BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Paradise Lost (Private Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Will Everyone Stop Being Mean to Ivy!!!!!!!!!

I hate that in every single review, people go off on how Ivy is such a bad person! I really like her and she is one of my favorite characters! I don't think anyone gets shot! I think Sabine will shoot herself which would make this story very interesting! I think that Re...
I hate that in every single review, people go off on how Ivy is such a bad person! I really like her and she is one of my favorite characters! I don't think anyone gets shot! I think Sabine will shoot herself which would make this story very interesting! I think that Reed will faint and thats why it says everything went black. I went online to Privatenovels.com and read the first chapter of Paradise Lost. I think its goingto be the best one yet! The person why got shot really surpized me. I think its goingto make the story very interesting. I heard this book is bout the Billings Girls spending Christmas in St. Barts so no one (important) probably dies! I still can't believe it was her! And that she is Ariana sister! But still, I think that if someone gets shot they wont die! They will get better but I do think that if Reed gets shot, that the story will start out in Josh's or Noelle's point of view! I really hope Sabine shoots herself tho. MOSt AMAZIN SERIES EVER

Ps. I heard that she is already workin on the tenth Private Novel called Suspicion is comming out but idk wen!

posted by Kader33 on December 23, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Series, Dissapointing Book.

I have been reading the Private series since it first came out. I've always been intrigued by the mysterious world of boarding school students, and have always loved a good mystery-and at first, the Private series succeeded at creating that. The first four books were in...
I have been reading the Private series since it first came out. I've always been intrigued by the mysterious world of boarding school students, and have always loved a good mystery-and at first, the Private series succeeded at creating that. The first four books were incredible, and books 5-8 were good too, but simply not as good as the first story arc. Due to the writing out of likeable characters such as Natasha, and the introduction of beyond-annoying characters such as Sabine, Amberly, Portia, and Ivy, this series has gone downhill.

I truely had hope for "Paradise Lost". Really, I did. I was hoping that we were FINALLY going to get a better glimpse of the world of Noelle Lange- and find out about her mysterious red scar and her mysterious family. Yet, nada. This book could have resolved so many open plot lines that it's not funny, but yet it didn't. Instead, it starts a NEW mystery, a NEW person out to get Reed. Honestly, it's all getting hoity-paloity at this point. So many people cannot be after one person in the world that hasn't done anything. And I, for one, have find Reed's narrative voice to become nothing but annoying "Why does everybody want to kill me? Why me? Poor me? WHY WHY WHY?" She is doing nothing but whining all the time instead of trying to fix her problems. I honestly did not realize this until I read "Privilege" and saw how whiny Reed was compared to Ariana. I honestly am finding the "Privilege" series much more entertaining and likable than "Private" at this point.

Overall, this book was a huge dissapointment. Bringing Taylor and Kiran back made it much better, but still, I just wish that Kate Brian had closed some open plot holes before moving on to another "let's try to kill Reed" vendetta. It's getting kind of old, to be honest. Either way, I am anticipating the next book and hope that it is better than "Paradise Lost".

posted by NicolaWaldorf on May 31, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series, Dissapointing Book.

    I have been reading the Private series since it first came out. I've always been intrigued by the mysterious world of boarding school students, and have always loved a good mystery-and at first, the Private series succeeded at creating that. The first four books were incredible, and books 5-8 were good too, but simply not as good as the first story arc. Due to the writing out of likeable characters such as Natasha, and the introduction of beyond-annoying characters such as Sabine, Amberly, Portia, and Ivy, this series has gone downhill.

    I truely had hope for "Paradise Lost". Really, I did. I was hoping that we were FINALLY going to get a better glimpse of the world of Noelle Lange- and find out about her mysterious red scar and her mysterious family. Yet, nada. This book could have resolved so many open plot lines that it's not funny, but yet it didn't. Instead, it starts a NEW mystery, a NEW person out to get Reed. Honestly, it's all getting hoity-paloity at this point. So many people cannot be after one person in the world that hasn't done anything. And I, for one, have find Reed's narrative voice to become nothing but annoying "Why does everybody want to kill me? Why me? Poor me? WHY WHY WHY?" She is doing nothing but whining all the time instead of trying to fix her problems. I honestly did not realize this until I read "Privilege" and saw how whiny Reed was compared to Ariana. I honestly am finding the "Privilege" series much more entertaining and likable than "Private" at this point.

