Customer Reviews for

Paranoia (movie tie-in edition)

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beware! Nothing Is As it Seems. And I'm Not Being Paranoid!

I've enjoyed all of Joseph Finder's books but Paranoia is unquestionably his best! The plot is very fast-paced, the characters are well-developed and multi-dimensional and the suspense involving corporate spying is non-stop. If this isn't enough to make you want to rus...
I've enjoyed all of Joseph Finder's books but Paranoia is unquestionably his best! The plot is very fast-paced, the characters are well-developed and multi-dimensional and the suspense involving corporate spying is non-stop. If this isn't enough to make you want to rush right out to get a copy of this compelling thriller, be aware that Finder provides twists and turns that will keep you intrigued and surprised right up to the very end. Be prepared for a very exciting and fun reading experience. Paranoia will keep you glued to the edge of your seat. It is one of the most enjoyable books I've read in quite awhle. Paranoia deserves to be at the top of the bestseller lists when it comes out in late January 2004 and it should help Joseph Finder become one of the elite group of today's popular writers.

posted by Anonymous on November 13, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ending couldn't possibly be any worse!

Seriously. I thought that Finder had a good thing going with Paranoia, and then I got to the end. Be prepared, it is a monster letdown. The story was quick paced and well written, even if it was a bit too cliche' at times, but to end the story with the reader disliking ...
Seriously. I thought that Finder had a good thing going with Paranoia, and then I got to the end. Be prepared, it is a monster letdown. The story was quick paced and well written, even if it was a bit too cliche' at times, but to end the story with the reader disliking every single character in the book seems like a bad career move for Finder. It was so disappointing, I'll never invest a minute of my time reading another one of his efforts. Can I have my money - and time- back please??

posted by Anonymous on June 7, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2003

    Beware! Nothing Is As it Seems. And I'm Not Being Paranoid!

    I've enjoyed all of Joseph Finder's books but Paranoia is unquestionably his best! The plot is very fast-paced, the characters are well-developed and multi-dimensional and the suspense involving corporate spying is non-stop. If this isn't enough to make you want to rush right out to get a copy of this compelling thriller, be aware that Finder provides twists and turns that will keep you intrigued and surprised right up to the very end. Be prepared for a very exciting and fun reading experience. Paranoia will keep you glued to the edge of your seat. It is one of the most enjoyable books I've read in quite awhle. Paranoia deserves to be at the top of the bestseller lists when it comes out in late January 2004 and it should help Joseph Finder become one of the elite group of today's popular writers.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    Good read

    If you have ever worked for a big company, you will immediately recognize and identify with the scene that Finder paints: the office politics, the feeling that you are simply a pawn on a giant chess board, and the mind-boggling greed and stupidity of your 'superiors.' Finder even gets the tiniest details down: the office furniture, the absurd meetings, the joy of sharing a bathroom with several thousand of your closest friends. The story that he weaves grabs you and won't let you go. I won't reveal the end, but I can guarantee you that you won't suspect what's coming! This was an enjoyable read. I was sorry to get to the last page, because I didn't want it to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2006

    Ending couldn't possibly be any worse!

    Seriously. I thought that Finder had a good thing going with Paranoia, and then I got to the end. Be prepared, it is a monster letdown. The story was quick paced and well written, even if it was a bit too cliche' at times, but to end the story with the reader disliking every single character in the book seems like a bad career move for Finder. It was so disappointing, I'll never invest a minute of my time reading another one of his efforts. Can I have my money - and time- back please??

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    A very good read

    A friend had recommend this author. I checked the libraries
    but he was not listed. As a new author to me I was very happy
    with the novel. I enjoy murder mystery novels and this one kept
    me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Neutral

    An intriguing concept. Reasonably well written with an interesting ending.

    Finder tends to be a bit verbose, however. Too many non-essential details, it almost lost my interest several times. The book was too easy to put down and come back later, because of this.

    Vanished was better, but, still a little wordy.

    My first read by him was in a condensed book version (his latest); which I really enjoyed! It was the latest version that lead me to venture into some of his other earlier stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    Excellent book. Joseph Finder definitely did his research before writing this book. If you like to read suspense books, then this book is for you. Kept me reading til late into the night. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this book to a friend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    My New Favorite Author

    I'm not a book critic that will delve into the character developments, plot line and whatever else. I'm more of the 'switch' type critic. I liked it or I didn't...

    In this case I really liked it. It was easy to get into, and once there, I couldn't put it down.

    A fast paced thriller, a lovable rogue at the center and some clever twists throughout.

    Since reading this book, I've purchased three more from this author, if only the USPS would hurry up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    nouveau espionage

    I wasn't sure what to think of this book when I first downloaded it. I'm not one to listen to books because I would much rather read them, but this book was interesting - mostly because the narrator, Scott Brick, did a wonderful job narrating this story. I've read only a few other spy novels, and those were the typical espionage books dealing with military forces. I've never read a corporate spy novel - but this one was really good. The writer did a good job writing the story as it was very well written. The details in the plot of the book was a little hard to follow while listening to it, but the farther along I got it all seemed to make sense. The ending to this book was great - I totally didn't see it coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Tangled Web Of Industrial Espionage, but Not The Sword And The Shield Of The KGB!!!

    Will you be more sympathetic to Adam Cassidy in the last page of the book as you were in the opening of his odyssey in the world of industrial espionage? It all depends. I would say Adam Cassidy is not intended to be the hero, but the executioner of the moral you would take as you read the last page. Can you ask more of Joseph Finder, I don't think so. The main characters of the book are just supreme, enter Adam Cassidy main character, just another regular low range employee typical of Finder's characters, smart and brilliant. Nick Wyatt, a ruthless tyrant, yet the best I have read of in a while, Jock Goddard, a philanthropist. But not the regular Gates or Jobs in the headlines of the WSJ.

