Customer Reviews for

Panic

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

PANIC is a wonderfully written book that taps into an almost ani

PANIC is a wonderfully written book that taps into an almost animalistic, uncontrollable need to chase something: change, a dream, a fresh start, hope, even revenge. PANIC tells the story of teenagers fearlessly giving their blood, sweat, tears, and lives, not just for ...
PANIC is a wonderfully written book that taps into an almost animalistic, uncontrollable need to chase something: change, a dream, a fresh start, hope, even revenge. PANIC tells the story of teenagers fearlessly giving their blood, sweat, tears, and lives, not just for the chance to win each challenge, but to hold onto the hope that it's not too late and anything is possible-- that the power to change their lives is just a summer away. Lauren Oliver writes their determination and seeming recklessness with a beautiful understanding that the desperation and fear of remaining hopelessly trapped is more powerful than the fear of risking their lives.

I highly recommend it for all YA readers. The novel that will leave you marveling at the insanity and absurdity of their life-threatening game, while simultaneously understanding and empathizing with the desires that lead the characters to such choices.

posted by Anonymous on March 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Panic by Lau

***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




Panic by Lauren Oliver
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: March 4, 2014
Rating: 1 star
Source: eARC from Edelweiss




Summary (from Goodreads):




Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,...
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




Panic by Lauren Oliver
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: March 4, 2014
Rating: 1 star
Source: eARC from Edelweiss




Summary (from Goodreads):




Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.




Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.




Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn't know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.




For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.




What I Liked:




Well, this book wasn't what I expected. I thought this book would be something like Epic by Conor Kostick, in which the game is a video game that people play, but that affects real life. Nope nope nope. Panic is an actual game in which people of Carp, New York, play after high school graduation. Only high school seniors play, and it's an actual game, in which you do things like jump off ledges and walk a tightrope and face tigers. It's weird. I guess you could kind of equate it to The Hunger Games, except you're living in your town, you're living your everyday life, but there are tasks that pop up every few days that you have to complete. 




I honestly don't know how to feel about this book. I read it, I finished it, I powered through it. I felt no connections to the characters. I could care less about the romance. I had no interest in the game of Panic. I don't understand the game. Really, I'm in a state of apathy. I don't care enough to hate this book, so I suppose I dislike it a lot. I really just don't know. Moving on.




What I Did Not Like:




Boring. Boring boring boring. This book was really boring. I mentioned above my state of apathy. Well. I was apathetic mostly because I was bored. I feel so proud of myself for finishing this book because WOW, it was boring. 




This book is all about Panic (duh), a game in which Heather, Nat, Dodge, and many other high school seniors participate. The prize is a pot of thousands of dollars. Teens complete crazy tasks, created and judged by two unknown judges, and the last one standing wins the pot. This book is told in the points-of-view of Heather and Dodge, but don't let that fool you - they're not the romantically involved couple.




So, this book follows Heather and Dodge. Both are trying to win. As are many other teens. Gosh, this book was so boring. The synopsis tried to make it sound mysterious and twisted and interesting. Nope - it was boring and superficial and predictable. And the parts that weren't as predictable were weird and not plausible. Like, Anne (Annie?) and her zoo? Um, yeah NO.




So I didn't care about the game. I didn't care about Heather. I didn't care about Dodge. I didn't care about Nat. I didn't care about Bishop, Ray, Lily, Krista, Vivian, Avery, etc. I felt like none of the characters were REAL, none had any depth to them. They were flat and two-dimensional, and I did not relate to any of them. Heather definitely had it the worst, and I wanted to feel for her at times, but then, not really. Even the whole thing with her mom - has she ever heard of Child Protective Services? Yeah okay.




Honestly, I could have cared less about Heather and her conflicted feelings towards Bishop. The same goes for Nat and Dodge. The romance in this book is so dry and distasteful. At first, I was like, go Heather and Bishop! And then after a while, I really did NOT care. In the Delirium series, there was TOO MUCH romance (there was a love triangle, I hear). In this book, the romance is not enough. It's too sparse and uninteresting.




By the way, I read Delirium. I actually liked it, mostly. But then I read and heard things about Pandemonium, and then Requiem, and I was like NOPE, not reading this series. So I don't have definitive facts for you when it comes to that series (though I do not for sure about the love triangle), but I can tell you know, Panic did not redeem Lauren Oliver in my eyes. I gave her a second chance (with this book), and I really did not enjoy this novel.




