Customer Reviews for

Parenting with Love and Logic: Teaching Children Responsibility

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Teenagers...

I am a single female guardian of two teenage boys that have had a life of "Hell" (their word not mine) & it is so true. All of my Our counselor recommended this book and oh how it has changed our home. Both boys are ADHD, ODD, ICD and depressive diagnosed add in the f...
I am a single female guardian of two teenage boys that have had a life of "Hell" (their word not mine) & it is so true. All of my Our counselor recommended this book and oh how it has changed our home. Both boys are ADHD, ODD, ICD and depressive diagnosed add in the fact that so far in their short life they have had no parental supervision, have been verbally & physically abused, taught how to steel at the age of 5 & 6, NO moral values and are totally defiant & disrespectfully. I am now using the techniques from the book and LIFE HAS/IS CHANGING!!!! They care about themselves, how they feel, how they look & most importantly how they act. They are respectful and want to do good in life, they have goals and are working so hard to achieve them. Don't get me wrong we still have our days but they are less & less. I would recommend this book to everyone!!!!!

posted by 1169574 on July 8, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

By a child raised with love and logic

The basic premise of this book is thet if you let children suffer the consiquenses (withen reason) of their acctions they'll learn from them. Parents seem to beleive that it is their job to completely shelter kids from natural, real world consiquenses or to impose over...
The basic premise of this book is thet if you let children suffer the consiquenses (withen reason) of their acctions they'll learn from them. Parents seem to beleive that it is their job to completely shelter kids from natural, real world consiquenses or to impose overly harsh punishments for every infraction. Letting a child leave the house without a coat won't kill them, and they'll learn that next time, they should wear one. If a kid won't do homework, then their grades will suffer which can lead to loss of privelages at home or at school. Children learn by doing, and sometimes that means allowing them to to the wrong thing as long as they are kept from doing permanent physical, mental, or emotional harm to themselves or others.

The only problem I have with this book is the authors focus on "Christian" values. I do feel that this can distance parents of other religious backrounds and beliefs. Honestly, being rasied Christian doesn't make a child any more likely to be a well behaved, well adjusted person then being raised Jewish, Muslim, Budist, Hindu, Pagan, or Athiest. Good parenting is good parenting, regardless of religious faith.

posted by 1541857 on July 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2009

    By a child raised with love and logic

    The basic premise of this book is thet if you let children suffer the consiquenses (withen reason) of their acctions they'll learn from them. Parents seem to beleive that it is their job to completely shelter kids from natural, real world consiquenses or to impose overly harsh punishments for every infraction. Letting a child leave the house without a coat won't kill them, and they'll learn that next time, they should wear one. If a kid won't do homework, then their grades will suffer which can lead to loss of privelages at home or at school. Children learn by doing, and sometimes that means allowing them to to the wrong thing as long as they are kept from doing permanent physical, mental, or emotional harm to themselves or others.

    The only problem I have with this book is the authors focus on "Christian" values. I do feel that this can distance parents of other religious backrounds and beliefs. Honestly, being rasied Christian doesn't make a child any more likely to be a well behaved, well adjusted person then being raised Jewish, Muslim, Budist, Hindu, Pagan, or Athiest. Good parenting is good parenting, regardless of religious faith.

    26 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2010

    Teenagers...

    I am a single female guardian of two teenage boys that have had a life of "Hell" (their word not mine) & it is so true. All of my Our counselor recommended this book and oh how it has changed our home. Both boys are ADHD, ODD, ICD and depressive diagnosed add in the fact that so far in their short life they have had no parental supervision, have been verbally & physically abused, taught how to steel at the age of 5 & 6, NO moral values and are totally defiant & disrespectfully. I am now using the techniques from the book and LIFE HAS/IS CHANGING!!!! They care about themselves, how they feel, how they look & most importantly how they act. They are respectful and want to do good in life, they have goals and are working so hard to achieve them. Don't get me wrong we still have our days but they are less & less. I would recommend this book to everyone!!!!!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2010