    Expect a tangled web of industrial espionage, not as tangled as " The sword and the shield" of Christopher Andrew but same essence. The use of technical buzzwords and references to the Tradecraft of espionage is outstanding. Finder hasn't disappointed his readers, He has truly done his homework on this subject; the story ends as it should, not a letdown. It is greed, self- preservation, and opportunity, Don't expect a happy ending, because it should not have one.

    Is "Paranoia" a page turner, I would say yes., could it have had a better twist, or ending?, given the circumstances and events surrounding Adam's deception...Maybe. In contrast to what some readers may think, the development of supporting characters such as: Judith Bolton, Francis Cassidy, and Alana Jennings throughout the book don't lose interest, I think Finder withdraws their attention to focus on Adam's weaknesses and strengths on purpose. Leaving the best of them for the end.

    But as I said Greed is the driver of the story, pay close attention, make no mistake. And as Adam said at the beginning "Be careful what you wish for because you might get it" Truth till the end of the book.

    Paranoia~ A Must Read... You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very Exciting and Trilling

    I love this book. Underdog goes top but when he gets to the top it's not on his own merit, actually, it's because of something he's done wrong for which he needs to do another wrong to correct. He's in deep. He loves it. He's become more ambitious because of the success whereas before his fake success he was a loser who wanted no part of the corporate world. But he's been planted into the high life which he cannot stay in. I don't want to give it away. Finder has a beautiful, easy writing voice and it keeps the pace moving quickly. Love it!!! I am a Finder addict now. MUST READ ALL FINDER BOOKS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Corporate Espionage

    Joseph Finder quickly pulls the reader into the suspense with Paranoia, which dives into the action with Adam Cassidy being immediately immersed in a serious situation: His employer, Wyatt Telecom, catches him in the act of manipulating company funds to help out a coworker. His employers use this to their advantage, forcing Adam to infiltrate the ranks of a competitor, Trion, to get the details on a hot new technological product. I had trouble in the beginning relating to the protagonist, Adam Cassidy, finding him a little too nonchalant and cold hearted. However, as the story progressed I found myself cheering for him. It's a good read and a good look at corporate espionage. Bob Avey, author of Beneath a Buried House

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2006

    Beyond the thrills

    Joe Finder's thoughtfull research for this novel affords us, his readers, many valuable lessons to understand, survive and maybe win contemporary struggles. Writing which accomplishes the daunting tasks of educating, influencing view points, creating public opinion and trends of culture, etc. while entertaining is a skill only writers such as Finder posses, and I am greatful for their contribution. I enjoyed the book, and despite the cynics, I admit that it changed me. That is a good thing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2005

    Surprise ending? Ummm, I don't think so

    A decent read, I will admit, but a surprise ending? Maybe if you haven't read very many thrillers in the last five years . . . Personally, I had it figured out very early (100 pages or so) and continued reading mostly to make sure it ended the way i thought it would. And since the ending was really the point of the book, I guess I felt a bit let down. I don't really have a desire to read any more of his books, although I did get through this one pretty quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Lost Its Flavor

    What started out as a thriller turned into a downer. Through the first half of the book I cared about Adam Cassidy but then the story hit a brick wall. It became predictable and skimming the pages were more interesting than the details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    More Good Than Bad

    Ultimately it was worth the read. A lot about this book was irritating but it had some redeeming qualities and the ending saved it. Too much 'attitude' throughout and got so tired of having the main character's love interest shoved down my throat with her wit and charm and beauty and sophistication and well-bred manners and money and intelligence and on and on and on. Enough already, geesh! You mean she couldn't have had at least one flaw? Sure would have made her more likeable if not more believeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2004

    Top-Notch Corporate Thriller

    Adam Cassidy has no idea the hot water he will land in when he decides to appropriate company funds to pay for a huge party for a low-level employee. Soon the lazy but likeable middle-management drone is pressured (blackmailed is more like it) into infiltrating a competing techno-giant's corporation. His mission: steal information on their latest cutting-edge product. The author keeps the pace heart-pounding, and there is an interesting twist at the end that seasoned thriller readers (I confess I'm one) may see coming....though the last page left me hanging a bit. Sympathetic protagonist, great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    You Gotta Be Kidding

    This has got to be one of the worst books I've ever read, I don't understand the raves. Couldn't stand Adam's voice, which is ALWAYS THERE, so that was rough. I love thrillers but this one bored me and irritated me with its attitude and writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2004

    Suspenseful and Witty

    Paranoia is a nail biting story of corporate espionage and morality told with incredible wit from bestselling author Joseph Finder (High Crimes). The book will have you laughing out loud from the onset. Although it loses some of its wit towards the middle of the book; and the unit introductions with espionage definitions seem a bit out of place for a story on corporate spying, the story will still grab your attention and keep it right until its surprising ending. Hats off to Joseph Finder for writing such a clever, hilarious and suspenseful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Open wide, there's a lot to swallow.

    Paranoia is a good, entertaining book, but not a great one. The beginning quickly hooks the reader, but the middle droops by spoon-feeding every movement and thought of Adam Cassidy. There is nothing left for the reader to deduce. It's got a recipe similar to a made-for-TV movie. And even though the storyline is a fun read, its probability is equivalent to Jerry Springer entering the seminary. Most fiction fans will enjoy this book, at least until the final chapters where the biggest plot twists occur. They are guaranteed to be talked about--an author and publisher's coveted dream.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4