BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Paramedic's Story: Life, Death, and Everything in Between

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

LOVED IT

I think everyone would enjoy this book! Would definitely recommend to everyone, medical field or not! But what people have to realize is EMTs have to have a sick sense of humor to begin with walking into this profession. It is not because we don't have a heart or any fe...
I think everyone would enjoy this book! Would definitely recommend to everyone, medical field or not! But what people have to realize is EMTs have to have a sick sense of humor to begin with walking into this profession. It is not because we don't have a heart or any feelings, but because we wouldn't be able to last being an EMT if we sat there and cried about it. We encouter the bad, cardiac arrest, and good, child birth. We do what we do not because of the pay (it is not much believe me), but because we want to help patients in their time of need. High priority or not! So after reading this book, which I highly recommend, don't think of us as heartless because believe me, our patients impact our life one way or another. Every EMT would be able to tell you about their first CPR call or their first encouter with a sick child. We have feelings too, just a different way of showing them!

posted by --tricia-- on April 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It's not just about EMS.. it's about US.

As a 911 EMT I certainly related to many of the stories in this book. It's all here... laughter, tears, the good calls the bad calls anyone in public safety will relate to the stories Kelly Grayson tells with humor, wit, honesty and style because we have lived them. But...
As a 911 EMT I certainly related to many of the stories in this book. It's all here... laughter, tears, the good calls the bad calls anyone in public safety will relate to the stories Kelly Grayson tells with humor, wit, honesty and style because we have lived them. But what about the rest of the world? Why would someone outside of "the job" want to read this? Because you're in here too. You're the patients, the families, the friends and the very grounding factor in the lives of first responders, "Ambulance Drivers", EMT's and Paramedics et al. It's a great read and I enjoyed it immensely because it's not just a collection of war stories; it's about the human condition and all of the emotions and trials that combine to make common experience an uncommon thing. See the world through Kelly's rose colored emergency lights, see EMS for what it really is and see who we (and you) really are.

posted by RockyD on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    LOVED IT

    I think everyone would enjoy this book! Would definitely recommend to everyone, medical field or not! But what people have to realize is EMTs have to have a sick sense of humor to begin with walking into this profession. It is not because we don't have a heart or any feelings, but because we wouldn't be able to last being an EMT if we sat there and cried about it. We encouter the bad, cardiac arrest, and good, child birth. We do what we do not because of the pay (it is not much believe me), but because we want to help patients in their time of need. High priority or not! So after reading this book, which I highly recommend, don't think of us as heartless because believe me, our patients impact our life one way or another. Every EMT would be able to tell you about their first CPR call or their first encouter with a sick child. We have feelings too, just a different way of showing them!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is truely inspiring! I will be starting my EMT class in a couple of weeks and reading this book gives me conformation this is the career I want to be in. Helping people!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Great Read! Check this out!

    A Paramedics Story: Life, Death, and Everything in Between by Steven Grayson is a compelling story of his life experiences as a paramedic, and how he handles emergency calls. The story covers his life from when he first starts being an EMT, all the way through to when he has become quite successful in his field. The book manly discusses how Kelly (Steven’s middle name) handles the patients at the scene, and on the way to the hospitals. I liked the humor of the book, I found myself laughing at the end of the chapters on numerous occasions. The tone of the book is cocky, and comedic, and the author presents the information is a clear context. I disliked how the book focused so much on talking about exactly what medical techniques he was using to save the patients, because at times it became a little confusing to follow. The major themes in this book are excessive pride, and tragedy. Excessive pride is a dominant theme because Kelly finds himself, on many occasions getting in fights with ER doctors about if what he was doing was appropriate, or within his limits as a paramedic. Also, Kelly finds he intimidates many of the nurses, and other paramedics with his cocky attitude, and even gets sent to different hospitals because of this. Tragedy is a prominent theme simply because as a paramedic one sees things that others can’t fathom; Kelly’s attitude toward these tragedies changes as the book progresses. From this book I learned that paramedics really do most of the dirty, and brutal work on their patients, and the doctors are more focused on finding the underlying problem with the patient. The paramedics must stabilize the victim enough to ensure he/she/they will make the journey to the hospital, which gives them a lot of authority to administer drugs, and perform other medical practices that I was not aware they had the permission to do. Overall, I felt this way a great read, the book lured me in, and made me laugh several times!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Got it for Christmas last year and couldn't put it down until I

    Got it for Christmas last year and couldn't put it down until I had read it twice. Now I'm getting copies for coworkers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Good book

    Interesting stories very well told.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Loved It !