    The Best Parenting Resource I Have Found

    Parenting With Love and Logic is the best parenting resource I have found. It offers practical advice that can be implemented right away. As a parent of a teenager and small children, this book has been a lifesaver, and helpful across all ages. Unfortunately, I rushed in and saved my teen from all failures and mistakes while he was young, and now his decision making abilities are seriously impaired. He is also argumentative and lacks respect for authority. After reading this book, I started to allow him to experience natural consequences for his actions and stopped bailing him out. He was shocked at first, but now he knows that he will have to face the consequences for his actions and he is slowly changing for the better. I hope by college he will be stronger in decision making and respect. I'm thankful to implement these truths with my smaller children, so they can grow up with more true confidence and decision making abilities.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    They say kids don't come with instruction books.

    They say kids don't come with instruction books, but if they did, this should be the one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2011

    highly effective

    I've used only a few of the techniques and it's like using magic. The effect of using Love & Logic is making all of our lives more fun. My children have responded so positively to my new style of parenting...no more yelling, screaming, threatening, etc. The may not be thrilled while dealing with their consequences, but it's taught them more than 'time-out'.

    Love, Love, Love Love & Logic!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    logical parengint

    Stop bribing, arguing, and feeling overwhelmed. Logical parenting with real results.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    While these books may have been an attempt at reducing the hitti

    While these books may have been an attempt at reducing the hitting and punishing of children 20 years ago, we now know that using power to manipulate children's behaviour is neither loving, nor logical. Children raised this way are likely to experience huge amounts of helpless and rage, because the techniques used here are to make sure that the parent is always in control, and the child is always controlled. There is no understanding here of the underlying needs and feelings of children, or the fact that by getting into an adversarial relationship with them does not bring about connection and cooperation, but helplesness, rage and rebellion, which explains why they are seeing so many defiant and rebellious children among those raised using these techniques. I would rather suggest books such as "Parenting for a Peaceful World", by Robin Grille, "Raising our Children, Raising Ourselves" by Naomi Aldort, " or any of the books by more insightful righters such as Aletha Solter, Larua Markham, Pam Leo, Alfie Kohn, etc.who have understanding about what drives children's behaviour, and how to raise happy, cooperative, confident kids!

    2 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Every parent should have this book.

    I will have to say, our house was a house of screamers, and yelling. I wish I would have had this book 15 years ago when we got custody of my step son. I am using it with our 12 and 8 year old, and after reading and using this book for almost three weeks now, the yelling and screaming is coming to a halt, back talk,not getting ready for school, church whatever is getting better each day.. As far as Christian Values, yes it quotes the Bible, but get over that part, the rest is wonderful for all parent of all faith, just don't read the bible verse if it offends you. but don't let that deter you from this book. I would have loved to have seen a section, on destructive behavior, other not having that in the book it's wonderful.. I think all parents before leaving the hospital, should get this book, I am going to buy one for a friend for her baby shower.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    BEST parenting book/advice EVER!!!

    I HIGHLY recommend purchasing this book & they also have a website that you can find other resources that you can't find in a bookstore. I absolutely LOVE these techniques & they truly work!!! :)

    I can't say enough good things about this book & the techniques they teach. I find it "funny" how the "bad" reviews on this book are "anonymous" & they say nothing about "why" they rated the book so low. This book deserves MORE than 5 stars! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2000

    Practical, well written suggestions for parenting

    As a professional counselor AND parent of 7 (adopted & birth) kids ranging from 8 - 28, I picked up this book after hearing continous raves about it from foster & adoptive parents who faced extremely difficult parenting challenges. The book is absolutely outstanding. Also available in audio format, this was my choice so that I could listen to the suggestions while passing the time on the highway!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2012

    Highly Recommend!!!

