Customer Reviews for

Paranormal State: My Journey into the Unknown

Average Rating 4
( 174 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

Being a viewer of Paranormal State I found this book informative and very entertaining. Enjoyed receiving the detailed information regarding subjects in each chapter. Defintely recommend to those who have watched the series. You will truly enjoy!!!

posted by BurackAttack on September 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This book started a little slow to me, as at first, it seemed to

This book started a little slow to me, as at first, it seemed to mostly rehash various cases we had already seen on TV. However, as the book progressed, Ryan seemed to share more of his personal beliefs and experiences which made for a more interesting read. I was very ...
This book started a little slow to me, as at first, it seemed to mostly rehash various cases we had already seen on TV. However, as the book progressed, Ryan seemed to share more of his personal beliefs and experiences which made for a more interesting read. I was very impressed when Ryan revealed his bisexuality and discussed how it impacts his religious beliefs. As a gay Christian myself, I enjoyed learning his point of view. I was a bit disappointed that he didn’t elaborate more on his personal paranormal experiences as a child. He has alluded to them on TV, but I have never heard in detail what happened to him. I feel there are certain people that could be helped very much by reading this book.
Michael Travis Jasper, Author of the Novel “To Be Chosen”

posted by MichaelTravisJasper on March 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2010

    Recommend

    Being a viewer of Paranormal State I found this book informative and very entertaining. Enjoyed receiving the detailed information regarding subjects in each chapter. Defintely recommend to those who have watched the series. You will truly enjoy!!!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    This book is fascinating

    I already read this book and its on a shelf in my
    library
    I cannot wait to read it again
    There are so many interesting tidbits of information that deserve a second read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    Highly Recommend, if you are interested in the paranormal.

    Ryan Buell gave background information, which was very interesting. And, he added information left out of the TV program. Another thing I liked was that at the end of the book he recommended authors to read in order to get additional information.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Couldnt put it down :)

    Thank you Ryan for this awesome read. I often found myself reading in my head with your sexy voice.Lol. I gave the book four stars only because I really wish he would have written more about his paranormal activity. I love the show and I love the book. I loved all the extra tidbets of information that didn't get put into the show. It was like a mini guide to each episode but also more info on the prs as a team and how they go about with investigastions .Ryan is truly amazing and I love how he and the team are personable with each case. I would really love to see Ryan write another book soon maybe for each season or just another look into how he is dealing and healing with his cancer and how he has been affected by everything since he started and finished paranormal state.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2014

    Very good

    After watching the first two seasons of Paranormal State, this gave me a little more incite into the show. Really enjoyed having Ryan's perspective and a little behind the scenes info.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    A well-written, personal story

    This book is a well-written account of how the team on Paranormal State came to be as well as a fascinating behind-the-scenes guide to the first season.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Great insight about the show and how it evolved.

    I had absolutely loved the show, so this was a great look at how they evolved as a team and how they worked cases. Very good read and I would like to see more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    recommend

    being a big fan of the show I truly enjoyed the book. I was kind of disappointed that Ryan didn't go more into detail about his childhood experience. He always talks about it happening to him but the main reason I bought the book was to find out what happened. His matertial is always well researched and dealt with with utmost sincereity. If you like the show you'll like the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Highly recommended!! I have read it twice!

    Very well written, kept me interested all the way threw. Ryan is a very knowledgeable person in this field, and shares his experiences, with a spiritual side that I appreciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Fun read...

    Reading this book now with a sadness in my heart..Ryan has
    6 just been diagnosed with pancreatic cancer...the book is informative and enjoyable read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2011

    I must if you enjoy the show, and crush on Ryan!

    This was a quick and enjoyable read. I look forward to his next literary project (which I think I read somewhere will be a fictional narrative). Although personally, I would prefer to read more about him!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2011

    Good Book

    I am fan of the TV show. It was fun to learn how the show came to be and the backstory to the first year episodes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended for Fans the show

    I am a fan of Paranormal State on A&E and was excited Ryan Buell decided to write a book about the his experiences of the first season. It is a great companion to the first season detailing the history and background stories of the show and goes much deeper than the episodes on the show can go. Ryan also details how PRS was started, how they came to have a television show, what investigating involves, and his future outlook on his work. It was a fun and interesting read, I highly enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    I finished it in a day

    It was such an easy read and for any Paranormal State fan it gives you an great account of what goes on behind the scenes. I gave it four stars instead of five because I would have liked to have read how the first season connected the dots for Ryan in terms of what he or the other cast members are searching for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Good Behind the Scecnes

    I love the show, so when I saw the book coming out I was excited. I like that Ryan gives us a behind the scenes account and that we get a glimpse into his past. I did feel that there could have been more. You get a glimpse into the cast, and lots about the cases, that although interesting I watched already on TV. I was not disappointed, just finished wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3