Customer Reviews for

Paradise Lost (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent

    It's an utter classic, and I'm so glad it's offered as a reasonably-priced Barnes & Noble Classic. The story, drawn directly from the Christian bible, is obviously not original, but Milton turns it into an unbelievably beautiful drama with astonishing characters, and a writing style to match. No matter your religious or spiritual beliefs, this is a story of powerful emotion--for all characters, including Satan--and offers multiple perspectives on the same argument. It's all about cause and effect. The book is challenging yet satisfying. If you have the patience, it's worth the experience.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2010

    This book is great

    This book is a great read. I liked it so much I placed a special order to get a Spanish print to give it to my mother as a gift. She also loved it and read the entire book in less than two weeks. This book was recommended to me by a few of my professors... I love it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful

    The prince of darkness falls from grace and paradise is lost. One of my favorite books of all time. Ageless, breathtaking and profound.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Paradise Lost

    This book is simply astounding. I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys classics. The only detracting factor from the book is the English. It can be a bit of a struggle to read for some, but if you can push through it, the rewards are far worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    Incredible!!

    At first, Milton's writing style is very hard to read and to understand, but once you've entered his world you'll never want to leave. It is an amazing story that really makes you question and think about creation and salvation. The characters are so dynamic, even so you'll find yourself feeling sympathetic and care for Satan. I strongly recommend this book. It is INCREDIBLE!!!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Powerful Insight

    Wow! What a view of creation and salvation. This is a very difficult book to read but well worth it. It really takes two readings to get the most out of this book because it requires the reader to work through several chapters before becoming accustomed to the style of writing. However, the insight into God, Jesus, Angels, Satan and Mankind is very powerful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    One of the Greatest Books of All TIME!!

    A wonderful classic that will never loose its integrity. Should be read by all of mankind for it hold great examples of life in which you should follow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    Very intense book, although it did take time for me to completely understand it. After it all soaked in, it was indeed well worth it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2007

    A reviewer

    A simply amazing book, whether your a power christian or a satanist you'll love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2005

    The Book Itself

    It is not my intention to review Paradise Lost - which needs no further approval from me - but rather the recent hardcover classic edition published by Barnes & Noble. As a collector of Milton editions, I could not be more impressed by the quality of the book itself. A sturdy cloth spine which superbly binds the text. The simple, yet beautiful stamped boards. Deckled edges. A clear text with a classical, yet eye-pleasing font. Useful notes and a helpful introduction. This edition is now one of my texts of choice when I settle down and return (as I often do) to Paradise Lost. Congratulations, Barnes & Noble, on a well-crafted edition. I should say, also, that I am not an employee of B&N -- but actually work at a rival chain.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Really deep

    I can't event put what I feel about this book into words. It's just so remarkable. Everyone who reads this book loves it. This book is by far the greatest book I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2014

    Good to see this

    Good to see this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Similar to Shakespeare┬┐s writing style, it is Milton┬┐s choice of

    Similar to Shakespeare’s writing style, it is Milton’s choice of words that makes Paradise Lost a beautiful piece of literature. If you are familiar with the bible stories and scripture , particularly the story of the Adam and Eve, you will very much enjoy reading Paradise Lost. Compared to the story written in the Book of Genesis, Milton’s version lets you visualize this story even better. Although, he did not change the storyline he did however add beautiful smiles and puns that emerge all your five sense while reading his long epic poem.

    If you are not familiar with Bible scripture and Greek mythology, you will be a little confused with Milton’s writing. He emphasizes and compares a lot in his writing. The best part of Milton’s long epic story is the addition to Satan’s Betrayal to God. By doing so it explains not only who and how Satan came about but also his point of view, his thoughts, his feelings, and why he tricked Adam and Eve in the first place. Milton even explains the type of relationship Adam and Eve had, even their different personalities, in which the Bible text does not include. By adding these extra details it helps to understand the creation of man even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2006

    Interesting

    Very complex, for me I had to read it over and over again to fully understand it all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    Awesome Book

    'Better to rule in Hell than serve in Heaven' The language is hard and the read is slow, but the work is worth it. If you simply like to read a story, it'll be too much for you. If you want to be impacted, take the time and work through it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3