    I am a mom of three kids. I have a 14 year old son, a 5 year old son and an almost 4 year old daughter. This book and the teen book really helped me sort out my thoughts and not be so stressed out while helping to teach my kids valuable thinking lessons. I'm so grateful my friend recommended it to me!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Great book for positive discipline techniques

    I found this book to be inspiring and helpful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2002

    Execellent Advise, but sometimes hard to carry out

    The ideas are, for the most part very good. The "helocoptor, drill seargent, counselor" analogy is very helpful. As the kids grow older, responsibility is important to communicate and this is a great start. At times, however, it is unmanagable for the parent to come up with and administrate a natural consequence for everything. While this book shines in teaching responsibility, it lacks in showing a parent how to establish their authority. Plus, some of the complex plans to instill a natural consequence requires a full time job. Who has a friend who can come at a drop of a hat to haul your kid off when they throw a tantrum at the supermarket? However, much of the thinking (shared control, giving choices you can live with, helping the child take ownership for their problem) is very good. **You may want to balance your parenting toolbox with James Dobson "Dare To Discipline" which shows a more effective method of regaining parental control in early childhood than the hours and/or days one would have to spend using love and logic alone. **Love and Logic for Teens is good as these are the years where responsibility must be taught providing the parental authority has been established. (I have been in classes with parents where this was not the case and Love and Logic was useless for them).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2001

    Great Parenting Skills!!!!!

    I first read this book in 1995 before I became a mom. It was so refreshing to realize that parents have a choice too! Parenting can be fun and watching my kids learn how to make good choices is great! The same logic can be used for adults too! :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2001

    A Must Have Book For Parents With Kids of Any Age, Who Want To Regain Control and Stop Yelling

    I loved the idea of using empathy instead of anger and using thinking words instead of fighting words. Treating kids with respect and always keeping their dignity in tact. It is very different from the parenting techniques of a generation ago. As times have changed so has the need for some new and improved parenting skills. Parents learn how to stay calm and neutralize arguments, modeling responsible adult behavior. Parents gain control by giving choices. They improve kids self-concept by letting them solve and be responsible for their own problems and the consequences. The hardest thing as a parent is to see our children struggle, but sometimes this is how they learn best. I think this is a must have book for parents with kids of any age. It is written with humor and tons of practical solutions for everday problems. I couldn't put it down and read almost all the other books the authors have written. I am spreading the message to anyone who will listen or is having problems with their kids. No one book can address and solve every problem, and this book is no exception. Each child is unique, but if we can incorporate some of the ideas presented in the book and blend them with our own special knowledge of our child and let our love guide us, I think we will be on the right road to raising responsible, self confident, respectful adults. I know its working for me. I would call my son a wonderful but difficult kid and I have seen lots and lots of improvement in his behavior at home and at school. I only wish I had gotten the book when he was smaller. One of the authors, Jim Fay, now has a son, Dr. Charles Fay, who has also written some parenting books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    A very helpful book...

    I found the book easy to understand and well written. It includes some great examples of how to deal with everyday problems that families are faced with. I highly recommend this book. It has helped us to parent in a way that feels right and it works!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Amazing program

    I have used this technique for nearly ten years and love it. I belueve in it so much so that I teach a six week class in my community. A must have for bringing joy back into parenting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    This book came into my life long after our kids were grown, but

    This book came into my life long after our kids were grown, but I was blessed by a dear friend who introduced me to the Dreikers method of child rearing and saved my life. The principles are the same---natural consequences for actions be they good or bad. "If this, then that" is the theme and follows a favorite family axiom, "For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction." When I became a teacher, our district embraced the concept by offering classes on the volume, "Teaching with Love and Logic." It changed the entire building and helped us to graduate solid, productive citizens into the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    Must read for parents- great advice

    Really great advice on parenting that helps you teach kids responsibility, avoid power struggles, and keeps you on their side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    A must book

    I read a review that one person thought that the love and logic way teaches you as a parent to always be in control. Well as a 55 year old parent raising two children and now raising to foster kids i think this has helped tromendously. I also attended the class which was even better. My point with out being rude is as a parent you should be in control but what they teach is how to be in control with love and logic. I have seen a lot of parents that think they need to be friends not parents so then who is in control. The control part they teach is to do it in a respectufal manor not allwas in a demanding mannor so i think the reader that gave this book a 1 star should reread the book with a more open mind

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3