    Overall, this book was a huge dissapointment. Bringing Taylor and Kiran back made it much better, but still, I just wish that Kate Brian had closed some open plot holes before moving on to another "let's try to kill Reed" vendetta. It's getting kind of old, to be honest. Either way, I am anticipating the next book and hope that it is better than "Paradise Lost".

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    Book no. nine

    When Cheyenne's murder been solved close and Reed is clear of wrong doing with a foe's death, as when Christmas break came early with the exams been pulled out since the shocking spree, so Reed really wanted to go home back in PA...noticed these reporters are about to chat it up with Reed, but her former friend and Billings member Nollee asked Reed to spend the hoilday at St. Barths with her family and friends along, leaving the drama and heartbreak along in America when both former Billings Kiran and Taylor came along as well and no trouble in sights.
    Think again...when trouble came along and everything is about to cracked up; everything here is not to be seen in paradise and somebody wanted to get rid of Reed for real, so much of R&R time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Should i or not

    I have read all the private books and couldn't wait form this one to come out but when it did i was a little upset because it wasn't that good. i personally couldn't even finish the whole book that's how bad it was to me. i thought there would be more josh and reed instead it was reed and a new love interest. i hope the next one is a little better then this one and i also did like the storyline that much each other

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    Boring

    I absolutly adore all the private books...I have re-read every book about 6 times each...but his one was not a winner by any means. I am getting so tired with the idea of reed going crazy, I also don't like how she is a weak character in this book. She has never been able to really stand up for herself but in this book it was just pathetic how weak she was, and also the idea of her going completly insane was upsetting, because it almost made it seem like the next book she was going to be in a mental institution. Although many readers probably wanted a change of scenery, I didn't like how the book took place in the islands; I LOVE Easton and the whole atmosphere there, and I don't like how Kate Brian took that away. Hopefully the next book will take place back at Easton. I honestly did love parts of the book though. Saywer was my favorite charater just because he was like a broken character and I hope to see more of him in the next book, also I feel Brian wanted to give us readers someone to begin to love other than josh because he is a lost cause. But i will forever be a fan of Reed and JOsh ... this book could have been alot better but i love the series and the author ... YAY SUSPICION

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    This series started out great, unique, intriguing, edgy... gossip-girl+murder-mystery. But now it has just gotten tired and used up. How many more novels can Kate Brian write of Reed Brennan being stalked and almost murdered? All of the attributes of the other novels that suck you in are missing from this book. It's sad that the series has gotten to this point... but what do you expect when you try to keep a series going past 8 novels? This book just completely lacked depth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2009

    not all what it was made to be

    I was alittle disappointed in the book. I wanted more from it. I was hoping for more of josh n reed. How many times does she almost get killed??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Little disappointing...

    Don't get me wrong I'm a HUGE Private fan. But, I was REALLY disappointed in this book. I mean books 1-4 were AMAZING! I mean with Thomas's death and everything. I also LOVED 5-8 too. But, there wasn't enough action in Paradise Lost. It was slow and VERY dull. There was no excitement. One thing is the fact was it was barely at Easton. It was pretty much ALL on the island. The plot is Reed going to Easton Academy and something unexpected happens. I'm reading Privilege. I really hope it's better. I also hope that the next book in SO MUCH better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    The story line just seems to keep repeating..

    I've loved The Private Series since a young age. Honestly, I've been reading these for 3 years or so now. I don't know if it's my choice of reading has changed, it very well may be that, but to me it seems that in her most recent books (Paradise Lost, Revelation,Ambition) the same plot keeps happening and happening. Although she does change specifics and all (except for the fact it always is based somehow around Reed) it just seems it's getting old. I'm not saying I suggest you not to read these anymore, because honestly I get very into these book and make them a 24 hour read, just be ready to have a book that is semi predictable, depending on how your mind works. In some cases I bet these books surprise and shock readers, in my case it didn't. I still look forward to more books by Kate Brian though, since her style of writing can lure tween and teen readers in.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1