Customer Reviews for

Paradise

Average Rating 4.5
( 65 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I was not ready.

I bought this book years ago in my twenties and put it down because it appeared to be too complicated . But I found it now in my thirties and I find it brillant , I can't put it down

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Jesbes

I promise i domt wanna intrude or anything but can 1 of u post at party res 1 that i wont be on for a few days because my grandpa had a stroke and the doctors just took him off of life suport so ya...bye. (Or you could just say look at m post at cup of joe res 4)

posted by 10504778 on June 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    Isolation and Seperation

    Nobel Prize winner Toni Morrison's Paradise is not only a story of the tragedies of an overlooked history, but the spiritual and physical powers within a community. However, Paradise is not a mere social justice statement; it serves, instead, a higher purpose. With the publication of this novel and several others, Morrison was able to actively engage the power of the individual voice and link together the cultural spheres that define it. Although religiously and spiritually powerful, one of the novel's primary focuses were themes of isolation, separation, and their operation within a social structure.

    By dictionary definition, a paradise is "a place of extreme beauty, delight, or happiness." Perhaps such paradise does not exist in separation of one's own mind. A "paradise," after all, is made up of those who do not exist within it. Power successfully encapsulates the idea of achieving primal bliss in congruence with the idea of separation and isolation. However, most importantly, it raises the question: can good (idea of perfect paradise) exist without the influence of evil (human sin)? In tackling a social, moral movement, Morrison has gravely insinuated that perhaps, one reaches paradise only after one has accepted the fatality of collective sin separate from the individual's potential.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    I was not ready.

    I bought this book years ago in my twenties and put it down because it appeared to be too complicated . But I found it now in my thirties and I find it brillant , I can't put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Flameclaw

    Walked around the camp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Shadowdream, Skyfall, and Nightfang

    Shadowdream, a bob-tailed black and white she-cat, leads in Skyfall, a gray tuxedo she-cat with blue eyes, and Nightfang, a black tom. "Sunnystar, may we join?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Duststar to Sunnystar

    She pads in. "Hello, I am leader of SkyClan. I am making a packed." ((If you want to join, then read results 1 & 6 at United Clans. If you don't then ignore this post.))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Shadepelt

    He dipped his head. "Thank you!" He sat and ate a mouse quietly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Icestar to $unny $tar

    Hello. Im icestar the other clan that is in a pact with skyclan. I just wanted to het to know your clan. We r at 'into the west' res 1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Shimmerpelt

    May i join?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    Complicatins chapter 2

    Spike sat gazing up at the figure. Suddenly Twilight ran upstairs. Spike pointed at the shadowy pony. Twilight couldnt see ut." What is it, Spike? You look like youve seen a ghost. Finally Spike managed to choke out some words." Its right there, dont you see it?" Twilight gave him a concerned look."Uh, Spike? Are you okay?" Spike shrugged." I- i dont know." He stuttered. The figure was watching him from the corner of the room. He could see its red eyes glaring at him. Twilight went back downstairs." Girls, somethings wrong with Spike. He seems to be seeing things." Everypony paniced. <p> meanwhile... <p> Spike started sweating as the mysterious pony crept twords him. Finally he could see what it looked like. It was a black stallion with red eyes. His mane was the color of blood. Fangs shone as a evil grin crept across the stallions face. He could hear the ponys panicing downstairs. He would have ran down to see what was wrong, but their voices were muffled, seeming distant. He stood, frozen in fear. His green eyes widened as the stallion opened his mouth and leaned forward to bite him...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Ashley to jesse

    Lolz i oederd a drink called skinny gil on thebeach well he took it seriously(:^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Idiott to Ash

    *Lays wearing a bikini.*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Hello?

    Is any one here. The black cat walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2012

    Spottedpelt

    No sorry...i dont think it is at least...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2012

    Silverleaf to post below

    Darkleaf forestheart darklight foreststorm darkmint forestwhisker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2014

    Wildriver

    He padded up to a cat. "Hi."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Honeyshine

    I cant. Im locked out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    Can i join?

    My name is shimmerstream i have kits due anytime i am a shimmering white and black zebrasripe shecat with bright lime green eyes that seems to be sparkleing i am pregant with seven to ten kits they should come tonight or tommarrow or saturday night maybe sunday at the latest

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2012

    Can i be med cat

    Im snowy a blue grey shecat with green eyes. I am good with medicine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Redflight

    Moans

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4