    I loved this book ! Working in a hospital around nurses and medics not to mention being married to one I Know exactly where the author was coming from with many of his stories. This book makes you wamt to laugh and cry, but most of all it makes you see from the medics side just how hard it can be to do that kind of job without all the glorification of a RN or MD.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great Book!

    I' ve long retired from my days as a paramedic... But throughly enjoyed ready Kelly Grayson's account of calls he has gone on. He uses a lot of medical terms but if this kind of book interests you.... please read! He tells it like it is. He sometimes seems arrogent but he is just making observations of people around him. We don't do this job to be plastered on the front page of the paper as heroes; we do it because we truly do care! Sometimes it seems the author doesn't care or he makes a sick joke or comment, but believe me, it's so the paramedic can get through the tough scene before him. I know... Read the whole book... see what paramedics and EMTs face when doing their job. If you get part way through the book and think this author is sick or doesn't care.... Then read the last chapter. That chapter will set you staight. We, the paramedics, EMTs, ER staff, we do care and we all have THAT call that still haunts us... They truly care and that's why they do the job. It's a great read and hard to put down. THANK YOU, KELLY ( and all paramedics and EMTs) for being there for us!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    Outstanding Read - Kept me wanting more!

    I really enjoyed reading this first-person account of life as a paramedic. I work as a critical care nurse at a major university medical center, and I identified strongly with many of the situations Kelly found himself in. I would highly recommend this book to a friend (and have). Quite honestly, I often found myself not wanting to put this book down; a sure sign that the author is good at his/her craft.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    This book was an amazing. It captures the reader through multipl

    This book was an amazing. It captures the reader through multiple short stories adding up to Kelly Grayson life experiences as a paramedic. There are many themes within these short tales but humility reoccurs over and over again. EMTs and Paramedics must know the difference between confidence and cockiness in order to be able to maintain their position. Along with the idea that judgment and experience go hand in hand in the field because good judgment comes from experience and experience comes from bad judgment.  I really enjoyed Grayson’s writing style, it is captivating, entertaining and leaves you wanting more. The italized thoughts of Grayson were interesting; it was nice to get inside the head of a paramedic during a call. I enjoyed each chapter thoroughly each one was very easy to read and was written so well that they went quickly. I wish they were a little longer, I feel like they could have been more meaty. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone and everyone whether they are in the medical field or not. If someone is interested in pursuing this career this is an excellent book to read, very educational. It’s also good for anyone who is in need of a good read; it is extremely easy to read and is pretty humorous. This is one of the best nonfiction novels I’ve ever read in my life. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Former firefighter

    Pretty good book but i realy dont think somebody could do good on every call.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Fantastic book

    I havent read all of it yet cause i read the sample book but so far it is a good book, and holareious to

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Awesome book!

    This book made me laugh, and it made me cry. Very well written. Anyone who works in EMS or the ER will to relate to these stories. I highly recommend this book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Amazing!

    I cannot praise this book enough. I wish that everyone would read this to understand the life of an EMT- amazing job Kelly, you have provided the world with a much-needed book that can make you laugh and cry at the same time. I can't name many books that can do that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    Good

    Fast and livley never a dull moment funny and yet heartbreaking at times recomended

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    Wonderful Read

    This book was a indepth look into the life of a paramedic. Most of the stories were extremely funny, but a few were heart breaking. If your thinking about becoming a parammedic or a EMT read this book. It will make you either love the idea or hate the idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Great book, but the last story is terrible.

    I loved this book. I could barely put it down. It's pretty inspiring for someone in EMS and offers a great look at some things most people wouldn't see unless they are in EMS. It's also pretty cool to read about "old-school" EMS for someone who has only had experience in "modern" EMS. The last story nearly had me in tears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Strange but True

    Not really "strange", just a fun read from a fellow EMT whose has the talent for writing and a gift for Emergency Medicine. The format is easy reading, but the subject matter is deadly serious, for both the patient and the Paramedic. I hope you enjoy the humor that is so much a part of the job and the humor is what keeps us all going.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Great humor and insight in the mind of an EmT

    Loved this book. I bought it several years ago and shared it with many of my EMT friends. it is a great read for anyone, even if you have no medical backround! It is very entertaining, a quick read with great humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2011

    Love this book!

    If you have an interest in medicine, or you are in the medical profession, then you would love this book. Grayson has a dry wit and sarcastic undertones and i love it! Being an EMT myself he has put down on paper the thoughts that run through my head. He did a very good job of portraying the every day life of an EMT. Awesome book. I laughed my butt off right from the beginning and shed several tears through out the novel. There is a lot of medical terminology, but most can be understood from context clues or easily researched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3