BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Pardon (Jack Swyteck Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

Good story!

The Pardon is a well written story, that will keep you interested until the very end. The characters are well developed, and I felt empathy with them. However, I did not give this book 5 stars because I felt there were gaps in the story: how did we get from there to h...
The Pardon is a well written story, that will keep you interested until the very end. The characters are well developed, and I felt empathy with them. However, I did not give this book 5 stars because I felt there were gaps in the story: how did we get from there to here in several situations. Plus there were grammar mistakes and misspellings. Not that big a deal but I am a word person, and these things distracted me. I will read more books by this author; he tells a good tale.

posted by MJDavis on March 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 90 people found this review helpful.

!

Between the plot spoiler and the grammar nazis on here its hard to get a real review. The grammar nazis needs to get a life and stop grading the books. If you can do better, go for it. I seriously doubt you could. And the rude inconsiderate plot spoilers needs to be ba...
Between the plot spoiler and the grammar nazis on here its hard to get a real review. The grammar nazis needs to get a life and stop grading the books. If you can do better, go for it. I seriously doubt you could. And the rude inconsiderate plot spoilers needs to be banned from posting.

posted by 8888649 on January 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    Good story!

    The Pardon is a well written story, that will keep you interested until the very end. The characters are well developed, and I felt empathy with them. However, I did not give this book 5 stars because I felt there were gaps in the story: how did we get from there to here in several situations. Plus there were grammar mistakes and misspellings. Not that big a deal but I am a word person, and these things distracted me. I will read more books by this author; he tells a good tale.

    31 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Anonymous

    Great reading, good style of writing, good usage of words, strong characterization. Plot and storyline, interesting and intriguing. It drew me in and kept me in until the last page. I am an avid reader, I have come to know the talented writers from the not so talented. I highly recommend reading this book and hope you enjoy it as much.

    26 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    Really great book. Kept me entertained all the way.

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2009

    I enjoyed the read

    This was the first time I read the lst in the series. I will go for the next in the series. Swyteck has given me another good author to read. I usually stick to conservative legal mysteries. Reading this was a pleasant surprise. I do recommend this as a good change for readers that are not prone to change.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Read it.

    This book is great

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly Recommed

    I just read the book, and immediatly bought his seccond book before i finished Pardon. I will read every thing James Grippando Writes. I really like the way he grabs you into the story. I read Pardon in a day. It's a good thing i have a nook that way i was able to read the next book in the series instead of having to look for it in a store. I am an avid reader of this kind of book that James wrote. Thanks Barnes &Noble for recommending this as a book i might like.

    Thanks James

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Good book

    A little slow a first but once it gets going it is hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    Excellent Author

    This is my 2nd Grippando book: The Informant was given to me by a patient in our office and I was captivated by Grippando's style of writing. It captures you, puts you clearly amidst all the action and is quite extensive in creating realistic scenes that make you not want to put the books down! I have ordered more of his books and anticipate just as wonderful a time reading them as I did these two! Great mysteries with a bit of fun in them! Totally enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Excellent. Will read all his books.

    One of the best authors . Everything worked Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    This book is really good

    A real page turner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    freedom

    great,loved it, cant wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Review

    A really great read full of suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Great author, great book!

    Have always loved James Grippando books and this was no different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    KK\ 2041 COOL BOOK

    I love this BOOK

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended - check it out!!

    Very good plot with many twist and turns. Not the typical boring lawyer defendant courtroom read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Hey read

    This book is well writen im only14 but love it comment on my coment i go by KJ im a girl :D

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    To amanda

    Hey kathleen here go to the book taken by selena kitt aand read what i put bout me and alex

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    P?ippnn,yh

    @TYYHPOXT V UJNIJKUKUNKMMKKKLllwawskzzkz.iiddl..sjtvu.mm vv b.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Nook ppl

    Are you there?

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2