Customer Reviews for

Pandora's Key

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love anything that has to do with mythology, so I had very hig

    I love anything that has to do with mythology, so I had very high expectations of it. Luckily, it lived up to my expectations.
    First of all, my first impression. 1) Greek mythology, 2) amazing cover 3) nice author - this book has to me freaking fantastic!
    The blurb of this book intigued me, and I instantly started reading it. I couldn't put it down, and I had finished it in a couple of hours. I read it in 2 sits, which hardly happens to me, so that's a very good thing ^^
    The main character, Evangeline, is just your average high school girl. Not the prettiest, not the most confident, or the smartest of them all. Nothing special. Or is she? She is given a key on her 16th birthday. And that key will change her life, forever. How can her mothers precious key change her appearance? how can it give her enemies? The necklace brings up some difficult questions and massive trouble. The unknown has to become known to Evangeline.
    Evangeline is a great character. Just a normal girl, as I said before. Not a silly girl, like some YA-book girls are, but a real character, with thoughts and reasonable feelings, which weren't annoying at all. I hate it when main characters in books annoy me, so this was perfect!
    This book kept me 100% interested from the first word till the end of the prologue. A real pageturner, as I might as well call it. The editing had been done well, a nice writing style, all of it was one piece of awesomeness

    A lovely story for every book lover - and even for the ones that don't like mythology at all - which includes amazing characters, lots of drama and a huge amount of action.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Unexpected

    When i purchesed this book i thought it woule be ok, but it was amazing, i couldnt put it down if you like teen books or greek mythology youll love this book!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    I quite enjoyed this lovely new approach to one of the most imp


    I quite enjoyed this lovely new approach to one of the most important legends in Classical Greek mythology. Highly suspenseful, adventurous, and roller-coaster paced, “Pandora’s Key” kept me turning the pages and reading it in one sitting due to the likable characters, intricately convoluted plotting, and author Nancy Richardson Fischer’s smooth and talented writing style. I’m eagerly anticipating the next book in the series, so I can find out where the protagonist goes from here. However, “Pandora’s Key” functions well as a stand-alone novel, ending in not so much a cliffhanger as a promise for further stories for eager readers (such as myself ¿ ).

    Evangeline is the sole daughter of a single mother, Olivia, who was herself a sole child, orphaned at seventeen by the sudden grisly death of her mother. She has a lifelong best friend, Melia, who still finds time for her despite Melia’s current love interest, Tristin, a new student in Portland; and another good friend, Raphe, for whom E continues to wish there could be something in addition to friendship.

    E (as her friends call her) and her mother Olivia both have nightmares (and in her mother’s case, bizarre hallucinations) over a period of weeks leading up to Evangeline’s birthday. On her sixteenth birthday, E receives from her mother the onyx key which Olivia herself had always worn as a pendant, and almost immediately Evangeline’s world turns topsy-turvy and inside out in a reversal of everything she ever thought she knew as fact-both for her personally, and for the world at large.

    I highly recommend “Pandora’s Key,” which has appeal to readers of many different sub-genres.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    First thing. Thanks to Nancy for letting my group read her book

    First thing.
    Thanks to Nancy for letting my group read her book for the book of the month!
    I really appreciate it.
    Also, It's great that we got such an awesome book for our first read!

    I really liked this book.
    I haven't really read anything like this.
    Think about Percy Jackson and the Olympians, mixed with a teenage girl's life.
    EXCEPT WAY MORE EXCITING. hah

    When I first saw this book, I wasn't really sure what it was going to be about.
    I mean, I read the description and things like that,
    But I still didn't expect it to be like this!
    Also, I learned something!
    Hah. Not that I didn't know about the greek gods and everything like that,
    But I didn't know that Pandora was interesting. hah
    I never really payed attention to them until this book.

    Uhh I don't want to ruin anything for anyone because there are probably still people reading this! hah.
    All I'm going to say is that there is a lot of action, and I really couldn't put it down.
    I wish it was longer, but that's what the second book is for, right? (:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Although a short read, this book was fantastic. It's unpredictab

    Although a short read, this book was fantastic. It's unpredictable, inventive, and completely unputdownable for the latter half. The reader is originally presented with an intriguing background story, which was enough to perk my attention. Admittedly, I'm not usually a fan of books revolving around myths, but this book is utterly unique, and one-of-a-kind.
    The narrative moves between characters, which (as I've mentioned in other reviews) I'm a fan of. The writing style also enables us to know the thoughts of the characters, despite being written in third person. The author is gifted when it comes to manipulating emotions with words, since, for instance, I originally felt sympathetic towards Malledy, although this opinion changed.
    The protagonist, Evangeline, is also a very likeable characters, and her loneliness was one of the reasons that kept me reading - I felt truly sorry for her!
    I find that books where you can really relate to the characters are rare, but this is one of them. Overall, a great read with an amazing conclusion. I can't wait to read the next, although I would gladly re-read this one before that happens.
    A point to consider, however: there is very little romance in this novel. As an avid reader of young adult books, romance is definitely my favourite genre. If looking for a good old love story, then this probably isn't it. I would've liked to have read something with a little more romance. In reality, death is probably the biggest theme in this book - when I say a lot of people die, I mean it! At times, I found it a bit hard to swallow. Despite this, however, Pandora's Key is well-written, beautifully executed, and a true credit to the author. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    I have been a Mythology buff since my English teacher introduced

