BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Paper Towns

Average Rating 4.5
( 777 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(518)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(22)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

136 out of 138 people found this review helpful.

This book changed my life.

The first book I read by John Green was an Abundance of Katherines. I was hooked. This brilliant man who I knew through Nerdfighting and Brotherhood 2.0 videos had a completely different, and yet the same, side. He could write far better than almost any modern author I'...
The first book I read by John Green was an Abundance of Katherines. I was hooked. This brilliant man who I knew through Nerdfighting and Brotherhood 2.0 videos had a completely different, and yet the same, side. He could write far better than almost any modern author I'd read- and that was only his second book. I read An Abundance of Katherines three times after I got it, and promptly bought a copy for myself. Then, I heard about Paper Towns. I had to read it. If it were even half as good as his other books, then it would be a miracle. But it wasn't. It was exponentially more amazing.

I read the whole book in one day. I checked it out from the library in the morning at school and read it under my desk in class all day long. In seventh period, I read the last sentence, having heard nothing of class all day, closed the book, amazed, and excused myself to go deliver the book to one of my friends, who had begged me to lend her the book when I finished it, in her math class. I couldn't wait to pass it on.

Everything about Paper Towns screams MASTERPIECE like nothing I've ever read. In the first fifteen minutes after the final punctuation, Paper Towns beat out each and every one of my favorite books, some of which I've called my favorite since elementary school, and became my favorite book.

The characters are real, alive, vibrant. You can feel the story and live it along with them. John Green makes you cry one moment and laugh your ass off the next, all in one fluid motion. This book... is amazing. I feel like I've known Q my whole life. Hell, I'm even ordering a Black Santa online.

If you haven't yet, buy this book. Read it. You'll never, ever regret it.

Everything about Paper Towns is just beautiful. I can't say it enough. My way of thinking was changed. My way of writing was changed. My way of talking was changed. My way of life was changed. This book, though it is printed on paper, is NOT a paper book, to be passed by. By no means 2-dimensional, this book is like the V for Vendetta of literature- everyone should experiance it. Paper Towns changed my life, and my perspective of modern literature.

Buy this book.

posted by 1094801 on March 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

i reread the first 60 pages over and over and just could not get

i reread the first 60 pages over and over and just could not get into this book. i put it away for 2 months then tried to read it again with no luck.

posted by Des_Fred on January 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 777 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This book changed my life.

    The first book I read by John Green was an Abundance of Katherines. I was hooked. This brilliant man who I knew through Nerdfighting and Brotherhood 2.0 videos had a completely different, and yet the same, side. He could write far better than almost any modern author I'd read- and that was only his second book. I read An Abundance of Katherines three times after I got it, and promptly bought a copy for myself. Then, I heard about Paper Towns. I had to read it. If it were even half as good as his other books, then it would be a miracle. But it wasn't. It was exponentially more amazing.

    I read the whole book in one day. I checked it out from the library in the morning at school and read it under my desk in class all day long. In seventh period, I read the last sentence, having heard nothing of class all day, closed the book, amazed, and excused myself to go deliver the book to one of my friends, who had begged me to lend her the book when I finished it, in her math class. I couldn't wait to pass it on.

    Everything about Paper Towns screams MASTERPIECE like nothing I've ever read. In the first fifteen minutes after the final punctuation, Paper Towns beat out each and every one of my favorite books, some of which I've called my favorite since elementary school, and became my favorite book.

    The characters are real, alive, vibrant. You can feel the story and live it along with them. John Green makes you cry one moment and laugh your ass off the next, all in one fluid motion. This book... is amazing. I feel like I've known Q my whole life. Hell, I'm even ordering a Black Santa online.

    If you haven't yet, buy this book. Read it. You'll never, ever regret it.

    Everything about Paper Towns is just beautiful. I can't say it enough. My way of thinking was changed. My way of writing was changed. My way of talking was changed. My way of life was changed. This book, though it is printed on paper, is NOT a paper book, to be passed by. By no means 2-dimensional, this book is like the V for Vendetta of literature- everyone should experiance it. Paper Towns changed my life, and my perspective of modern literature.

    Buy this book.

    136 out of 138 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2009

    Simply amazing

    When I first started reading this book I was completely in love with it. It was one of those books where you laugh out loud, cry, and think a lot. I think we can all relate to some of the situations in this books. It was really amazing. It kind of teaches us that we can chase somebody across the United States, but in the end our fantasies won't become real. I really liked the characters in this story. I would be reading in class and just bust out laughing. It was really good and now it's one of my all-time favorite books.

    81 out of 85 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Mmhhhhhh

    Wow. I first read the fault in oir stars (also bby john green) and thought and still claim that it is my allbtime favorite book. So when i found paper towns i was like"YEAH BUDDY? GIMME MY FIX OF JOHN GREEN FOR THE NEXT 3 DAYS". because i already knew i would read this book in that minimal amount of time. But i was wrong. This book was so explicitly awesome that i finisshed it in 2 days. Paper towns has such a unique story line with amazingly funny, bright characters who make you hate your friends because they aren't like them. Super funny and in depth thinking, great for everyone especially teens. Mr. Green, if you happen to come across this review, i want you to know that if you ever. EVER, stop writng books, punch a wall. Yeah that,s right. Be intimidated by my wall punching. (I really hoped that made u laugh because i was trying reeeaallyyy hard hahaha). ANYWAYS! Every humam being should read this book.

