Customer Reviews for

Paradise County

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Romantic suspense at its finest

    In Kentucky, Whistledown horse farm manager Joe Welch finds the owner Charles Haywood dead in a barn. Joe thinks Charles committed suicide since the deceased smelled of alcohol and a gun with a discharged bullet was near him. After the funeral, Charles' daughter Alexandra fires Joe, giving him thirty days to leave. Joe refuses intending to complete his current contract forcing Alexandra to explain that the horse farm is bankrupt and she will have to sell its assets, the horses. <P> Alexandra, a renowned photographer, spends the night at Whistledown for the first time in a quite a while. She gets spooked when she hears breathing in her room with no one there. She and her teenage sister Neely flee to Joe's house. At the same time, a psychopathic killer tortures a young lady who looks similar to Neely. Over the next few weeks, Alex and Joe fall in love, but happiness eludes them when her sister and his son Eli vanish. <P> Karen Robards has a unique writing style that provides readers with a fresh voice with every new novel she publishes. PARADISE COUNTY is a high caliber romantic suspense novel featuring realistic characters struggling with a rainbow of feelings. The steamy romance between the adult couple is counterbalanced by the sweet relationship between Neely and Eli. Ms. Robards knows how to raise the temperature on several levels with a strong tale that will excite sub-genre readers. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Absolutely a wonderful read

    Living in Shelbyville, Shelby County Kentucky, myself reading the book and actually being able to visualize the places Karen Robards described in her book made it all the more real. The suspense was great and the sex was breath taking. It sure makes a woman want to see what all the farm hands at the horse farms in Kentucky look like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2006

    Super Romantic Thriller!!

    I have really been looking for a new author, and I was not disappointed with Robard's Paradise County. I had a hard time putting it down! I will definitely be reading more of her work!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2004

    Excellent read

    This was my first Karen Robards book and it was a winner! Absorbing, romantic (sexy), entertaining, and terrifying. The last fifty pages made my hair stand on end. My habit is to read everything an author has written when I find one I like. That means my books-read list will grow longer with Karen Robards titles!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2001

    the most interesting book I've read in a long time

    this book was so exciting, it was very suspencful. It was filled with everything from love and laughter.Mrs. Robards did a fine job with her newest piece of romance.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2000

    A Page Turner

    I just finished reading this and loved the characters, the setting and felt it moved very well. I liked the blend of romance with mystery. I couldn't put it down in the end and the whole idea of the killer going in and out of Alex's house really unnerved me. The author also writes about contemporary issues such as teenagers doing drugs, divorce, etc. I highly recommend it but it is scarey!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2000

    excellent

    a page turner from beginning to end. i found myself imagining i was alex.. recommended to everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Great Book

    Easy read before bedtime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Anonymous june 25,2012

    Too much sex and not enough story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    As usual

    I really loved this book. Joe is the perfect hero for a romance like this. Doesn' t hurt to be hot either. Was a great story, just a little bit rushed at the end. Seems like her deadline was up and she had 10 minutes to finish and turn it in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVED IT

    took a little while to get into it but then i was hooked! great read! on to the next karen robards book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2005

    One of my absolute favorites!

    This has been one of my absolute favorite books! I originally heard it on audio, then read the book. It has the right mix of suspense and romance which keeps the reader hooked until the end. I would highly recommend the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2004

    A SHOT IN THE DARK

    I was never disappointed one bit,though it was a little hard to see where this was going. I could see what he was up against thrown at useless marriage then poor Joe, first his 3 kids and his father. Then a wrench in his plans called Alex Haywood and her younger sister Neely. There some are funny parts and I would rather be there as a witness to see what's coming next parts. If you enjoy Karen's writing try and oldie but goody. I did.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2002

    Excellent book!

    Once I picked this book up, I couldn't put it down! It's has well-developed characters and the perfect amount of romance. The suspense keeps your eyes locked on the page. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2001

    Another Great Story!

    Ms. Robards never disappoints. This story was suspenseful with the right amount of romance. The book was good, but I felt as though it was somewhat similar to Ghost Moon in terms of how the plot went. Still, it was well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2001

    LOVED IT, SUSPENSE and ROMANCE

    First time reading this author, I am very satisfied I did. These are characters, if in real life I'd like to meet, except for you know who. The descriptions of the ranch, houses, horses, money, barns, people and what they did made it so easy to bring to life this movie in the mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2001

    DISAPPOINTED

    If animal cruelty offends you, so will this book. I have never been so disappointed by a book and I had not even reached page 75. The specific scene I'm referring to was in no way crucial to the plot and was not the only way to give insight into this character. I love reading because you need your imagination, unlike movies. This book should have left something to the imagination!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    A Good Book!

    I am long time Robards fan. Paradise County is worth reading, but for me, not a 'can't put it down' book. The charaters were interesting, but not fully explored, and Joe, one of the stories main charaters dialogue was sometimes a bit too 'hickish'. Overall, I enjoyed the story, and found my reading time well spent, but this is not Ms. Robards best work.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3