Customer Reviews for

Paper Towns

Average Rating 4.5
( 860 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(578)

4 Star

(158)

3 Star

(77)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

156 out of 159 people found this review helpful.

This book changed my life.

The first book I read by John Green was an Abundance of Katherines. I was hooked. This brilliant man who I knew through Nerdfighting and Brotherhood 2.0 videos had a completely different, and yet the same, side. He could write far better than almost any modern author I'...
The first book I read by John Green was an Abundance of Katherines. I was hooked. This brilliant man who I knew through Nerdfighting and Brotherhood 2.0 videos had a completely different, and yet the same, side. He could write far better than almost any modern author I'd read- and that was only his second book. I read An Abundance of Katherines three times after I got it, and promptly bought a copy for myself. Then, I heard about Paper Towns. I had to read it. If it were even half as good as his other books, then it would be a miracle. But it wasn't. It was exponentially more amazing.

I read the whole book in one day. I checked it out from the library in the morning at school and read it under my desk in class all day long. In seventh period, I read the last sentence, having heard nothing of class all day, closed the book, amazed, and excused myself to go deliver the book to one of my friends, who had begged me to lend her the book when I finished it, in her math class. I couldn't wait to pass it on.

Everything about Paper Towns screams MASTERPIECE like nothing I've ever read. In the first fifteen minutes after the final punctuation, Paper Towns beat out each and every one of my favorite books, some of which I've called my favorite since elementary school, and became my favorite book.

The characters are real, alive, vibrant. You can feel the story and live it along with them. John Green makes you cry one moment and laugh your ass off the next, all in one fluid motion. This book... is amazing. I feel like I've known Q my whole life. Hell, I'm even ordering a Black Santa online.

If you haven't yet, buy this book. Read it. You'll never, ever regret it.

Everything about Paper Towns is just beautiful. I can't say it enough. My way of thinking was changed. My way of writing was changed. My way of talking was changed. My way of life was changed. This book, though it is printed on paper, is NOT a paper book, to be passed by. By no means 2-dimensional, this book is like the V for Vendetta of literature- everyone should experiance it. Paper Towns changed my life, and my perspective of modern literature.

Buy this book.

posted by 1094801 on March 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

i reread the first 60 pages over and over and just could not get

i reread the first 60 pages over and over and just could not get into this book. i put it away for 2 months then tried to read it again with no luck.

posted by Des_Fred on January 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    It was okay but not his best.

    Thus story was okay, but I found myself wondering why the protagonist and his friends missed the last few weeks of their senior year, including graduation, to find the antagonist when she didnt want to be found. The antics preceeding the antagonist's departure were entertaining, as well as the process of solving the mystery of where she went, but I feel the story premise was lacking. Also, I skipped the car ride chapters after Hour Four, and just went to the chapter on Algoe NY just so I could get to the ending, which was lackluster.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Its alright

    No real depth to it. Margos character should of been in it more

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    I have mixed emotions about this book. I enjoyed the mystery and

    I have mixed emotions about this book. I enjoyed the mystery and I enjoyed the characters. However I felt that the ending was a little bit disappointing. I understand that not all endings can go as we (the readers) would like, but I feel that the ending was lacking something. I was frustrated at the end of this book, because I expected better of John. I must be one of the few who feels this way however, because they are now turning this book into a movie. I would recommend this book, it just would not be at the top of my list for "John Green recommendations". 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Pretty good 3 1/2 stars

    This book was pretty good but not one of Green's best. I have read a couple of Green's books which I LOVED including TFIOS. TFIOS is one of my favorite books because I connected with Hazel in some ways where as in this book I didn't connect to Q. Quentin to me was a bit obsessed with Margo which kind of creeped me out. I got passed that though until the second section. In the second section I was bored and found Quentin getting more obsessed and Margo seeming werider. I feel that about half of the second section could of been cut. The first part and third part were my favorite parts because i loved how the charcters connected and how they were in real life and I didn't Queitin and Margo and the rest of the crazy bunch were. The road trip (3rd part) was the most action packed so if you feel like giving up halfway through just stick with it because it gets better! Happy reading!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Paper Towns ¿ John Green To start off, I personally think this i

    Paper Towns – John Green
    To start off, I personally think this is the worst John Green book I’ve ever read, I would rate it a 3 out of 5 stars. I would give it this rating because first, some parts were hard to understand. I just did not get why they were put in the book. For example, Ben drinking beer to the point of absurd intoxication, or the Black Santa’s that Radars parents collected. Also, I didn’t enjoy how the author did not explain some of the quotes that were mentioned from the book M left Q, it was early English, and did he really expect us to understand it? Worst of all, in my opinion, was the ending. Then again, this book is known for an unhappy ending. I just didn’t like how he ended it with them finding Margot only for her to be upset with their resolution.  But, on the other hand, some parts were easy for me to connect too. Although some people rave about this book, I wouldn’t recommend it. I got very bored, which explains why it took me so long to read it. Overall, I really did enjoy the message it had, definitely has you thinking by chapter three.    –Jayla 



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    It was ok.....

    It was ok and i liked the ending, but there was not much to it. It kind of gave me the story line not the actual story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Not the best of John Green, but very notable indeed.