    24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A story of growing up, self discovery, endings and beginnings

    The story has so many layers it was like peeling the layers from an onion only to discover more layers underneath.

    Written in 1st person narrative, from Quentin's (Q's) perspective. Q was surprisingly easy to relate to even in my female dominated household. Q epitomises the boy next door stereotype. A good student and all round nice guy. John Green makes geek/nerd sexy.

    Margo & Q are tied together by a traumatic incident in their childhood. Although no longer friends, Q has had a crush on Margo from an early age. Following their night of adventure and Margo's subsequent disappearance, Q has to analyse how well he knows/doesn't know Margo.

    The notion that we are different versions of ourselves with different people really comes under scrutiny within the narrative. How well do we really know someone when we only see a single side of them. In the same context how well do we know ourselves, when we are different with different people. There are a complex set of psychological theories beautifully entwined in the plot.

    Making Q's parents psychiatrists in the story adds an extra dimension to the analysis. Elements of the nature versus nurture debate especially with the contrasts between Q's parents and Margo's.

    The use of Walter Whitman's poem Leaves of Grass within the plot adds another layer to the story (see what I mean about peeling the layers of an onion). The analysis of the poem parallels the analysis of people within the plot.

    Q evolves tremendously throughout the book. At the start he has always been on the periphery of his own life. Through his search for Margo, he discovers who he really is. I think that is why finding Margo became a compulsion for him, as he was also finding himself.

    I adored John Green's writing style, the use of metaphors & similes were fantastic. Decay never sounded so good :0)

    A story about growing-up, self discovery, endings & beginnings. The realisation that the world is a big place and we are just a small part of the whole. A highly recommended read :0)

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    A great, thought provoking novel

    Margo Roth Speigleman is one popular girl. On the outside she appears to have it all, the looks, the friends, the personality but in all honesty her inside is a mystery to the world. Margo is especially a mystery to Quentin, or Q, who¿s been her neighbor ever since they were little kids.<BR/><BR/>When they were young they used to do everything together. Some may have even considered them to be best friends. Now though they are about to graduate high school and they barely even acknowledge each other¿s presence. One night though Margo appears in his window dressed as though she was ready to go rob a bank.<BR/><BR/>She¿s on a mission to pay back all the people who have wronged her and she is determined to complete her list before the next morning. Using Q as her mode of transportation, she gives him the night of his life. Then she disappears and is now an even bigger mystery to him. Leaving him few clues and a lustrous heart Q is determined to find Margo, and maybe even himself.<BR/><BR/>John Green has done it again, except maybe even better then the last two times. Both his other books have always been near and dear to me, but this one was particularly special. It was compiled of all the classic Green elements of, nerdy guy wanting amazing girl, girl being a little out there, guy finding himself on the way to getting the girl, but it also had this extra wow factor included that easily made it his best book yet.<BR/><BR/>I could really feel not only the characters emotions, but also the author¿s in every sentence. Many times I found myself laughing along, feeling upset, or just plain frustrated with the events in the story and started wondering if this was a real life experience. There was such truth and purpose to each word that the book seemed alive in many aspects. The characters had real personalities and it was easy to imagine them as real people and these characters dealt with mostly real life situations that I could easily picture myself in. I loved how everything felt so real and alive that most of the time it was excruciatingly hard to come back to reality.<BR/><BR/>For me the plot line was very original and compelling. It was also really easy to relate to. I know in this case that everyone can find someone in the story that they know. Whether it be yourself or a really good friend, you¿re sure to find someone similar enough for the story to really hit home. I know in my case I was really able to see where the very complex and interesting Margo was coming from. She reminded me a lot of a close friend and helped me see where she might be coming from. It was very evident that the author put a lot of time and effort into developing his characters, which I know as a reader is the mark of a truly great author.<BR/><BR/>This book is one of the deepest and quickest reads you¿ll find. You¿ll never want it to end and you¿ll find great meaning in it. Paper Towns is truly an unforgettable book that is easily the best of the best. With no doubt I am sure it is the best book of 2008 and one my of my new personal favorites.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    in One word Amazing

    Wben you look at the headline of my review, you may be turned off by my random capitalization, but that actually is a portion of the book, and a very clever one, at that. Paper Towns is a book that you pick up, you laugh a lot, you cry a little, you think a lot, you piece things together. It is everything a realistic fiction book needs and so much more. The characters are lifelike beyond words and MANY things said in the book remind me 100% of my friends. This is officially one of my favorite books now, a real page-turner to say the least.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Amazing book!

