Customer Reviews for

The Pardon (Jack Swyteck Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 107 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

33 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Good story!

The Pardon is a well written story, that will keep you interested until the very end. The characters are well developed, and I felt empathy with them. However, I did not give this book 5 stars because I felt there were gaps in the story: how did we get from there to h...
The Pardon is a well written story, that will keep you interested until the very end. The characters are well developed, and I felt empathy with them. However, I did not give this book 5 stars because I felt there were gaps in the story: how did we get from there to here in several situations. Plus there were grammar mistakes and misspellings. Not that big a deal but I am a word person, and these things distracted me. I will read more books by this author; he tells a good tale.

posted by MJDavis on March 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

!

Between the plot spoiler and the grammar nazis on here its hard to get a real review. The grammar nazis needs to get a life and stop grading the books. If you can do better, go for it. I seriously doubt you could. And the rude inconsiderate plot spoilers needs to be ba...
Between the plot spoiler and the grammar nazis on here its hard to get a real review. The grammar nazis needs to get a life and stop grading the books. If you can do better, go for it. I seriously doubt you could. And the rude inconsiderate plot spoilers needs to be banned from posting.

posted by 8888649 on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2001

    Dang Grippando for keeping me awake to finish this one!!

    Now I will admit, it takes a little while to get into this book. But, once you get into the plot and get a feel for the characters, you're HOOKED!! Outstanding book - I got to a point where I just had to find out how this one would end. I also happened upon this author at my local library. I'm glad I found it, becuause I'm a big Grippando fan now!! I'm heading out to get some more of his work, absolutely!!

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2006

    Pure fun but not much more

    This novel is nothing more than pure, unadulterated fun. It has little substance, more than a few cliches, and some eye-roll inducing plot twists, but it gets you hooked. It's hard to stop reading once you've begun. Perfect for a long, relaxing day at the beach.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    I liked the story but.....

    Toooo many typing and grammar errors...very distracting...Get a better proofreader. Four stars for story, but two stars for grammar.

    10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Great story. NEEDS BETTER PROOF READING

    This was a great book, intense, twists and turns. The mistakes were glaring and bulled me out of the story! Please get a better proof reader!

    10 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2001

    Very interesting!!

    This book has a ton of action for anyone. It is more of a man's book because of some of the actions some people do, but if you can handle the first 100 pages without throwing it down your in for a ride of your life.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    I enjoy this series of books

    I really enjoy this series of books. I had never read #1 in the series and was delighted to find it, quite by accident, for my nook. I enjoyed it very much and got a real kick out of talk about car phones, Ford Pintos and other outdated classics. Ahhh, the fun of memories. This book was very enjoyable. I loved knowing how much the author's books have improved in all areas, since this first one. I looking forward to the movie based on this series, which is now in production. To the reviewer complaining about grammer nazis, Grammer is important, without these skills of proper communication and punctuation, of being unable to express yourself properly, you brand yourself as being uneducated. In this day and age, these skills are vital for jobs, personal image and self respect. Are you dependent on a computer, which might break down and leave you unable to write the simpliest sentence? Perhaps you are not bothered by erratta because you can not recognize it, not learning it at some point in your life. I too, dislike plot spoilers. There are some rather gory descriptions, a few curse words, a dab of sex and romance. Mostly it is just a good novel. I recommend this book to readers of mysteries of all ages, both sexes.

    AD

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    To bad reviews

    I abolutely agree with you bn should read the reviews before posting them. This has become a big issue over here people need reviews to get an opinion about the book not to see nasty and inappropriate content.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    gripping

    Glad that Barnes and Noble numbers the series so that they can be read in order. This is very hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Good

    A good story. Fast but good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Suspenseful

    Full of suspense. In the beginning had a few gramatical errors but over all the plot was interesting and you really wanted to know what would happen between Jack and his father. I would read more books from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Good but slow at first

    I liked the book but it left a few unanswered qquestions. Real gripping towards the end but, I don't know, just kindof left me asking, "BUT WHAT happened to his Mom" and why didnt he retrive the body?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Did Anyone Proofread This Book

    First read of this author nd found the storyline easily kept my attention. Thought it was well written. Will read him again. However, a major disappointment and a major distraction was the factthat this book had many typos, words missing, etc. My grandchildren can do better than this with their grammar, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Slow start, gripping finish

    Had a little trouble getting started - seemed a little wordy and almost juvenile in places, but the story developed pretty well, and I found myself engrossed by the end. Looking forward to more of the Jack Swyteck Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Pardon me, but...

    Good, light mystery read. I'm not certain if I'll read the rest of the series, but I liked it okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    I enjoyed this book. Many plot twists & turns kept me readi

    I enjoyed this book. Many plot twists & turns kept me reading long into the night. I liked the hero, Jack, and the scary villain. The author left a few unanswered questions which could be used in a sequel. I'll be looking for more Jack Swyteck adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Quite gripping

    I enjoyed it. Strength: Strong, driving plot. Weakness: A little predictable at certain moments. Writing: I liked the writing style. You could really get caught up in the story, and the pages would just fly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Great story and Great story

    Held my interest






    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    Recommended. This is a great story with interesting characte

    Recommended.


    This is a great story with interesting characters that held my interest and curiosity throughout. I will definitely be reading more from this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2