Customer Reviews for

Paradox - Progeny of Innocence

Average Rating 3.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Complex, intriguing storyline. A must read

I do not remember when I have been more spellbound by a fantasy book before.

I thought ‘The Angels Are Here’ was good, but not quite fully cooked. With Progeny of Innocence Patti Roberts is just showing off. This book delivers on so many levels.

There is so much e...
I do not remember when I have been more spellbound by a fantasy book before.

I thought ‘The Angels Are Here’ was good, but not quite fully cooked. With Progeny of Innocence Patti Roberts is just showing off. This book delivers on so many levels.

There is so much emotion in this story, so many human traits – the good (love, friendship, bravery and boldness) and the shameful (lust, egotism, self-indulgence, viciousness) all thrown together. But you can never misinterpret the true colour of a person. That weaker characterisation I saw in Book 1 here and there has gone completely. Patti Roberts has grown up. Her writing skills rival some of the very big names out there and I would be surprised if awareness of her talent doesn’t sky-rocket within a few short months.

‘The Angles Are Here’ was a sweet little introduction to a fantasy world that might or might not be real. With ‘Progeny Of Innocence’ we have no choice but to believe. It’s not a fantasy anymore, it is a certainty. ‘It is a shame,’ Patti says, ‘that real life events very rarely portray the grandiose victories personified in fiction’. Because we know, we feel that undercurrent to all of our lives. We’ve always suspected there is more to this inconsequential human existence and Patti Roberts makes it easy to imagine what this might be.

The WAFEs slowly awake and remember, and the guardians pull together. Sparks are flying and you find yourself gnawing on your nails with increased anxiety. The good and the evil dance around each other in ever-decreasing circles until you shiver with the imminence of the epic battle you can see will be unleashed in the very near future.

There is a YA tinge to most of the second half of the novel, but it is nicely done and the adult world weaves through it skilfully. There are stories within the story, and again they do not detract, but expertly add to the texture and depth of the main plot.

We see heavy symbolism and original threads too, and a little Shakespearean conflict between the two obvious enemies: Damon, in body, hangs out with the Grigorians but his heart and spirit have long belonged to Juliette.

I must make a special mention. Often debut authors are so eager to get on with their story that they don’t spend enough time getting to know their own world, and that shows. Sometimes, they are lucky enough to be able to develop it in an acceptable manner in a sequel, and sometimes it is just so seriously underdeveloped, it is jarring. This is not the case here. Patti Roberts is so comfortable with her creation that it leaves no questions unanswered. You can see the prisoners being dragged in, you can see the forest and its people, you can understand the relationships between the six ancient races and feel their resistance to Grigorian rule.

Paradox is not a story in a place – it is the legend of a whole world.

As far as I am concerned, I don’t know how Patti’s writing could be improved upon. I’m waiting for the third book in the series and will be counting the weeks to its release, on Oct 26th.

posted by SeriousReviews on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

No plot

The book is weird and jumpy

posted by Anonymous on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Complex, intriguing storyline. A must read

    I do not remember when I have been more spellbound by a fantasy book before.

    I thought ‘The Angels Are Here’ was good, but not quite fully cooked. With Progeny of Innocence Patti Roberts is just showing off. This book delivers on so many levels.

    There is so much emotion in this story, so many human traits – the good (love, friendship, bravery and boldness) and the shameful (lust, egotism, self-indulgence, viciousness) all thrown together. But you can never misinterpret the true colour of a person. That weaker characterisation I saw in Book 1 here and there has gone completely. Patti Roberts has grown up. Her writing skills rival some of the very big names out there and I would be surprised if awareness of her talent doesn’t sky-rocket within a few short months.

    ‘The Angles Are Here’ was a sweet little introduction to a fantasy world that might or might not be real. With ‘Progeny Of Innocence’ we have no choice but to believe. It’s not a fantasy anymore, it is a certainty. ‘It is a shame,’ Patti says, ‘that real life events very rarely portray the grandiose victories personified in fiction’. Because we know, we feel that undercurrent to all of our lives. We’ve always suspected there is more to this inconsequential human existence and Patti Roberts makes it easy to imagine what this might be.

