Customer Reviews for

Parenting by the Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2007

    A Sigh of Relief!

    This book is indeed the best parenting book I have read 'or heard about'. After reading just the introduction and first chapter, I was able to breath a huge sigh of relief. As I finished the book, I became more confident and composed in my parenting - no more breaking point! My husband and I are parenting together now and I don't feel like the burden is all mine anymore. The bonus: my toddler has not gotten out of bed at naptime or bedtime since I embraced traditional parenting.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Mom's Choice Awards Recipient!

    Parenting by The Book: Biblical Wisdom for Raising Your Child is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom's Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS's Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, New York Times best-selling Author; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books; and Tara Paterson, Certified Parent Coach and founder of the Mom's Choice Awards. Parents and educators look for the Mom's Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    Like it or not...he's right!

    Like it or not...John is right. There is not one bit of information from his newest book that doesn't hit the nail on the head. Believe in the Bible or not...John's right! Back to the Basics guys - Back to the Bible! We need a revolutionizing in today's parenting and I speak this truth from the perspective of one in our schools' classrooms and from a parent of 3. My parents, thankfully, raised us very close to John's Grandma and for this I am so grateful. I want all my friends to read this book, no matter their age or the age of their children. We need to faithfully get John's word out to all those in our circle of influence so we can begin encouraging all those around us! Our kids will make their own choices and it doesn't reflect our parenting. We need, as parents, to take the reigns of authority back and exercise them for the greater good of our children and the future of our society. He lays it all out before us and tells us the truth. I have known for the last 12 years that something was askew in the parenting circle of knowledge but couldn't put my finger on it successfully enough to change it. John does - he hit the nail on the head - LIKE IT OR NOT we need to believe it and put action behind his words! Thank you John!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Yet another book by a 'christian' child beater

    How many more books do we need to endure from 'christian' child-beaters? Enough damage has been done by James Dobson, Roy Lessin, Doug and Debbie Pearl, Charles Swindoll, Ted Tripp, and others who insist that hitting your children communicates a parent's love to a child, and is mandated and endorsed by God.This is absurd both psychologically and spiritually. Such authors thrive on misinterpreting the 'rod' verses in scripture to support beating children, even though the rod of which the bible speaks was used by sheperds to fend off wolves that would attack the sheep, or the hook on the end would be used to pull the sheep out of a ditch....the rod was not used by sheperds to beat their sheep. In fact, sheep are such timid animals that if a sheperd did beat his sheep with a rod, they would become so frightened that they would run away from the sheperd and would not follow him. Scripture paints a parent's relationship with a child as a sheperd tending to the sheep, and the bible also portrays our relationship to God in the same manner. Truely godly parents do not beat their children with rods, paddles, or their hands in order to teach and protect them. A godly parent understands the 'rod' to be symbolic of authority therefore, good parents use their authority and their love to protect their children from harm and to teach them. Such child-beating suport also goes against tons of research showing a correlation between hitting children and long term harm. Read some of these other books for a better guide on how to really act like a christian parent to your children.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    Eye opening truth!

    This is the best parenting book I have read. Rosemond speaks from the heart and speaks the truth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2009

    Best Parenting Book

    I am a mother of 5 and this is by far the best and most accurate parenting book that I have ever read. The information is presented in such a way that it is easy to understand and follow. The author even gives real life examples.

    If you are a Christian parent trying to raise your child in today's society, then this book is a must-have for you. In fact, my sister just had her first child & I bought this book for her as a baby shower present.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2008

    today, we know about the dangers of using violence against children

    The author claims that 'Biblical child rearing...worked well for thousands of years.' But it is not true. It did not work well at all because it created violent humans and parents. This belief in and the practice of violence against children continues to create to this very day not only violent humans and parents, but also the wars and violence that turn our planet into such a dangerous, brutal nightmare. At the child trauma academy, we can learn about the devastating and horrible consequences of violence against children. As the developing brain forms 90% of the connections between the neurons during the first 4 years of life according to the EXPERIENCES that a child makes, violence is a learned behavior, like the language that we speak. Also this author learned to treat children with violence in his childhood, but he does not care to take an honest look at this brutal and inhumane practice and does not at all take seriously what impact the fight and flight response and the terrible fear, which ALL physical attacks cause for the bodies of children and adults, have on this developing brain and for the health, the well being and self-love of a child, and later the adult. It is a crime to advise and practice violence against ANY human being, but particularly against the most vulnerable and defenseless humans -- children. The consequences for society can be studied by reading the work of Alice Miller.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Old Testament Teachings Do Not Trump Science.

    As a psychologist, it's been many years now since I've encountered a pro-spanking mental health care professional who was not an old testament, fundamentalist christian. Apparently, these so-called 'christian psychologists' ignore science for the sake of their religious orientation. One can only surmise that they study human behavior on the basis of King Solomons teachings.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    Zero Stars for Zero Maturity.

    Any parent who has to result to physical or emotional threats, force, or coersion has admitted their failure as a parent. A failure to be respected, loved, and trusted by a child-through thick and thin-reflects your own failure to be a good role model. Any adult who is so intimidated by young people that they have to resort to insults and physical/emotional degradation in my eyes does not deserve to be called a parent, or even an adult. I'd much rather reason with a toddler who cannot understand than with an adult who refuses to. Some adults just haven't reached that stage in life yet. I would think you would be a better parent if you are older than the emotional age of your child.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2