So the plot's bad (boring). The characters are bad (flat). The romance is bad (uninteresting). And the reader is apathetic (never a good sign). This just doesn't sound like a good one, does it? It wasn't that I absolutely loathed this book or anything. It's just that I cannot summon any emotion towards this book - maybe distaste, at the most. A little bit of pride, for finishing it.




Because let me tell you, people. I was in danger of not finishing this book since like, page one. I have never NOT finished a book before, but like I've said in previous reviews of books to which I gave low ratings, this could have been my first one. I did it though - I finished! So I've give you a fair review of this book - not a DNF review, or a half-created review.




Anyway, that's all I've got. I don't know what else to say. I really did not enjoy this book, mostly because it was boring and I just did not care.




Would I Recommend It:




Errr, no. Not at all. This book was really not that great. I definitely expected more from such a popular author, but that goes to show, popularity does not mean quality. No offense, but this book was NOT quality (in my opinion, of course).




Rating:




1.5 stars -> rounded down to 1 star. This book really just was NOT for me. Suffice it to say, I'm not a fan of Lauren Oliver's books.

posted by Alyssa75 on March 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    PANIC is a wonderfully written book that taps into an almost ani

    PANIC is a wonderfully written book that taps into an almost animalistic, uncontrollable need to chase something: change, a dream, a fresh start, hope, even revenge. PANIC tells the story of teenagers fearlessly giving their blood, sweat, tears, and lives, not just for the chance to win each challenge, but to hold onto the hope that it's not too late and anything is possible-- that the power to change their lives is just a summer away. Lauren Oliver writes their determination and seeming recklessness with a beautiful understanding that the desperation and fear of remaining hopelessly trapped is more powerful than the fear of risking their lives.

    I highly recommend it for all YA readers. The novel that will leave you marveling at the insanity and absurdity of their life-threatening game, while simultaneously understanding and empathizing with the desires that lead the characters to such choices.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    I think PANIC is my favorite of Lauren's books. First off, I'm

    I think PANIC is my favorite of Lauren's books.

    First off, I'm happy this is a standalone, which forces the pace and plot to ramp up dramatically and then reach a satisfying conclusion by the end of the book. I also enjoyed that Panic wasn't overly focused on romance, though there were some romantic scenes, and that it stayed grounded in the very realistic, gritty small town of Carp.

    I grew to like both main characters, Heather and Dodge, very much. I was especially invested in Heather's story, her troubled relationship with her family, and the just-slightly-magical element of her friendship with Anne.

    It's easy to picture this book being made into a movie -- Lauren's descriptions are so vivid. The cold rush of quarry water, the adrenaline pumping, the danger, the other kids watching each challenge from the sidelines... all beautifully written and evocative.

    Highly recommended!

    13 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Thrilling, unpredictable, and full of secrets, Panic was a fanta

    Thrilling, unpredictable, and full of secrets, Panic was a fantastic YA read. I really enjoyed reading this fantastic book. Absolutely wonderful!

    Panic was a game that came about from a group of bored teenagers. And, from there, it became a dangerous tradition that resulted in injuries and deaths. Every summer, the recent high school graduates complete in a series of challenges. Over the 4 years of high school, every student would contribute money to create the winning prize amount. The seniors would go through dangerous tasks, each eliminating more and more players, until the winner was chosen to win the money. All the while, two anonymous judges set the challenges and chose the winners. The whole situation that Lauren Oliver created was flawless. I could imagine that sort of thing happening in a small town full of bored teenagers. It was flawlessly built into a thrilling game that had me on the edge of my seat.

    The story is told through the main characters, Heather and Dodge, in alternating perspectives, so I'll focus on the narrators first.
    Heather was a tough chick. She didn't have the best situation at home and she wanted to win the money so that she could take care of her sister and get her away from her neglectful mother. She was strong, determined, and extremely dedicated to caring for her loved ones. I really liked her. She was definitely a worthy heroine.

    Dodge was a little sketchy at first. He wanted to win Panic as a means for revenge and he was quite ruthless about it at first. But, then his priorities shifted and it no longer became about winning, but about making sure he and his friends survived the games. I liked him. He was sweet and loyal to those he cared about. And he proved himself as a worthy character with what he did at the end. I thought he was great.