    The WAFEs slowly awake and remember, and the guardians pull together. Sparks are flying and you find yourself gnawing on your nails with increased anxiety. The good and the evil dance around each other in ever-decreasing circles until you shiver with the imminence of the epic battle you can see will be unleashed in the very near future.

    There is a YA tinge to most of the second half of the novel, but it is nicely done and the adult world weaves through it skilfully. There are stories within the story, and again they do not detract, but expertly add to the texture and depth of the main plot.

    We see heavy symbolism and original threads too, and a little Shakespearean conflict between the two obvious enemies: Damon, in body, hangs out with the Grigorians but his heart and spirit have long belonged to Juliette.

    I must make a special mention. Often debut authors are so eager to get on with their story that they don’t spend enough time getting to know their own world, and that shows. Sometimes, they are lucky enough to be able to develop it in an acceptable manner in a sequel, and sometimes it is just so seriously underdeveloped, it is jarring. This is not the case here. Patti Roberts is so comfortable with her creation that it leaves no questions unanswered. You can see the prisoners being dragged in, you can see the forest and its people, you can understand the relationships between the six ancient races and feel their resistance to Grigorian rule.

    Paradox is not a story in a place – it is the legend of a whole world.

    As far as I am concerned, I don’t know how Patti’s writing could be improved upon. I’m waiting for the third book in the series and will be counting the weeks to its release, on Oct 26th.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    No plot

    The book is weird and jumpy

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Last year I reviewed the first book “ "Paradox - Ange

    Last year I reviewed the first book “ "Paradox - Angels are Here"” by Patti Roberts, and I was lucky enough to be asked to review the second book her trilogy – Progeny of Innocence. I enjoyed the first book and was not prepared for what the author had in store for her readers next. This book was FANTASTIC! I was spell bound from the very first page. She packed one heck of a literary punch with this book and this second book far excided my expectations.

    Progeny of Innocence starts off where the first book left off. we find ourselves once again listening to a story told by Juliette as we get out more about the Ancient world of Alatair which is home to the opposing forces of Angels known as Gregorian’s and Bulgarians, whose ancient battle for reign will play out in the New World known as Earth. It is here where we see Grace again, now a teenager and still trying to figure out who Juliette as her life begins to spin towards her true destiny.

    Reminiscent of the first book, this novel has two distinct plotlines; the ancient world of Alatair and Grace’s Story. Some of my questions that I had from the first book are answered as the author delves deeper into the history of the Ancient World of Alatair. Patti Roberts blends a mixture of Aboriginal and Celtic myths into this book which much to my surprise works. It explains how each race came into being and why they are rising up to fight the threat of the Gregorian’s who have “fallen”. Though in my mind this storyline over shadow’s Grace’s story. Grace’s story is one of Innocence and becoming as she finds events beyond her control as those around her try to protect her from what Is about to come. My personal preference is the world of the “fallen’ but then I love a dark and twisted tale and the author does not disappoint. The story lines move much faster than the first book, as the foundations to the story has been set. I really enjoyed the buildup of tension throughout the book and as I finished the last page I wanted the next book in hand. You will be left hanging as the plots merge together and you know that the really story is about to begin.

    As with the first book the line between main characters and supporting characters blur, each character brings something to the book and help move the plot line along. We see the supporting characters around Grace fleshed out more as the mystery of whom and how they came into being is revealed. We see new characters introduced that I am sure will play a pivotal role in the outcome of this trilogy. The author does a great job of bringing all the characters into play, as their stories are played out and move the story along to its conclusion. I still think Abaddon is my favorite character, he is evil corrupt and so very very interesting. There are many layers that we haven’t seen that I am sure will be revealed in time. Grace though being a bit older is still very much in the dark as to what is happening in the world around her, all is not as she thinks and just as she is on the verge of remembering those who have been sent to protect push her farther into the dark as if she is not yet ready to face her destiny. The book is very well written and I feel that Patti Roberts outdoes herself with this story, and is such a talented writer which is much more evident in this book than the first.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Patti's Paradox series is a must read!!

