Customer Reviews for

Pandora's Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 133 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love it!

I'm a huge fan of Peter F. Hamilton because of this book. Although it can be confusing jumping between characters in the beginning of the book, the plot development make for a rich and satisfying read when everything comes together. Can't say enough good things about ...
I'm a huge fan of Peter F. Hamilton because of this book. Although it can be confusing jumping between characters in the beginning of the book, the plot development make for a rich and satisfying read when everything comes together. Can't say enough good things about the world that Hamilton creates in this novel.

posted by jsrock37 on June 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great book. Sadly, a bit too long.

This is a great book. Mr. Hamilton knits quite an spell binding plot. The future he imagines is plausible and fascinating. However, the book is awfully long.
This 900+ pages book could be well fit in 400 pages. Hamilton dwells into long description of characters and p...
This is a great book. Mr. Hamilton knits quite an spell binding plot. The future he imagines is plausible and fascinating. However, the book is awfully long.
This 900+ pages book could be well fit in 400 pages. Hamilton dwells into long description of characters and planets even if they are secondary or auxiliary to the main plot. The result is, sometimes, a dull and hard to read book. Too many characters make the plot hard to follow and demand a lot even from a skilled reader. The worst part is the end that is only a link to his next book that is also a 900+ pages one. Maybe the author was paid by word he wrote and, therefore, decided to use every single word available in the English language.

posted by IAsimov on June 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    Great book. Sadly, a bit too long.

    This is a great book. Mr. Hamilton knits quite an spell binding plot. The future he imagines is plausible and fascinating. However, the book is awfully long.
    This 900+ pages book could be well fit in 400 pages. Hamilton dwells into long description of characters and planets even if they are secondary or auxiliary to the main plot. The result is, sometimes, a dull and hard to read book. Too many characters make the plot hard to follow and demand a lot even from a skilled reader. The worst part is the end that is only a link to his next book that is also a 900+ pages one. Maybe the author was paid by word he wrote and, therefore, decided to use every single word available in the English language.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it!

    I'm a huge fan of Peter F. Hamilton because of this book. Although it can be confusing jumping between characters in the beginning of the book, the plot development make for a rich and satisfying read when everything comes together. Can't say enough good things about the world that Hamilton creates in this novel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I feel the Author Owes me for my time!

    Although the plot of this book was totally awesome, the overkill prose and the sadistically anti-clamactic ending proved my time was wasted reading this book. I believe that all fiction should contain prose, of course, but to go into descriptions to the nth degree that this author did was over burdening to the reader and that amount of detail (i.e. the color of the hair folicle [sarcasm intended] was totally unecessary and detracted from the story line. Luckily, I was "reading" this as an audio book and was able to fast forward. Otherwise, I would never have made it through the 25 chapters.

    All I can say to the author, without spoiling the ending for anyone willing to endulge in this epic prose, is that he owes me $30. The ending was an insult.

    If you are "reading" this as an audio book, be prepared to be put to sleep... literally. The narrator has a voice that just lulls you to sleep. Don't listen while driving long distances. The only thing about the narrator I didn't like, was his voice fluctuations went from loud to soft to loud. It was difficult to hear in a public place (via Ipod).

    Such a shame this great story line was wasted in such a sad way.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    PANDORA'S STAR recently appeared on a "most popular" s

    PANDORA'S STAR recently appeared on a "most popular" science fiction list using reddit as its source. I have had the book for a while, including a paperback version that became part of my beach reading in mid-May. It's a monster of a book and one of two in a duology.

    The story starts with the spotting of two stars that disappear. Some investigation determines that artificial barriers were activated around the stars. Why? Did some alien within the systems need to be contained or were they protecting themselves? Either way, humanity must investigate to determine the potential risks to the Commonwealth, a collection of human inhabited worlds connected by wormhole stations. Meanwhile, the Guardians of the Self are convinced that an ominous alien, called the Starflyer,  is behind the exploration of the disappearing stars.

    Peter F. Hamilton fills a thousand pages with characters, descriptions, and action, and the interest of them is a bit scattered for me. The most interesting characters are Paula Myo and Wilson Kime. Myo is a detective who has been hunting the Guardians of the Self's leader, Bradley Johannson, and primary strategist and smuggler, Adam Elvin. She's been on the case for over a hundred years (people routinely go through a process known as rejuvenation, which effectively makes them immortal, as well has having their memory backed up). Myo was "rescued" from a planet that followed an Aldous Huxley model of genetically tweaking people for expertise in specific tasks, and Myo is a fantastic detective, though the Guardians elude her (because of the Starflyer?). We follow her method and near misses. Dedicated, focused, and no nonsense, she proves several times to be sympathetic and faces her moral crisis at the end of the book fully aware of the risks.

