Customer Reviews for

Paradise

Average Rating 5
( 136 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(125)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Doesn't get any better than this!

    Read this many years ago and it still stands out in my mind when I think of favorite books. The title is explanation enough. You never want it to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    My Favorite Book

    I loved this book from start to finish!
    I used to hate reading until I picked up one of Judith McNaughts books. I have not stopped reading since :-)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Paradise is a great place to escape!

    When I basically decided to start reading romantic novels because my husband has forgotten the whole romance thing, I went onto a website ranking romances, and bought the first three ranked. This book was my second favorite- I'm not so into romances that I like the 'formula' - boy is gruff cowboy type, girl is beautiful, sexy but doesn't know it, and somehow they come together even though they hate each other. I tend to skip big sections of these books because they're so predictable.

    So, Paradise. It opens with Meredith, who is in a rich group, and Matt, who is somehow at a party with her. She feels badly for the way her friends are treating him, and on an act of impulse, goes home with him and loses her virginity with him. Not a real romantic first start; he leaves, and she feels embarrassed, etc. She ends up pregnant, finally tells him, and they get married, even though he has already committed to leaving the country for a couple years.

    Through a bunch of non-communicative misunderstandings, Meredith and Matt eventually divorce, but run into each other eleven years later, where Matt is an incredibly successful businessman. I really liked Matt most of all through the whole thing - Judith McNaught made him human. He made mistakes, but he was also kind, which was very attractive.

    There were some very steamy love scenes, but not too graphic - all in all, a great love story with some interruptions along the way. I think I'll probably read it again in a year or so, and I usually never re-read a book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!!!!!!

    I need a book to take me away from my daily life and stress and this book did JUST THAT!!! I couldn't but it down and wished it was a million pages so I could read it forever!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic

    This is one of the top 3 best romantic stories written in this generation. I re-read it every so often and I am blown away by its sheer perfection. Highly recommended and loved by all for many many years - it never disapoints. Wonderful,wonderful, wonderful..... it will become one of your all time favorites - treasured for years to come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    Need to sell it in Nook format please....great book

    Need to sell it in Nook format please....great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    oh my god!!!!!!!!!! BEST BOOK IVE EVER READ!

    oh my god!!!!!!!!!! BEST BOOK IVE EVER READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    one of the best romantic and exciting, and wonderful romantic novel that i,ve ever read. almos ten time.
    maybe more.
    Love Matt, love Meredith.
    the perfect couple.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    My favorite romance book EVER!

    I first read this book back in 1991 or 1992 in college. I bought the hardcover back then and still have it. I re-read it every so often and it never gets old. I have read hundreds of romance books over the years and this one remains my all time favorite. I just love all the characters (except Meredith's dad), the story, and the style of her writing. You won't regret reading this if you are a romance fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Unforgetable story.

    "Paradise" is a great book. I love all Judith Mcnaught's books and had read all of them but "Paradise" is my favorite. Start from the fist page, I could not stop and kept reading. I finished it in two days and sometimes I read it again and again. Shouldn't miss this amazing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I loved everything about it!!

    This book was such an interesting and enjoyable read, why, I even fell in love with department stores like JcPenney's and Macy's!! It was that exciting to read it. It was also really, very funny! ;-) Thank you so much, Judith McNaught.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2013

    Could not put it down. Everything you want of a love story. Roma

    Could not put it down. Everything you want of a love story. Romance, tension, heart aches, reprieves, more tension, and finally a happy ending. 
    I found the setting of the love story very interesting as well. I didn't think I'd like the contemporary setting, but it worked. This is definitely up there with Judith's historical romances. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Best romance book I've read! I usually never re-read books, bu

    Best romance book I've read! I usually never re-read books, but this one I've re-read 3 times. It's a story line that you can't forget and once you start, it's hard to put down.
    Judith McNaught is a great storyteller! PS. I named my daughter Meredith!! Love that name!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    This was my first novel by this author. I decided to read it be

    This was my first novel by this author. I decided to read it because of the great reviews and 5 star ratings. When I first started reading the book I was a little annoyed with all of the useless information and description that was given, page after page. At one point I thought I would just move on, but something kept me reading. Around the 5th chapter I was hooke! This was a very good story. Probably the best I have read in a long time. I am now reading Perfect and so far am not disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    Great read. Could not put it down!

    Great read. Could not put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Wonderful story! I read it within a week and went back and read

    Wonderful story! I read it within a week and went back and read it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK! I loved this book. I was introducted to Matt a

    LOVED THIS BOOK!
    I loved this book. I was introducted to Matt and Meridith in Perfect and was so glad to read about their history and how it all began in this book. I fell in LOVE with the characters. I love how JM writes about her characters - you feel like you really know them . I love Matt and Meredith as a couple and reading about everything they went through and all the misunderstandings that stood in the way of their love. I also enjoyed her relationship with her best friend. Every girl has to have a best friend to help her get through all the heartache. Read this book you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2012

    love this book..i also recommend Remember When...these two books

    love this book..i also recommend Remember When...these two books are in my top five....excellent reading..couldn't put them down..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2011

    Will continue to read this again and again!

    This book was the first JM book I read and have since read all of her books. Paradise will always be one of my favorites. Couldn't put it down and have re-read it several times. Love Matt and Meredith! The scene at the farm house where they learn the truth is truly one of the best ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect Romance Novel

    One of my favorite romance novels, by my favorite romance writer...I love how McNaught is so thorough with her characters, both the hero and heroine are written with depth and emotion...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 136 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7