BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Paper Angels: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I couldn't wait until I received this book in the mail. I’

I couldn't wait until I received this book in the mail. I’m very picky with who borrows it. I give them instructions on how to take care of it. No turning the pages down and make sure you use a book marker. Don’t lay it down flat with the book opened and thi...
I couldn't wait until I received this book in the mail. I’m very picky with who borrows it. I give them instructions on how to take care of it. No turning the pages down and make sure you use a book marker. Don’t lay it down flat with the book opened and things like that. I cherish it. I wasn't disappointed in the slightest with while reading it. I was captured from the beginning to the end. Jimmy Wayne has lived through trials and tribulations in his lifetime and shows in his writing. He also has a very wonderful sense of humor which shows in his writing. This is a down to earth book. It faces problems that good normal people can have and have had in this world; from being poor to being bullied. I have lived both of these things.
I am also a single mother that has had to endure the trials of living day to day at a dead end job. He describes how Thomas mother felt of not having a sense of self-worth. I have been there and lived it. This is an amazing read.
I know most everyone will buy this book for around Christmas time only. I suggest…. don’t wait. This is a book that exceeds far beyond just Christmas.
It also tells a tale of relationship between a grown man and God, and how God has a hand in everything! God can change anyone and anything. Just hold fast to him and gifts will come your way!
Thank you Jimmy Wayne and, Travis Thrasher for this wonderful read; both of you deserve more than pat on the back for this one!
Ann Bates!

posted by AnnCountry on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Page count please as last one of this combo was only 31 pages

Pages

posted by Anonymous on January 7, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    I couldn't wait until I received this book in the mail. I’

    I couldn't wait until I received this book in the mail. I’m very picky with who borrows it. I give them instructions on how to take care of it. No turning the pages down and make sure you use a book marker. Don’t lay it down flat with the book opened and things like that. I cherish it. I wasn't disappointed in the slightest with while reading it. I was captured from the beginning to the end. Jimmy Wayne has lived through trials and tribulations in his lifetime and shows in his writing. He also has a very wonderful sense of humor which shows in his writing. This is a down to earth book. It faces problems that good normal people can have and have had in this world; from being poor to being bullied. I have lived both of these things.
    I am also a single mother that has had to endure the trials of living day to day at a dead end job. He describes how Thomas mother felt of not having a sense of self-worth. I have been there and lived it. This is an amazing read.
    I know most everyone will buy this book for around Christmas time only. I suggest…. don’t wait. This is a book that exceeds far beyond just Christmas.
    It also tells a tale of relationship between a grown man and God, and how God has a hand in everything! God can change anyone and anything. Just hold fast to him and gifts will come your way!
    Thank you Jimmy Wayne and, Travis Thrasher for this wonderful read; both of you deserve more than pat on the back for this one!
    Ann Bates!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    Paper Angels - More than a Christmas story, It's an EVERYDAY story

    As a fan of both authors of this book, I had looked forward to reading PAPER ANGELS for well over a year before it was released, AND I had very high expectations. I can honestly say my expectations were met and exceeded!

    The Salvation Army Angel Tree program provides Christmas to disadvantaged children who would otherwise not receive gifts. Each child's name is written on a "Paper Angel" and placed on the Angel Tree to await being "adopted" by a kind-hearted person. Jimmy Wayne, co-author of PAPER ANGELS, was a Paper Angel child. It is from this experience, and with gratitude to those who gave, that PAPER ANGELS the book came to be.

    Jimmy and co-author Travis Thrasher have created a touching and memorable Christmas story, yet PAPER ANGELS is so much more than just a Christmas story. It's an everyday story with realistic characters living lives familiar to many who might read this book. All the characters, minor to major, are people you know or see everyday...neighbors, friends, co-workers, the guy selling papers on the corner, the woman waiting tables at the local diner, the mean kid at school, the new kid no one knows much about, the businessman with a desperate look, a mom who dearly loves her children, a father worried about providing for his family, someone at risk of losing everything dear to them...they could be you.

    The two main characters, 15 year old Thomas and 43 year old Kevin, come from different worlds and are at different points in their lives, yet something as simple as a Paper Angel randomly chosen from a Salvation Army Angel Tree links the characters together and begins a chain of events that changes both of their lives and those around them. As the reader takes this journey with them they experience every emotion possible...fear, hope, sadness, joy, humor, pain, questioning God, trusting God, anger, love, faith, forgiveness. There is a beautiful lesson for everyone in this story...adults, parents, teenagers, children. It's a story to be shared together as a family and passed along to friends. It opens one's eyes to seeking a better understanding of people you don't really know. It reminds us to appreciate what we have and the loved ones in our lives. It gives hope that a bad situation can be turned into good. It shows how a act of kindness can lead to something so much more and that forgiveness is one of the greatest gifts you can give to yourself.