    Not the best of John Green, but very notable indeed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Paper Towns

    Green, J. (2008). Paper Towns. New York: Dutton Books.
    9780525478188
    Paper Towns was pretty much what I had come to expect from author John Green: Quirky characters, humorous dialogue, endearing deeper meanings and thin, white, teen boys seeking some aspect of a particular girl.
    Green's narrator, Quentin, spends a lot of the novel ruminating on how he sees others, particularly his long-time neighbor, recent partner in pranks, and runaway love interest, Margo Roth Spiegelman, the most popular girl at their high school. The book extends out into questioning if a person can ever truly know another and looks at how complicated people are.
    While Green's writing still manages to make me laugh out loud fairly regularly, I did find that the dialogue-heavy ending did pain me a little as I read. It felt a little too meaningful, too sentimental. But then, the end of high school and high school friendships, with all the changes, uncertainties and leavings are often just that. This would be a good final book for a teacher to share with graduating seniors.
    There is an extensive scene in the novel that involves underage drinking. Quentin remains sober and is witness to the humorous antics of his drunken schoolmates while waiting to act as their designated driver. The scene confirms the conclusion I learned as a teen: Alcohol is much more entertaining when you're not the one consuming too much of it.

    Activities to do with the book:
    Read the works of literature and poetry mentioned throughout the novel (including Moby Dick, The Bell Jar, and the poetry of Emily Dickinson, T.S. Eliot and Walt Whitman). As a project, have students grow grass in clear pots so they can see the extent of the root structure. Do reflective journal writing. Discuss the characterizations of the characters and the way people are characterized in our minds. Discuss the treatment of race, class, the act of leaving, etc.
    Oh, and of course, you can ask students why the book was published with two different covers and ask which of them they prefer.
    I myself tend toward the unsmiling, moody, blue cover of angst. But that is me.

    Favorite Quotes:
    "I shaved this morning for precisely that reason. I was like, 'Well, you never know when someone is going to clamp down on your calf and try to suck out the snake poison'" (p. 75).
    -This is also when I tell myself when I've avoided shaving my legs for too long. Margo and I are so alike-or is it just my perception of the world that we're alike, hmm?
    "No, I love you. Not like a sister loves a brother or like a friend loves a friend. I love you like a really drunk guy loves the best girl ever" (p. 187).
    "They'd given me a minivan. They could have picked any car, and they picked a minivan. A minivan. O God of Vehicular Justice, why dost thou mock me? Minivan, you albatross around my neck! You mark of Cain! You wretched beast of high ceilings and few horsepower!" (p. 232).

    For more of my reviews, visit sjkessel.blogspot.com

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2015

    John Green puts an understanding of the teenage mind so perfectl

    John Green puts an understanding of the teenage mind so perfectly. I've read TFIOS and Finding Alaska and both capture what it's like to be a teenager and it's refreshing to read books that actually true to your life and struggles and thoughts. John Green has a talent and a way with words that is so fun and witty and sarcastic and attitudinal and exactly mimics how teenagers think. 

    The only reason I give this book 3 stars is because while the main character was interesting and funny and awkward and relatable, the book had too much of a build up. I mean, you read about him thinking about Margo, wanting to touch Margo, wanting to see Margo and all that and it's not until the last four or five pages that the interaction occurs and that to me was frustrating. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2015

    Hmmm

    This is a good book think but i dont think it is good for kids but i also think it would be good for middle schoolers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2015

    OK

    Not the best by John Green, didnt like the end and felt like it ended too soon. Where did Margo go and where did Quentin end up going? Just not my favorite. Still would reccomend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2015

    YOU NEED TO SEE THIS!!!!

    Kiss your hand 3 times. Post this meesage on 3 different books. Then look under your pillow

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2015

    As I finished the last page, I can¿t really put a name to what I

    As I finished the last page, I can’t really put a name to what I felt.  I’m not sure if I liked the book at all to be honest.  I didn’t like Margo.  She is too self-centered and a bit pushy, if you ask me.  I also wasn’t sure if I liked Q.  He seems too unlike a teenage boy: too pretentious and too focused.
    Anyway, I found myself interested in the mystery but not really enjoying the characters.  I really liked Ben, Radar, and Lacey.  Those three seemed believable to me.  These are people I have seen at my own high school.  I kept reading for them and for the mystery.  I mean I had to figure out how the dead guy at the beginning was connected to Margo!  There had to be a logical explanation!
    Will I see the movie?  I don’t know.  This hasn’t convinced me that I will enjoy the movie but I’m also kind of curious.  Maybe I’ll rent it out of Red Box someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    I read Looking For Alaska...

    If you're looking for the same book, same characters, but a different setting and a somewhat more satisfying ending then this is a good one for you. It took me a bit longer to read just because I felt like I was reading LFA all over again. Not a bad book, overall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2014

    Worth reading but not super

    After reading "If I Stay" and "Where She Went", two teriffic books, I was expecting more which is not fair I guess. The characters in "Paper Town" are good though, and there is a mystery which does get solved. It would make an entertaining film more so than a book, especially if you have been in and around the theme parks in Orlando, Florida.

    There are constant references to Walt Whitman so if you are familiar with his work, you would probably enjoy it more than I did; again, not fair on my part.

    So, 3 maybe 4 stars -- the other two got 5 from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    I really liked this book until the ending. It was disappointing.

    I really liked this book until the ending. It was disappointing. For me at least. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    I liked it until the end. I thought when it came down to the end

    I liked it until the end. I thought when it came down to the end of the road trip it could have been better and more surprising.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2014

    Paper Towns?  More like Paper FROWNS!

    Paper Towns?  More like Paper FROWNS!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    Could have been great

    This novel had many incidents you could relate too, but I found myself getting frustrated with Margo throughout the book. I guess after reading TFIOS I expected another book that I wouldn't be able to put down. This was definitely not like that. The book isn't horrible, it has its good and its bad. It's just ehh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Hi

    Kiss your hand three time and post this on three different book.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4