    Wilson Kime landed the first human expedition on Mars, only to be upstaged by Nigel Sheldon and Ozzie Isaac, creators of the first wormhole generators. After many rejuvenations, he is selected by Sheldon to lead the exploration of the barrier star, called Dyson Alpha. He eventually leads a follow up scouting mission and becomes the first admiral of the Commonwealth navy. He's out to reclaim some of that lost glory and because he loves exploration.

    Ozzie has a whole sequence of parts that I did not like. He teams up with a kid who alternatively seems like he's two and then 18. Ostensibly, Ozzie is seeking what the alien Silfden, a fey, carefree culture, know of the Dyson barrier. Ozzie grew up in surfer culture California and says "dude" far too often for my taste.

    I found quite intriguing the SI character: the AI created by humanity who stores the human memories. The SI has an interest in the Dyson barrier, but it is enigmatic and its interest and motivations are mysterious, which is why it is intriguing.

    Hamilton knows how to describe various planets and technologies with ease. His ideas on rejuvenation, the Dyson aliens, wormholes, and a host of technologies are wonderfully executed and thought out. However, I found many of the descriptions unnecessary, word padding. Also, much of his dialogue seemed overly wrought--some of the interactions between couples were particularly galling.

    Still, the scope and the characters he does do well lead me to a lukewarm four stars. PANDORA'S STAR is definitely the set up for book two, which I will read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Where is the editor?

    Apparently Hamilton either doesn't have an editor or he so powerful that his editor is hamstrung. This story runs on for 860 pages. It could have been told in about 350. Hamilton meanders down cul-de-sac after cul-de-sac that do not advance the story at all. I would love to find out what happens but I can not bring myself to read the conclusion(Judas Unchained) which runs over 1000 pages.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    A MUST-READ!!!

    This book is like a mix of CSI, Star Trek, and Avatar (James Cameron's movie) all in one book. What more could you ask for? Pandora's Star is a must-read for all sci-fi fans!! The first 300 pages just kind of set everything up (don't worry, it's not at all boring), and then from there everything just kind of falls together in this epic space-travel, crime-solving, planet-exploring journey. I have yet to read Judas Unchained but I'm sure it will be just as good as, if not better than, Pandora's Star. GET THIS BOOK!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2006

    A great SF novel!

    It is really hard for me to find a book that can hold my attention all the way through. However, with this book I was hardly able to put it down! The story was amazing with awesome plot twists and a great character cast that kept this story from ever getting dull. I was actually happy when I found out that the story continued into a second book, which was equally as amazing, if not better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    Longest book I've read

    I did not know this was part one of two books...and I'm thrilled. I was almost sad as a reached the last 100 pages, thinking this awesome journey was ending. As I approached the final 50 I couldn't stop reading. Ouch!! I really have lost hours of sleep.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Fantastic

    Best book I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    O f

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2013

    Great story

    Terrific epic by one of the best Sci Fi authors out there!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    One of the best books I have ever read. Can't put it down.

    One of the best books I have ever read. Can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2012

    Space opera at its best

    I read this book several years ago. It was my first introduction to Hammilton and his twisting detailed tapestry of a universe. His ability to flesh out so many interesting and real charactter lets you feel at times that you are reading several novels at the same time. This book is a must read for any science fiction fan. It will leave you exauhsted begging for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Complex

    One of my favorites!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    A great modern novel

    A true work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Good before bed book

    Bought this after finishing Nemesis as it seemed in the same line of stories. Was enjoyable but does take a bit of time to finish.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another fine universe by Hamilton

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Delightful

    Written with intricate plots covering 30+ characters that all come together to play their role, "Pandora's Star" is an epic story. What happens when humanity discovers rebirth technology that allows us to live forever? Combine that with the creation of black holes that allows instant travel between planets, and seed it with the appearance of a mysterious alien race.

    This is science fiction at its best: it asks how the human condition changes with just a few simple additions. Will humans evolve to better people, or collapse with war?

    The intricacies and plot lines are reminiscent of "The Snow Queen" and "The Summer Queen" by Joan D. Vinge (who themselves are winner of the Hugo Award and a runner up to the Hugo Award).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Space Opera Is For Everybody

    Hamilton is at his best with epic, galaxy-spanning space opera, and Pandora's Star is a great example of this. Hamilton excels at introducing us to believable, interesting characters - even characters he is going to kill off in a page or two, putting faces to the inevitable damage wrought by the situations he dreams up.

    Though the story in Pandora's Star (and its sequel, Judas Unchained) is not quite as engaging as Hamilton's "Night's Dawn" trilogy, this is more than made up for in accessibility. Pandora's Star excels in this area; certainly not hard science fiction, it is easily picked up by those who might not be interested in the atomic weight of unobtanium and just want to get right to the story. When people ask what kind of books I read, I often simply let them borrow this book.

    Read this if you're looking for a fun romp through a futuristic "Independence Day" on a massive scale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    Pandora's Star will not work on my nook

    This book freezes up my nook. It will get to screen that say Opening your book, and that's as far as it will go.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7