pages, but it quickly picked up speed and I held on for the duration. The story was gripping and I couldn't put it down.

    Evangeline was a character that remained very confused throughout the book and I kind of liked that she wasn't some kick ass hero. The characters each served a part in the story and I liked the way they were weaved into the story.

    The only negative about the book was the fact that it wasn't told only through Evangeline. Malledy served as a second narration and I found it to be unnecessary and out of place in spots. I understood the author's intentions, it just didn't flow.

    There was a lot of mythology and that kept it interesting. All in all, I enjoyed the mystery and it sucked me in. The story made sense and I was satisfied at the end of the book.

    This is the first in a trilogy and I can't wait to see what the next book holds. This is a great paranormal YA and I highly recommend it:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    Great Read

    Pandora's Key is about a girl named Evangeline and she lives with her mother. Her mother is sick and on her birthday her mother gives Evangeline a present. It is a tradition in their family to pass down a necklace that her mother has never taken off. The necklace is Pandora's Key and it becomes something many people fight for.

    I liked this book because it is different than others. It is like reading the next chapter from Pandora's box. It is good and different and has myths, the gods and goddesses. It is perfect for any age.

    I would recommend this book to people that are interested in myths and if they are fans of Greek mythology. I am glad that my teacher Mrs. Stiles let us read this in class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1