Customer Reviews for

Parachute Infantry: An American Paratrooper's Memoir of D-Day and the Fall of the Third Reich

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Another book by a member of Easy Company.

    If you are a fan of BOB miniseries, like me, you will find this book a good read. Webster tells it like it was for him. He was wounded and returned to Easy until the end of the war. His details might differ from other Easy Co. members who also wrote books on their experiences during WWII. It is always an interest to me to see how differently everyone saw the same action. Happy to have this in my growing collection.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2007

    I Just Really Liked Webster

    I almost didn't read this book but am so glad I did. The honesty of Webster was amazing. Courage isn't about not being scared and it isn't about being flawless. David Kenyon Webster comes across to me as genuine and that makes him unique. This was one of the absolute best books I have ever read. I'm glad he wrote it down because I have never seen anything like it before. I just really liked Webster.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2005

    Thank you vets

    What I liked about this book was that it was apparently written soon after the war. Many WW2 books were written by vets in their middle age years and seem to lose a little of the edgyness they actually felt at the time. Mr. Webster made it clear at times he wanted to be home, didnt know why they were there, hated the officers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2005

    Amazing Writing

    This memoir is very insightful. Webster not only gives one a sense of what it was like to be a WWII soldier- he has this style where he slides you into the trench with him. The brrrrrrr of the machine gun, or the smack of a bullet- it's all here, waiting for the reader to enter. Simply amazing writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2002

    Parachute Infantry's Journey to Publication

    Those of you who have read Stephen Ambrose's book, Band of Brothers, will remember David Kenyon Webster as a passionate and articulate member of Easy Company, the unit also featured in HBO's "Band of Brothers" miniseries. Webster wrote Parachute Infantry shortly after the end of World War II; it languished during the post-war years, when memoirs of regular soldiers were of little interest to publishers. After Webster's untimely death in 1961 at the age of 39, his widow continued to believe in the manuscript and approached publishers without success. After the late Stephen Ambrose came upon the manuscript while researching Band of Brothers, he recommended it to Louisiana State University Press. Parachute Infantry: An American Paratrooper's Memoir of D-Day and the Fall of the Third Reich, with an introduction by Stephen E. Ambrose, was published by LSU Press in 1994, just in time for the 50th anniversary of D-Day. The book received excellent reviews. Last year, Webster's widow, the long-time champion of Parachute Infantry, approached Dell Publishing, a division of Random House. Dell was a likely choice: it had published a mass market paperback of Webster's shark book, Myth and Maneater, the Story of the Shark, when the movie "Jaws" was released. She felt that Parachute Infantry could find a wider audience now, given the interest in HBO's "Band of Brothers." Dell was interested, and went back to the original manuscript to produce a revised and expanded edition of the book. In October 2002, this new edition of Parachute Infantry was published. It features over 100 pages of previously unpublished material, including 20 letters home, and restores some of the grittier language and actual names that were used in Webster's original manuscript. If you want to know more about the men of Easy Company, as seen through the eyes of one young private in his early 20s, read this book. Webster takes you through training at Toccoa, through jumps on D-Day and in Operation Market Garden in Holland, and to the last days of the war in Germany. It is an excellent companion piece to Band of Brothers (the book or DVD/video), and a powerful, unforgettable book on its own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    Puts you in the view of a parchute infantru soldier. An amazingly written book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good book

    This is an intresting look at the 506 by a man who had no love affair with war. Very honest and stark ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    Deliveries of orders

    I am very pleased with Barnes & Noble in mailing out my orders in a timely time. The books go to a prison, there has never been any trouble in the inmate getting his books. My inmate has other inmates ask where I order my books from as they were having trouble in gettng their orders delivered or accepted, I have told them to deal only with Barnes & Noble, and that they have a wonderful system for checking on how the order is going.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    From "Band of Brothers"

    Webster writes of his war time in Europe. Not the macho type, he spells out his fears and anxieties. His anger and frustration. Of his courage and lack of it. His skill and lack of it. Glad to have read Webster's war memoirs. Publishers had rejected his writings because exaggerated war novels were in demand. Some way into the book, I realize that he was part of the 'Band of Brothers' from the HBO mini series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2008

    Good stuff

    Webster writes of his war time in Europe. Not the macho type, he spells out his fears and anxieties. His anger and frustration. Of his courage and lack of it. His skill and lack of it. Glad to have read Webster's war memoirs. Publishers had rejected his writings because exaggerated war novels were in demand. Some way into the book, I realize that he was part of the 'Band of Brothers' from the HBO mini series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2003

    Excellent, a great read.

    I have read many books on World War II. From Band Of Brothers, to the Longest Day, to Wild Blue ( all of which were very good ). But never before have I been transported to the battlefields of Europe like I was when I read Parachute Infantry. The detail is extrodinary. This is a must read for people who want to understand what it was like to be in the line of fire in WWII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    My favorite book yet

    This book is by far my favorite book (not just non-fiction). With the style he uses (lots of dialogue) you can almost swear you were there. If I didn't know that this book was non-fiction, I would think that it was a novel. Great Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    Added Bonus

    This book was an added bonus to a book that I have just finished, 'Band of Brothers,' which discusses E Company of the 506th PIR, 101st Airbourne Division. Ambrose has done an excellent job retelling stories of other Easy members integrated with historical fact in 'Brothers,' but by his not experiencing the action and the perhaps faded memories (interviews done in the '90s) of other E Company veterans, Webster's narrative, written shortly after the war, offers a fresh description of events which may have been forgotten over the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2