    Patti Roberts weaves a wonderful tale of magick and love in her Paradox series. I was pulled in by an 11 year old Grace in the first book, The Angels are Here, who was shattered by the loss her father. Now she is a teen who must find a place in the human world to better understand the spirit world and how to deal with her visions of a young woman who comes from her own past life. Through Patti, you get to travel into the supernatural as fallen angels hunt for Grace, and she begins her journey in the bloom of her life as a young woman getting to know a boy named Damon, all rolled up with learning her way with dealing with spirit.

    Patti keeps you on the edge of her seat with a very real as you see these fallen angels through her writing and feel Grace's emotions as they come to life through her words. I didn't want to put this book down as I was pulled into Grace's world, and I gave this book 5 stars as a must read!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Patt's Paradox series is a must read!!

    Patti Roberts weaves a wonderful tale of magick and love in her Paradox series. I was pulled in by an 11 year old Grace in the first book, The Angels are Here, who was shattered by the loss her father. Now she is a teen who must find a place in the human world to better understand the spirit world and how to deal with her visions of a young woman who comes from her own past life. Through Patti, you get to travel into the supernatural as fallen angels hunt for Grace, and she begins her journey in the bloom of her life as a young woman getting to know a boy named Damon, all rolled up with learning her way with dealing with spirit.

    Patti keeps you on the edge of her seat with a very real as you see these fallen angels through her writing and feel Grace's emotions as they come to life through her words. I didn't want to put this book down as I was pulled into Grace's world, and I gave this book 5 stars as a must read!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    I loved this book. I got sucked in and couldn't put it down.

    I loved this book. I got sucked in and couldn't put it down.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    2 thumbs up!!

    I didn't expect this book to be too good, but I am happy to say I was pleasantly surprised. The storyline was just fantastic, excellent world building and character development; it was literally so good there were many all-nighters I pulled just because I couldn't put it down.
    I only have one very minor bone to pick: the typos and grammatical errors. There were a few parts in the book where I would have to re-read a sentence a few times over again because it made no sense - the flow was off among other things - and that did become irritating after a while.
    But it is a free book, and the storyline was awesome enough that it was tolerable to deal with the issue. Besides that: awesome book, will definitely be buying the others ASAP.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Whoa

    Way too confusing, Author jumps from one identity to another or has two going on at a time til you want to scream. Could not identify with characters as they all seemed to be a bit psychotic. This book is hard work, so if you like to work hard while you read......

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Angels Coming Of Age This series must be read in order. The fi

    Angels Coming Of Age


    This series must be read in order. The first book is Paradox - The Angels Are Here. This is the second book.




    These books are written by an Australian so there was a bit of a learning curve to reading them. That said this book was even better than the first one :) It picks up some years after the first book ends when Grace is a teenager. I was really happy with that as I found it easier to relate to her at the older age. If I had had to read about her whole childhood I would probably have gotten bored eventually.




    There really is no series to compare this one to. All aspects of it are incredibly origional. In essence the Earth is plagued by demons (Gregorians) and angels but they are all aliens. There are elements of scifi mixed in with the fantasy along with horror, suspense, comedy, tragedy, action, adventure and a dash of romance. You really never know what will happen next! It is fast paced and moves swiftly from the very beginning.




    I really love this series and cannot wait to read more :) Paradox - Bound By Blood is the next book. I believe this series would appeal to a wide range of readers especially paranormal enthusiasts and modern fantasy lovers. There's a little bit for everyone in this series :)




    ***This series is suitable for adult readers only

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1