BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Paper Bag Christmas

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2008

    Wonderful Book

    I loved this book, could not put it down once I started it. It will definately become a holiday tradition for me and in fact am ordering several copies for gifts. You won't be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    What a perfect book to read during the Christmas season!

    This was such a heartwarming story! Truly shows the beauty of Christmas, and that needing and wanting gifts is not what its all about. I really enjoyed it. Well worth the two plus dollars I paid for it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2012

    Wonderful story!

    I bought this as a gift. It it a wonderful, warm story about the power of friendship. I would hightly recommended it. It is written by a local author (Portland, Or.) and I have enjoyed several of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Best book ever

    Buy this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2011

    Would recommend

    A well written story that has an unusual storyline. I donated it to the local school library. Students would also enjoy the message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended - Very Heartwarming

    The Paper Bag Christimas was a humbling story that was so heartfelt. It's a book that you'll want to read and share with others. Such a great reminder of how caring and compassionate we all can be if we just open our hearts and be there for others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Wonderful story of love and compassion.

    This was such a heart-warming story and what the Christmas Spirit is all about. Good, clean reading. Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    This is a good book for elementary age through adult. A real Christmas Miracle feel~good story! Hope to get it into the elementary library I work at in time for next Christmas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    What a beautiful story and inspiring.

    The Paper Bag Christmas
    Author: Kevin Alan Milne

    As a book reviewer I am very seldom at a loss for words. I bought this book because I love Christmas, and after reading a review, I decided to buy it.
    I am having a hard time finding the words to do justice to this book. It is a beautiful story of two brothers named Aaron and Molar who discover, "The best gift they never wanted for Christmas."
    This book has made me smile and then cry at times. I can't recommend this book enough. All that I can say is buy this book, give yourself a present, you will not be disappointed. I wish all parents today would do what the parents in this book have done. Teach their children it is better to give then receive. Then their children will say, "The best gift I never wanted for Christmas." I would like to say to the author, "What a wonderful gift you have for writing"
    Sandra Heptinstall
    Whispering Winds Book Reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is my new favorite for holiday reading!

    The Paper Bag Christmas brings so much to the reader! I am a teacher who recommended this as a must read for families at Christmas to remind children and adults alike what the meaning of the season truly is... The gift at Christmas is about others and not about yourself and what you receive. The story brings to life the struggles of terminally ill children and two brothers, who see friendship and sharing in a new light on the ward at the childrens hospital. The doctor who plays santa, promises them the best Christmas if they will consent to spending time at the hospital with him and his patients and it is a promise fulfilled.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved the book, Paper Bag Christmas.

    I liked it so much I bought 3 more copies for Christmas gifts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    wonderful

    Added to our list of Christmas classics! Great feel good book that reminds us of the true meaning of Christmas! Stirs many emotions!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2009

    Excellent Read

    Loved this book so much I bought 13 copies and gave them to friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2009

    Triumph in the Cancer Ward

    What a great read! This journey takes you through a children's cancer ward as two boys learn the true meaning of Christmas.<BR/><BR/>If cancer has ever touched your life, you will read this through your tears. However, it is a book of hope filled with simple actions that change a child's life.<BR/><BR/>Great book for adults and also to share with your children.<BR/><BR/>Looking forward to Kevin Milne's next release in May 2009.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2009

    Great Book

    This was a great book. I love reading Christmas stories anytime of year and this one was one of my favorite.. I finished it in one night because I could not put it down....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful Book worth recieving AND giving!

    This is a truely amazing book.....it is one that will truely move your heart!!! This book is a life lesson in itself. I highly reccomend this book to those of you looking for a book to move your heart as well as teach you the meaning of a wonderful holiday we call Christmas!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    Great book for the whole family

    I loved reading this book. I am currently reading it to my 4 1/2 year old. We read one chapter a night and he likes it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    Bought 5; read twice!!!!!

    My husband and I purchased 5 copies of this book, 3 of them we gave away. We read it when it first came out and just finished it again last night. My husband has had a stroke and really can't read, so I read it aloud to him. It's a VERY touching book. LOVED it TWICE! Can't wait for his next book to hit the shelves; May 6th, I think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A MUST READ holiday book

    In the spirit of the holiday I consider The Paper Bag Christmas by Kevin Milne a MUST READ. True, it's an unusual title, however when you read the book you'll understand the significance. <BR/><BR/>The story is about two young brothers, 9 year old Molar (named after the tooth - his father is an Orthodontist) and Aaron, age 11. Like many children around the holiday the brother got caught up in the commercialism of the season and had a wish list a mile long (not unlike my 'tween daughter). <BR/><BR/>The day after Thanksgiving the boy's father takes them to the mall to meet Santa, who unbeknown to them Santa is really Dr. Ringle, a Pediatric Oncologist and also a friend of their father. Santa (Dr. Ringle) tells the boys to meet him at a local Children's Hospital where they will find everything they ever wanted for Christmas.<BR/><BR/>Once at the hospital the boys are assigned the task of playing Elves to Santa and assisting Santa. While at the hospital the boys make friends with some of the patients while getting ready to participate in the hospital's Christmas pageant. <BR/><BR/>Aaron befriends a young boy name Madhu who is in desperate need of a transplant. Madhu has lots and lots of questions about Christmas for Aaron and he wants to play the part of the fourth Wise Man so that he can give a special gift to baby Jesus. <BR/><BR/>Molar, or Mo, becomes friends with a little girl name Katrina. She's had many surgeries and as a result she is covered in scars. She's is a very sad and lonely little girl who wears a paper bag over her had so that no one can see the damage to her face. <BR/><BR/>Without giving away the ending (but I'm sure you can sort of figure it out) the boys finally learn what Christmas is truly about. It's not about the latest and greatest video game, or $120+ Ugg boots (hello my dear sweet daughter!). Christmas is about love, friendship, caring and giving. Just as the Wise Men gave gifts to baby Jesus, Katrina, Madhu and the other children at the Pediatric Hospital gave Mo and Aaron the great Christmas of all by showing them the TRUE meaning of Christmas. <BR/><BR/>This is one of those books that I like to refer to as a "keeper". I will be re-reading this book every Christmas. Let me forewarn you that this book will make you cry, but in a good way. <BR/><BR/>I recommend giving this book to anyone you know who is caught up with the commericalism of the holiday as a reminder to think about the real reason for this season. Please note that this is not a "religious" book but more so a book about hope, love, friendship and the greatest gift of all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The True Meaning of Christmas!!!!!!!

    This book was awesome. It tells the story of how two boys find the true meaning of Christmas and it is not what you get, but what you can give to others at this time of year and all year round. We get so wrapped up in what we want and don't think about other people during the Christmas season. It was funny and sad at times. Very well written. I will be interested to see more from this author in the future. I put this story up there with The Christmas Shoes.<BR/><BR/>He writes this story from a first person standpoint and draws you into the story as if he is writing a memoir of his childhood. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2