Customer Reviews for

Parable of the Sower

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Startling author.

    I read Wildseed and and was horrified and hooked at the same time. This author has an imagination like no other. I was saddened to read she died and so there will be no more books from her. I read her books for entertainment but she has much to offer in social commentary. Check out all her books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    rebelgurlJMS@yahoo.com

    I am in 8th grade and was given a list of books for a project I have to do. The list was called 'Outstanding Books for College Bound,' and as I looked through this list the only one that stood out was Parable of the Sower. I believe anyone looking for a challenging yet exciting book to read should choose this one! It's one of those books that you forget you reading and you end up reading it for hours!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2003

    You decide.

    I read this book my freshmen year, and although it took offguard at how visual it was, it definetly was a favorite. The hidden messages and idea of pursuing so strongly something you believe in, yet have contrived all yourself was altogether intresting. Insightful, and if your willing to open your mind and take a different look at things, I think you'll enjoy it. I did. But if your not into graphic visuals, this probably isn't for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2001

    Interesting

    I, at first, hated this book because it sounded too preachy, but it has a good point. Cultures have fallen all throughout history. What's to say that it won't happen to us? Are we ready?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    Incredible Book!

    This is a great book not only in the ways it signifies upon other African American texts, but also because of what it says about the state of our present society and what it could lead to. Everyone should read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Grace's review of Parable of the Sower

    Parable of the Sower is an award winning science fiction novel, written by Octavia Butler in 1995. The novel focuses on several themes such as, religion, empathy, violence, the struggle for survival, and culture diversity. Sixteen year old Lauren who suffers from hyperempathy syndrome guides the story. Empathy is the ability to feel other people's pain. Everyday the characters struggle to survive in the chaotic twenty-first century. Therefore, Lauren decides to embark on the life threatening journey to escape the horrors of daily life. Throughout the story Butler creatively intertwined suspenseful scenes with thoughtful ideas to create a well written modern science fiction novel. Parable of the Sower is a fun quick read that I would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2009

    A very bleak read

    This book is BLEAK. The reader has to wait until the last few chapters to get any signs of hope.

    Our book club read it simply because one of our members was reading it for a Sociology class.

    This book reminded me a bit of the film; Mad Max. But I actually enjoyed that movie.

    I did not enjoy this book. I felt like I was being preached to.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Excellent Story!

    True to Butler's ability to make one think. Definitely one of the best sci-fi author's of our time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Awful poorly written

    This is a poorly written and dully crafted novel. If one can't tell a very good story, at least the writer should be able to know how to use words well.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    wasent so bad

    im a sophmore and when i was assigned this book i felt i would not be interested and at first i wasent until after the 11th chapter things started to liven up and i couldent wait for the conclusion. now my class has to put on a play based on the theme of the book at least i can relate to it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2004

    best book

    the best adventure bookive ever read. i think its also better than harry potter series and im obsessed with harry potter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2003

    Changed my life...Not sure for the better

    I was told to read this book as it was about a girl that had the ability to feel others emotions. I was excited about the thought behind the book and quickly bought it. As I went through it I grew more disappointed as it went on. I am one that say feels to much of anyone's emotions. This book took me into overload. The amount of rapes, killings, fires, people eating people, mass distruction, and humans hurt humans was over the top. It was a terrible book to read. I hated it yet I couldn't put it down because I have to wonder if thats what is waiting for us, or if its already started.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2002

    Life altering

    Parable of the Sower and Parable of Talents were the most spritually real books I have ever read. It has now been almost 2 years since I first picked up an Octavia E Butler book and about one month less since I finished reading everything she published. I still owe much of the final formation of my spiritual ideas to her and many of my distopic nightmares and confidence in my survival, as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2000

    The worst book I have ever read

    I have never read such a bad written story. It was horrible, unless you like to read pointless books. The main character is annoying. All she does is preach. I don't want to hear about it. Do not read this book unless you have nothing better to do.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2000

    Surprised

    I must say that when the white guy at the bookstore recommended this Afro-American Sci-Fi...I was weary. I must say that Octavia has quite an imagination with this whole earthseed and the flow of the book in general. I will definately be reading her other books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2000

    A Thoughtful, powerful Book

    A wonderful book that took me to the not-so-distant future. It had great language and the characters, especially Lauren, came alive on the page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2