BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Panic

Average Rating 4.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2005

    HIGH LEVEL INTRIGUE AND SUSPENSE

    When an unsuspecting person leading an ordinary existence is suddenly trapped in a horrifying, life threatening situation it is even more spine tingling than when readers/listeners know there's probably a psycho on the loose or an extra-terrestrial hovering. This abrupt twist is only one of the plots at which Jeff Abbott excels. In the case of 'Panic' we meet young film maker Evan Casher. Life is good for Evan - his career is on the upswing and his girl, Carrie, seems to be the woman he'd hoped to meet. One phone call from his mother turns his world upside down. He travels to Austin, Texas, only for a shocking surprise - his mother has been murdered and his father missing. Further, there's a swift attempt on Evan's life and he has no idea why. Evan has never heard of the Deeps, never even dreamed of a spy ring made up of sadistic killers but they're the ones pursuing him. They believe he has access to a computer file holding information that would seriously compromise the Deeps. How did this come to be? No spoilers here - suffice it to say that his mother, a travel photographer, and his dad, a computer whiz, were secret agents. What of Carrie who appeared to be the girl of his dreams? Those who remember Abbott's 'Cut and Run' and 'Black Jack Point well know this author turns out heart-stopping thrillers. Right on with 'Panic.' Voice performer L. J. Ganser (seen on TV's Guiding Light, As The World Turns, etc) turns in a pulse racing performance as Evan tries to stay alive, save his father, and discover the secrets of his past. High level intrigue and suspense at the touch of a button. Don't miss this one! - Gail Cooke

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Panic is a great thriller about a man discovering his life is a

    Panic is a great thriller about a man discovering his life is a lie. Brilliant writing. The plot unfolds at the perfect pace.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    What if you discover your whole life is a well constructed web o

    What if you discover your whole life is a well constructed web of lies? That's the premise of Jeff Abbott's Panic. It is a remarkable book. The plot never thins. Highly recommended.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A powerhouse of a thriller

    Twenty-four years old documentary filmmaker Evan Casher feels he owns the world and the universe is next in his grasp. The reasons he feels euphoric on life are his career seems on the verge of major success as he is in demand and he cherishes his girlfriend Carrie, who seems to reciprocate his high regard................ When his mother calls in a state of panic, a stunned Evan races to Austin to insure she is okay. However, he arrives as someone brutally murders his mother and tries to kill him too. Evan knows he is fortunate to escape with his life and that only because some weird former CIA operative Gabriel rescued him. On the run, Evan begins to learn what he thought was his heritage is a total fabrication. He has no idea what is going on or who to turn to for information. He quickly realizes he must trust no one including the agent who saved his life, law enforcement, the CIA, or even his maybe biological father he seeks for answers. He wonders if he has turned paranoid as Evan even questions whether Carrie was part of the fraud that he once called his life................... PANIC is a powerhouse of a thriller filled with twists and turns that keep readers guessing what is going on. Evan is a terrific center holding the tale together while coping with his shock that nothing about his life is true. The support cast adds depth to this Kafka existence in which the beleaguered hero feels like the Prisoner starring in a deadly version of The Truman Story...................... Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2005

    Highly recommended, but not outstanding

    This book has a lot going for it. There is a healthy serving of action, blood, a ton of suspense and more dead bodies than the New York City morgue on a busy night. The problems I found are few and far between, but do keep it from receiving a perfect score. The relationship between Evan & Carrie seems forced at times. This book isn't anything close to a romance novel, so the only reason I can see for the forced romance is to fill the necessary cliché. I personally was disappointed with the ending, but that's just me wishing things had turned out differently. There¿s great potential for a thriller Hollywood flick here. Over all, a great, fast paced read that should be finished in no time. The book got my adrenalin going a number of times and for that I give it just due. If I could award 4 1/2 stars, I would.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Great fast mystery read

    Really enjoyed, try it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    OMG

    This book is amazing!!!! For those of you who are looking for a new action packed novel look no further!!!!! I love this book l love the authorhe weaves the most amazing stories. I highly reccomend this!!!!!!!:D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Action packed thriller

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I had never read anything by this author and will most likely choose more of his stories to read. This book was thoroughly entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Excellent story

    Once again, another great Jeff Abbott story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Terrific read

    Holds your interest, fast paced, you never know who the enemy is

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Action packed - couldn't put it down.

    I have been reading Jeff Abbott's Sam Capra series, so I wanted to sample some of his other books. This was just as action packed and the storyline was good and the charactors were likable and deplorable, as intended. I recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Stephen Brayton for Readers' Favorite In Panic, Jef

    Reviewed by Stephen Brayton for Readers' Favorite

    In Panic, Jeff Abbott gives us Houston documentary filmmaker Evan Casher, who gets a frantic call from his mother in Austin. When he makes a hurried trip home, he finds her dead and is subsequently attacked. Thus begins his run from parties who insist he give them certain files they claim his mother sent. He does not know who he can trust, and this includes his girlfriend who is also part of a shadowy organization called the Deeps. From Texas to Louisiana, to Ohio, to London, and Florida, Evan tries not to panic as he traces the history of the Deeps and discovers his own family ties...and the fact that everything about his life and his parents are not what he believed.

    For the most part, Evan does NOT panic even when he sees his family history revealed. I heard more panic in those who want Evan to either die or cooperate. Abbott does a fine job of laying out the story, and drew me in with tantalizing bits of how Evan learns the truth little by little. There's intrigue, suspense, and corruption, and something a bit different from the usual run of spy thrillers out there. Something plausible and scary in that it could be true... I listened to the audio version and the narrator helped the story spur the imagination by using believable voices for each character. I've read Abbott's work before and in many of his stories, there's a touch of the bizarre. Panic is no exception. Plenty of action and twists to keep you going. Abbott writes another winner!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1