Customer Reviews for

Parallel Lies

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fascinating action thriller

    Peter Tyler was a DC police officer working homicide for years until he snapped upon seeing a big man brutalize a little girl. Swooping down as an avenger, Peter vigorously attacked the assailant to an unusual degree that took several officers to finally stop him. The media goes on a feeding frenzy because a white cop beat up an African-American. The case went to court where Peter was acquitted of criminal excess use of force, but still lost his job and ultimately his girl and probably his house. <P> Umberto Alvarez was a happy person until his wife and twin daughters died at a railroad crossing when a Northern Union train hit them. The NTSB ruled driver error, but a bitter Umberto knows that the bar and lights failed. For eighteen months, he has as sabotaged Northern Union property especially trains. His current plan is to destroy the new bullet train that is based on F-A-S-T track technology unless the president of the transit company publicly announces they caused the deaths of his beloved family. Peter gives chase, but Umberto seems several steps ahead of his pursuer as the clock to disaster winds down. <P> Suspense grandmaster Ridley Pearson has written a fascinating action thriller in which the villain is a victim. The chase scenes on the trains take the audience for a breathless ride into hell for the pursuer. However, the heart of the tale resides with Peter who needs redemption and Umberto who demands justice as their PARALLEL LIES intersect. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Worth your time

    Enjoyed this book a lot!!! Excellent suspense and interesting story. I will never look at trains the same.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Good and Bad

    My review splits down the middle. The writing and suspense put to paper by Mr. Pearson is really good BUT, the ending leaves me very much disturbed. After 30 years in law enforcement I find that letting Alverez go without any penalty very hard to take. Yes he does lose his wife and two children but we are a civilized society that lives and operates by the rule of law. Tyler many times stated that the cost to the railroad company was “covered by insurance”, but every loss by an insurance company is covered by increased premiums to the affected company AND to everyone else being covered by the insurance company. So we all paid for the railroads losses. Is this OK with Tyler? Alverez’s actions caused at least three deaths and many injuries and extensive time lost by first responders when they may have been able to help others rather than being tied up with Alverez’s actions. The ends do not justify the means. Does Tyler (and thus Mr. Pearson) accept and justify Alverez’s actions? Tyler stated that he felt abandoned by “the system” of the courts but it was not the system that was lacking it was his attorney that fought the wrong fight. Playing the “protect the child” stance was not the right tactic; it was the “self defense” posture that would have saved his career. Alverez’s brother could very easily be taken care of by the “riches” that Alverez had accumulated if not the railroad be required to foot the bill. For me Mr. Pearson’s ending said it is alright to kill and destroy if you could do some good word otherwise. I think that sends the wrong image as to what we as civilized people live with. I do not commend Mr. Pearson for his writing I condemn his message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Wolfkit rainbowkit greykit and bloodkit

    *they pad in*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    T

    A scrawny brown she-kit crawls in, whimpering.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Good read

    .........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    Easy read .

    Not the best from Pearson but an enjoyable book. I WOULD recomend it..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2001

    Ridley does it again!!

    Though our favorite books are the Boldt series, this opens a whole new venue for Pearson's talents. Like Sandord and others, it provides a different lead character to cast, a different set of circumstances with the result of another exciting book. thanks, Ridley

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2001

    A Suspenseful, White-Knuckled Ride!

    'He took each minute separately, and though a compulsive planner, he had learned to adapt and adjust his plans to suit the moment. He rarely knew what the next hour would bring. The only constant is change--his personal mantra. He did not spend a lot of time worrying; he left that for others. Instead, he focused almost single-mindedly on bringing Northern Union to its knees.'--From chap. 12. Umberto Alvarez is a widower. His wife and their four-year-old twins were killed by a train that demolished their van at a railroad crossing in Genoa, Illinois. There was negligence involved and a cover-up by the Northern Union Railroad. Stricken with grief, anger, and a need for revenge, Alvarez vows to destroy Northern Union. Peter Tyler, a dedicated policeman who has lost his shield because of the stupidities of 'political correctness' and reverse discrimination, and Nell Priest, a beautiful and intelligent African American investigator, cross paths early in the novel. In this suspenseful cat-and-mouse chase, they both are on the trail of the unknown saboteur who is wreaking havoc by derailing Northern Union freight trains. Alvarez has one last sabotage in mind: the destruction of NUR's bullet train, an ultra-sleek technological marvel called the F-A-S-T Track Express, which, traveling at the speed of 180 mph, will make the run from New York City to Washington, D.C. in two and a half hours. Sending out conflicting signals, the novel leaves us with mixed emotions. We begin to pull for the saboteur, empathizing with him because of the injustice he has suffered. The danger, however, is that anarchy, taking the law into one's own hands, is a treacherous path to tread; two wrongs do not make a right. A nail-biting, white-knuckled ride, PARALLEL LIES will make an excellent action film. Its plot bristles with multiple possibilities, making one wonder down which track the author will take us, and how he will resolve the tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2001

    a great book!

    I have been a Ridley Pearson fan for many years. Parallel Lies is one of his best books. I actually cheered for the bad guy and the good guy. I never thought I would enjoy a railroad mystery and now I need another one to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2001

    AN ACTION PACKED TALE

    Umberto Alverez's life consists of one thing...bringing the railroad company, he holds responsible for the death of his wife and children, down. Pete Tyler is an ex-cop trying to redeem himself after losing his badge. Now working as an investigator with the National Transportation Safety Board, he is put on the case of the railroad killer, a madman killing homeless people called 'riders'. As his investigation deepens, it becomes more complicated. And determined to reach their goal, both men will stop at nothing to get what they want, until Tyler uncovers the truth about Alvarez, a truth he never expected. 'Parallel Lies' is a fast moving thriller, with characters as real, as they are unusual. This tale of two men set out to right the wrongs in their life is at once a gripping thriller, and the examination of the human spirit to overcome the tragedies they are faced with - no matter what extent they will have to go to. Ridley Pearson is, once again, grabbing his readers and pulling them through a twisting thriller full of action, suspense, and a touch of romance. A sure bet for beach reading. Nick Gonnella

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2001

    Almost as good as Boldt-Matthews books

    This book was exciting and the suspense never let up. Hard to put down to the very end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2001

    Pearson is right on track with this one!

    Pearson keeps the pages turning with the adrenaline rush of the chase. He keeps you guessing as to who are the good guys & who are the bad. I got caught up in the twists & turns of this skilled writer. I've not read anything by Pearson before & I couldn't put it down! I never cross a closed railroad barrier but, thanks to Pearson, I'll be sure now to look both ways before I cross open tracks. Don't miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1