    Definitely a must read for John Green fans. This book plays with your mind on the ups and downs of a "paper perfect" town. The book leaves you with immense feelings of awe. I cant even describe how i felt after this book was over. It was just so good. GO NERDFIGHTERS ;)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Made of Awesome!

    I loved Paper Towns. That's basically it. But seriously, I only got it in January (yay for Barnes and Noble gift cards!) but I've already read it twice and I'll probably be reading it for a third time very soon. That's how good it is- I've owned An Abundance of Katherines for over a year and have just now gotten around to reading it a second time but Paper Towns? Twice in three months and it never got dull. The awesomeness that comes out of John Green's mind is unbelievable. Yeah, I love your books John. And Hank rocks too :D...DFTBA!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    another great book from John Green

    John Green has once again given us the gift of an awesome novel.<BR/>He doesn't have a cult-like following for no reason. He is very talented and unlike many other modern Y/A authors. Mr. Green writes well, something that many other Y/A authors forget to do while they are constructing familiar plots full of empty, but attractive, "characters". <BR/><BR/>Paper Towns is an entertaining mystery that I just could not put down. Q, Ben & Radar are hilarious and engaging and Margo Roth Spiegelman is interesting and mysterious (that's kind of the point, isn't it?). I thoroughly enjoyed Paper Towns and I have suggested it to all of my friends.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    I mostly liked it for the humor...

    It was a deep and good feeling book with a lot of humor. If you have a taste for mysterious stories this is a good one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    i reread the first 60 pages over and over and just could not get

    i reread the first 60 pages over and over and just could not get into this book. i put it away for 2 months then tried to read it again with no luck.

    4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Why this deserves 5 stars

    This books actually makes you think about seterotyping people before you even know who they are, which we all do. Also it makes you realize tht not everything is two sided but three dimensional.
    John Greene developed his characters beautifully as always and although the ending was a little upsetting, even for Q, it does not take away from the book.
    Finally if you are reviewing a book please do not compare it to other books you've read, no book is exactly the same and no book deserves to be down graded because it was not as good as TFIOS (for example). You do have the right to your opinions just please keep them out of the reviewing. PS I know i am currently villating my own rule...please dont call me a hippocrit

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Oh boy

    Love John Green. However really really disliked Margo on so many levels and it's hard to like a book when you despise the central character.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Great!

    The book was, in my opinion, fantastic! Every aspect, details incorporated, the clues; it was all very well put together and flowed perfectly. Another book well done, John Green. Keep it up. (:

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Paper town

    Strange but inspiringly beatiful

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    This is the first John Green book that I have read, and I must s

    This is the first John Green book that I have read, and I must say that I am really impressed. His writing is simple; yet, at the same time really rich in meaning. I didn't think that a senior in high school, could teach me anything about life that I didn't already know myself but I was definitely wrong.




    I adore Quentin, the narrator. He reminds me a bit of myself: having a schedule and always sticking to it, planning his life out and doesn't take any detours. Until he goes on this one night crazy adventure with Margo, and his whole perspective changes.




    The adventure that Q and Margo went on was hilarious, and fun. Something that you would only see in the movies, but wish could happen in real life.




    I really like Q's journey throughout the story, where he learns about Margo and his friends and most importantly, about himself. What is he willing to change, and what he is not.




    This book has a chuck full of memorable quotes, and crazy adventures with characters that I wish were real.




    Can't wait to read other books from Mr. Green! I am so glad that I bought the autograph box set, since I have three other amazing books to choose from.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Recommended for the most part

    John Green's writing is the most high quality kind I have ever read. It has personality and spunk, Which is pretty much the only reason why i continued with this story line. I enjoyed the way the story ended, unfortunately parts of the story seemed pretty repetitive such as the mini mart scene. But all in all I love the way John writes and i will continue reading the rest of his works.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2014

    Paper Towns is a realistic book that relates to everyday life.

    Paper Towns is a realistic book that relates to everyday life.




    Paper Towns is a realistic book on self-discovery along with new beginnings and endings to life. Everything that was conveyed throughout the story was just like something you see everyday. For instance, one thing that instantly caught my attention were the friendships. The strongest bond, in my opinion, was the one between Q, Radar, and Ben. Their friendship definitely had its ups and downs. One day, they were happy and getting along, the next, they were fighting. Even though they weren’t always on good terms, at the end of the day - no matter what - they still acted like brothers. A huge component to the book, was the love. It was like something you see in movies. The story between Q and Margo was portrayed perfectly. Sure, they had good days and bad days, but don’t all relationships? Something that happened between them - that was a huge plot twist - was when Margo left Orlando, Florida without telling anyone - especially Q - where she was going or why. Going along with that, Margo left at only 18 years of age. Some teenagers out there, do the same thing or plan to. This book shares how the characters learn to find themselves and how some beginnings are just meant to end at some point. It has changed my perspective on life and those who encounter with along the way.  The storyline was explained exquisitely and would recommend it to those of all ages. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Almost beat Looking for Alaska for my favorite book.

    Another great from my favorite author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2014

    Any sex?

    I want to read but is there any sex?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 777 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 39