    The other two important characters were Bishop and Nat, Heather's friends. There were two separate romantic relationships: one between Bishop and Heather, and one between Dodge and Nat.
    Bishop was so sweet. I totally adored him. He was dedicated to protecting his loved ones and that meant he would do anything to protect Heather. He wasn't all sunshine, though, he had a dark side and quite a few secrets that I never saw coming. But, that only made me like him more. I thought he was wonderful.

    Nat, on the other hand, got on my nerves. She was mean. She lied, manipulated, insulted, and was somehow forgiven for it every time. I'm not sure why Dodge even liked her after the way she played him. She had her good moments, but I still didn't like her.

    The romance was very light. The story was really focused on the games, but the little bit of romance that did appear was sweet.

    The plot was well paced. I was kept interested the entire way through, though there were some parts that dragged a little. What I really love about Lauren Oliver's books is her ability to write so lyrically. Her writing itself was just gorgeous. The story was thrilling and the scenes of the challenges had me on the edge of my seat. I really enjoyed the story and I thought the ending was lovely.

    Panic was a wonderful YA read. It was thrilling, unpredictable, and full of surprises. I really enjoyed reading this fantastic book. Lovers of YA, this is a book  you'll want to check out.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Panic is an EXCEPTIONAL novel. It's more than just an examinatio

    Panic is an EXCEPTIONAL novel. It's more than just an examination of fear; it's also a powerful and sometimes disturbing look at what drives people, what connects them, and what helps them overcome the worst odds. This book is beautifully written, and, at times, heartbreaking. It winds its way under your skin as you read, until your pulse is pounding and you can't put it down. The ending took my breath away. Oliver's books always seem to go to a very dark place and then return, hopeful and redemptive. This is a great read and I can't recommend it enough!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    While PANIC is certainly a departure from the DELIRIUM trilogy,

    While PANIC is certainly a departure from the DELIRIUM trilogy, readers will NOT be disappointed. Lauren Oliver's trademark lyrical prose is still front and center and the plot is edge-of-your-seat exciting. I loved watching as Heather and Dodge's motivation for playing the game shifted from pure financial gain (for Heather) and pure revenge (for Dodge) to something MUCH more. I cannot recommend this book enough,

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    Excellent

    I love how well you feel like you know the characters. A must read for any age.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    It was ok

    Though this story was good I didn't really get connected to any of the characters. My favorite parts of the story were the games, the rest was just words to get through until the games happened again.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    loved it, it had me at the edge of my seat and it kept me turnin

    loved it, it had me at the edge of my seat and it kept me turning pages. BUY THIS BOOK!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2014

    Very different

    Not what I'd expect after the delirium series but still above average.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A fan of each and every one of Lauren Oliver¿s books to date, I

    A fan of each and every one of Lauren Oliver’s books to date, I was really excited to get my hands on Panic early. The blurb sounded really interesting. Danger! Intrigue! Romance! Unfortunately, it didn’t live up to my expectations. Don’t get me wrong, it was entertaining, but something was just missing.

    Panic is a game born out of the boredom of small-town teenagers. It is not a dystopian novel and there are no supernatural elements about it, despite how people are shelving it on Goodreads. It’s a straight-up contemporary novel with a bit of mystery, a bit of action and a bit of romance. Sadly, I didn’t find myself caring that much about any of it. I found it difficult to connect with the characters. The tasks they were to complete often seemed just plain stupid and dangerous, so I didn’t even find myself on the edge of my seat that much. These kids chose to do this. No one forced them. They weren’t trying to survive. They were playing a game. This is why I had a difficult time caring about what happened to them as a result of it. The friendships were confusing and I didn’t really feel the chemistry between Heather and Dodge.

    The book gets bonus points and a 3-star rating because it was incredibly well-written. No, the ideas didn’t really work for me and the characters weren’t ones I could sympathize with, but the writing was good and the intrigue was there if you could bring yourself to connect with the characters. The characters were well-developed and complex, just not particularly likable to me. There were some twists and turns in the book, but I didn’t find them all that unpredictable. I guessed the major twist before it was revealed.

    Not Lauren’s best book in my opinion, but it wasn’t a total waste of time either. A younger crowd would likely be able to relate to the characters and appreciate it more than I did.

    I received a copy of this book from the publisher, via Edelweiss, in exchange for an honest review. 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** Panic by Lau

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    Panic by Lauren Oliver
    Publisher: HarperTeen
    Publication Date: March 4, 2014
    Rating: 1 star
    Source: eARC from Edelweiss




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a dead-end town of 12,000 people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.




    Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She’d never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.




    Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game, he’s sure of it. But what he doesn't know is that he’s not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.




    For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of first love for each of them—and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.




    What I Liked:




    Well, this book wasn't what I expected. I thought this book would be something like Epic by Conor Kostick, in which the game is a video game that people play, but that affects real life. Nope nope nope. Panic is an actual game in which people of Carp, New York, play after high school graduation. Only high school seniors play, and it's an actual game, in which you do things like jump off ledges and walk a tightrope and face tigers. It's weird. I guess you could kind of equate it to The Hunger Games, except you're living in your town, you're living your everyday life, but there are tasks that pop up every few days that you have to complete. 




    I honestly don't know how to feel about this book. I read it, I finished it, I powered through it. I felt no connections to the characters. I could care less about the romance. I had no interest in the game of Panic. I don't understand the game. Really, I'm in a state of apathy. I don't care enough to hate this book, so I suppose I dislike it a lot. I really just don't know. Moving on.




    What I Did Not Like:




    Boring. Boring boring boring. This book was really boring. I mentioned above my state of apathy. Well. I was apathetic mostly because I was bored. I feel so proud of myself for finishing this book because WOW, it was boring. 




    This book is all about Panic (duh), a game in which Heather, Nat, Dodge, and many other high school seniors participate. The prize is a pot of thousands of dollars. Teens complete crazy tasks, created and judged by two unknown judges, and the last one standing wins the pot. This book is told in the points-of-view of Heather and Dodge, but don't let that fool you - they're not the romantically involved couple.




    So, this book follows Heather and Dodge. Both are trying to win. As are many other teens. Gosh, this book was so boring. The synopsis tried to make it sound mysterious and twisted and interesting. Nope - it was boring and superficial and predictable. And the parts that weren't as predictable were weird and not plausible. Like, Anne (Annie?) and her zoo? Um, yeah NO.




    So I didn't care about the game. I didn't care about Heather. I didn't care about Dodge. I didn't care about Nat. I didn't care about Bishop, Ray, Lily, Krista, Vivian, Avery, etc. I felt like none of the characters were REAL, none had any depth to them. They were flat and two-dimensional, and I did not relate to any of them. Heather definitely had it the worst, and I wanted to feel for her at times, but then, not really. Even the whole thing with her mom - has she ever heard of Child Protective Services? Yeah okay.




    Honestly, I could have cared less about Heather and her conflicted feelings towards Bishop. The same goes for Nat and Dodge. The romance in this book is so dry and distasteful. At first, I was like, go Heather and Bishop! And then after a while, I really did NOT care. In the Delirium series, there was TOO MUCH romance (there was a love triangle, I hear). In this book, the romance is not enough. It's too sparse and uninteresting.




    By the way, I read Delirium. I actually liked it, mostly. But then I read and heard things about Pandemonium, and then Requiem, and I was like NOPE, not reading this series. So I don't have definitive facts for you when it comes to that series (though I do not for sure about the love triangle), but I can tell you know, Panic did not redeem Lauren Oliver in my eyes. I gave her a second chance (with this book), and I really did not enjoy this novel.




    So the plot's bad (boring). The characters are bad (flat). The romance is bad (uninteresting). And the reader is apathetic (never a good sign). This just doesn't sound like a good one, does it? It wasn't that I absolutely loathed this book or anything. It's just that I cannot summon any emotion towards this book - maybe distaste, at the most. A little bit of pride, for finishing it.




    Because let me tell you, people. I was in danger of not finishing this book since like, page one. I have never NOT finished a book before, but like I've said in previous reviews of books to which I gave low ratings, this could have been my first one. I did it though - I finished! So I've give you a fair review of this book - not a DNF review, or a half-created review.




    Anyway, that's all I've got. I don't know what else to say. I really did not enjoy this book, mostly because it was boring and I just did not care.




    Would I Recommend It:




    Errr, no. Not at all. This book was really not that great. I definitely expected more from such a popular author, but that goes to show, popularity does not mean quality. No offense, but this book was NOT quality (in my opinion, of course).




    Rating:




    1.5 stars -> rounded down to 1 star. This book really just was NOT for me. Suffice it to say, I'm not a fan of Lauren Oliver's books.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Anonymous

    If you like THG you will like this book! Ex-highschool students battle it out for 67 grand. The book is told from the POV of Heather and Dodge. It is centered around them and their friends trying to win. Some of the book is centered around the personal life of Heather and Dodge. The book is a little violent,but is good for 13 years and up. Some 12 year olds can handle it, but it is better for teenagers. Overall, this was a great book and is worth a read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2014

    I did not enjoy this book as much as the Delirium trilogy.