    I have been a Mythology buff since my English teacher introduced it to us in the 8th grade. This book is steeped in Mythology and I was hooked right from the start. The second book in this trilogy "The Key to Tartarus" will be a definite buy for me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    First, I normally don't write reviews, I just put my star rating

    First, I normally don't write reviews, I just put my star rating and go about my business. Only IF I find the book overwhelming moving do I take the time. Mainly because I never know what to say . . . therefore, bear with me :)

    I used to give books 5 stars all the time and recently I've come to find that books just don't thrill me like they used to. How nice is it to read something that grips me from the first chapter. I loved the writing style, the characters, the story and the small mindless fact that I could read through the book and not find editing errors (I know that's petty but it breaks the flow people!!!).

    What a way to close the book too. It left me longing for a second, but at the same time content for the time being. Truly a talent!

    I want a sequel . . .I really, really want another book! P-L-E-A-S-E

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    One of the better books I've read this year! I didn't want to pu

    One of the better books I've read this year! I didn't want to put it down once I started.

    Some things I really loved about Pandora's Key
    Engaging story line
    No love triangles!
    Evangeline learns to deal with her life without excessive teen angst.
    Plenty of action and is appropriately geared toward the YA crowd as well as adults. (aka one of my pet peeves are YA books that are in my opinion to violent for the crowd they are marketed too)

    I can't think of anything I didn't like about this one :)

    In short I'll be recommending this one to my friends and also to their preteen/teen daughters.

    Thanks Nancy for an excellent read! I'll be looking for the next one!(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Quite a page turner once the action started taking place and its

    Quite a page turner once the action started taking place and its one book that you will not want to put down. I don’t know much about Greek mythology but the whole story line had me intrigued – a line of female descendents holding a mystery key which is bestowed upon a 16-yr old who has no clue of her past. This key opens Pandora’s Box which has its own special powers inside which is also wanted by a group of people wanting to unleash Pandora’s powers. Will Evangeline be thrilled at her new role or will the curiosity of what is in the box be too much for her? For Evangeline whose life consisted of her mother and a few friends until she was 16, being a part of the Sect was a life-changing event for her and her family. Her mother kept this information from her which I thought was strange for a mother (any mother) to do. How would you feel if suddenly on your 16th birthday or close to your 16th birthday, you were given a necklace with a key on it and this key unlocked a box? Inside this box held some secret power that others wanted and would kill for? What if you they were hunting you down looking for this box and key? What if you were born into a female Sect and…..? I thought this was a great coming of age story and had lots of action.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2012

    Cliff Hanger!

    When 16 year old Evangeline Theopolis's mother is discovered to have a tumor, Evangeline's life turns to the worst. Malledy on the other hand a young Archivists is found to have Huntington's disease, he is determined to find Pandora's box and her descendants to open the box so she can heal him. Evangeline then realizes her and the people she knows and loves are in danger.This book is set in modern day times. I love this book. This book was recommended to me by a teacher and I will do the same and recommend it to all my friends because this is a very delightful, and entertaining book.I really connected with Evangeline in the book I understand and know how it feels when a loved one is very sick with either a disease or with a medical problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great Myth

    Never have I seen a book take over my classroom like this one did. I will always have one or two students who make it their business to read anything involving Greek mythology. When a book can take over a class to the point they are fighting over which class gets to read it first or next then you know it is a great book. Having students come from other grades to read the book because they heard the sixth graders talking about it was another testament to how great the book was. The students are anxiously awaiting the next book in the series. I haven't seen this much enthusiasm since the students started reading The Hunger Game Trilogy. I too am looking forward to the second book. I understood Evangeline's response to learning the truth. I would have hated to have been in her shoes. If you want to know what I'm talking about then you need to pick up this book and read it. Then come back for the second book in the trilogy, The Key to Tartarus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    Great book!

    So glad I got this book! I thought the whole thing was very well written and well thought out. It kept me on the edge of my seat while I was reading it and stayed on my mind when I had to put it down. An intriguing twist of plots where you were constantly wondering who was friend and who was foe and how did they all fit in together.

    Having grown up loving greek mythology, I really appreciated this unique take on an ancient legend. This book tells of what happened to Pandora and her infamous box and how her curse carried on through the generations. The whole story was set in today's world in a very believable way, with characters that were easy to like (even the villians). Definitely a book to pass along!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1