    While PAPER ANGELS is fictional, those familiar with Jimmy Wayne and/or Travis Thrasher will find the authors put much of their personal selves into this story which makes it even more honest and real and a pleasure to read.

    Yes, PAPER ANGELS is a beautiful Christmas story...and so much more. It is a story that should be remembered and lived the whole year through. Buy this book, read it and be inspired to see the good in the world and to make a difference in someone's life. The first step could be this Christmas when you adopt a Paper Angel.

    And as you read this book, should you question whether an act of kindness can change a life, give someone hope...stop and remember that the book you are holding is a dream come true for a man that once was a Paper Angel.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Page count please as last one of this combo was only 31 pages

    Pages

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    I loved this book--I highly recommend it to anyone that hasn't r

    I loved this book--I highly recommend it to anyone that hasn't read it yet! It was powerful and touching to the soul--I will cherish it at the very top of my book collection--thanks for sharing the inspiring story! It reminds us not to lose faith and hope, and that the toughest times will pass to a path that leads to God's light in our life. It also reminds us of the true meaning of Christmas...besides the celebration of Christ of course, we must focus on giving instead of receiving just as he did for us. We see how putting others first can reward our lives and the lives of others in unknown, soul-changing ways. Bright spots in someone's life can save their life! There are so many good people in the world that can make it better for others. Make your mark in someone's life, and they'll make one in yours. To all--be an angel for the angels--sponsor children at Christmas:) KC

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    I love this book!!!

    I love this book!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2012

    Paper Angels by Jimmy Wayne Travis Thrasher is amazin story of

    Paper Angels by Jimmy Wayne Travis Thrasher is amazin story of Love Faith Hope that kindness exist this story leaves you feelin a movie should be Made show somtimes what you give to others brings you the Most Joy to see those who have done you wrong the power of forgivness . Buy read it I prayin it becomes a Movie

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Best Christmas Story Ever!

    I heard about this book from an interview with Jimmy Wayne on the Country Music TV station. It was so appealing that I immediately reached for my Kindle and ordered it! What a blessing! I finished in 2 days and have been giving it praises to all who will listen! Wonderful story and written to touch the heart.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Highly recommend for a delightful and refreshing look at what life could be...

    Keep reading past the first few chapters and you'll soon be hooked. You'll want to know how Jimmy Wayne intends to bring this tale of two households to an intersecting conclusion and wish for more when it does. Doing the most good should be the motto of all of us, not just the Salvation Army's

    Any reader wishing to be uplifted should read this book. Book clubs will find multiple topics to discuss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Wonderful

    It's a great story that gives hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Loved this book!

    I was a little hesitant to buy but once I got into it I couldn't put it down! A quick heartwarming story~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2014

    was not impressed - writing wasn't all that good but interesting

    was not impressed - writing wasn't all that good but interesting story line. little predictable. some parts weren't believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Amazing story that I think any Cristian can relate to. No matte

    Amazing story that I think any Cristian can relate to. No matter how hard we all think we have it, someone else out there has it worse and our lives are all entertwined in one way or another.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Awesome!!!

    If this book does not touch your heart nothing will! Jimmy Wayne and Travis Thrasher hit it out of the park with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Not just for the Christmas Season

    Paper Angels is a wonderfully written story that shows we can all make a difference, no matter what our circumstances are. It is a touching story that I highly recommend reading any time of the year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful story

    I absolutely loved this book. Beautiful holiday story. Will pull out and read again every holiday season. Great reminder to be thankful for what you have and help others any chance you get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good Christmas Story

    I thought the book was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Beautiful and Touching. This is a must read for the holidays.

    This was a wonderful book. Jimmy Wayne sends a powerful message about what Christmas is really about. I feel that the powerful yet simple language in this novel was a reflection of the unspoken words that have long resided in my heart. I'm putting this novel on the reading list for all my children. Merry Christmas and may God bless his Paper Angels everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    Didn't care for it

    It was picked for our reading club. It didn't draw me in to 'like' any of the characters. It was just a light 'fluff' book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Check it out

    Very touching! Reminds us that Christmas isn't about what we can get for ourselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2