    I did not enjoy this book as much as the Delirium trilogy.

    3 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I think the premise of this book is interesting, but the charact

    I think the premise of this book is interesting, but the characters left it feeling a little flat.

    I think the game of Panic is amazing. It’s dangerous, and scary as hell. It’s not something I’d ever participate in, but I can see why others would. I had to know what the next challenge was while I was reading. Each one is deadlier than the previous one. I was freaking out while reading some of them.

    Panic is told from the perspectives of Heather and Dodge. I had a hard time with them as narrators because I felt like they didn’t have much of a personality. They both have had hard lives, and ones that I wish wasn’t a reality. But the way they portrayed things felt like it lacked passion, I guess. I didn’t feel their anger, or anything. It’s like it just happened. I’m not sure that makes sense, but it does in my head. lol

    While the characters left me wanting more, the story is engaging.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    Loooooving this!

    Loooooving this!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2014

    PANIC, Oliver's third book is a gripping and extremely well-writ

    PANIC, Oliver's third book is a gripping and extremely well-written YA. The plot follows a group of high school seniors through a summer and a game that could change their lives or take it. Oliver threads the novel well with multiple characters and intersecting points of view that keep an intense urgency and force you to read on. She holds the reader at a close distance to her characters and makes you care about their progression. I would recommend everything written by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    Very good book. I really enjoyed it. It was different in a reall

    Very good book. I really enjoyed it. It was different in a really good way.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2014

    excellent book

    Hard time putting it down, one of her best novels

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2014

    I didn't think this book was that great, because it said it woul

    I didn't think this book was that great, because it said it would be filled with scary challenges throughout the whole book. Halfway through there was about only two or three challenges done. I also thought the characters were boring. And the challenges weren't that scary to me. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

       I've only ever read two books by Lauren Oliver before and the

       I've only ever read two books by Lauren Oliver before and they were both only 3 star reads. I guess what they say is true, the third time is the charm. This one is a thriller and it definitely takes you on a wild ride. I loved this one a lot more than I was expecting to. Overall it was a really good read with just a few things I wished could have been different. 
    "'No one had ever told her this basic fact: not everyone got to be loved."
    pg. 264 (ARC)
         I loved that this book was pitched as a thriller and it actually was. So many things had me on edge with this book. From the challenges, to the romances that were developing, to all the other things that the characters went through. I seriously read this in about 26 hours (minus about 7 hours of sleep). I was hooked from the beginning. In those few hours that I spent reading this I chewed all my fingers down to nubs. One was so bad I had to put a band-aid on it. I never wanted to put this book down. And by the way, I saw somewhere that this is listed as a dystopian.... But it doesn't say anything about it being after a specific event. Just that in that town where the kids there were young, bored, and dumb. 
    "'When you love someone, when you care for someone, you have to do it through the good and the bad. Not just when you're happy and it's easy."
    pg. 354 (ARC)
         One thing I didn't like though was the way it was obvious some things happened specifically to move along the plot. Now I get it, it's a book... EVERYTHING happens to move the plot, but do you have t make it obvious? I mean.... Tigers? (You'll see what I mean when you read it...) Fortunately, with all the action going on, one is able to overlook this situation.
    "'The bravery was in moving forward, no matter what."
    pg. 408 (ARC)
         Lastly, this wouldn't be an Oliver book without the romance. I have to admit, this one confused me. I definitely expected them to end up differently in the beginning, but as the story went on, I could see the direction everything was going. Also, since this was a thriller, it wasn't heavy on the romance which I loved. I mean let's be real, there is WAYYYYY too much going on to be worried about a boyfriend/girlfriend and a fight that y'all are having. Which makes me mad because this is basically what fueled it all. I was so mad that this caused her to do this. I hate that he had the power to make Heather feel that way. But in the end, she proved herself.
    "'There was always a way up and out and no need to be afraid."
    pg. 408 (ARC)
         Overall, this is already one of my favorites for the year! It's convinced me to go back to Oliver's Delirium series and finish it because I need to get back to her writing. In this thriller you will meet a girl and a guy who are both trying to win the most dangerous game they've ever played, all for the love of someone else.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5